No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Solberge Hall Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Wiske , NORTHALLERTON, DL7 9ER
This majestic Georgian Manor House is set in 9 acres of gardens and woodland and is a relaxing sumptuous retreat conveniently only 10 minutes from the A1. Solberge Hall is approached via a long sweeping driveway standing proudly in calm and tranquil surroundings.

The hotel offers comfort and sophistication and there is a pleasant mix of old and new where the traditional old English charm of the Hall blends with modern day facilities. Large windows allow an abundance of natural daylight to flood the rooms while you enjoy the magnificent views of the Yorkshire countryside. Our friendly and welcoming staff are committed to offering the very highest standards of hospitality, so that you can enjoy an extremely relaxing experience.

The Garden Room Brasserie is an award winning restaurant which offers fresh locally sourced dishes, and availability for private dining. Afterwards enjoy coffee in the Talbot Lounge while admiring the views of the magnificent grounds. During the day treat yourself to a typical Yorkshire cream tea in the elegant ambience of the drawing room while enjoying the view through the large picture windows.

The hotel bedrooms, all en suite, are well equipped, spacious and airy with bright decor, flat screen Freeview TV with DVD player, WiFI and complimentary drink making facilities. While all vary in shape and size each maintain the same high standards of comfort you expect from a country house retreat

Solberge Hall is perfectly situated for visiting Yorkshire’s Coasts, Moors and the Yorkshire Dales which is home to a varied collection of landscapes including a national park, heather-topped moors, colourful hay-meadows and not forgetting the picturesque traditional stone built villages.

Solberge Hall is only a drive away from the Medieval City of York which hosts a wealth of arts, crafts, historic sights and museums for all ages. Also within reach of Solberge Hall is the village of Goathland which rose to fame as Aidensfield, the 1960's setting for the popular ITV police series Heartbeat.

Historic houses including Castle Howard & Harewood House are within easy driving distance as are the four market towns of Helmsley, Kirbymoorside, Malton and Pickering, are all steeped in tradition. The coastal resorts of Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay, Scarborough and Filey are all worthy of a visit.
Picture of Solberge Hall Hotel, NORTHALLERTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality place to stay!
Good value and excellent accommodation for the money.
I paid extra to get a superior room and it was worth it for the extra space and value you get.
Dinner was fine and breakfast was more than adequate.
Only down side was that the wi-fi wasn't available in the superior room that I stayed in. Management know about this and seem to be reluctant to spend money on getting wi -fi repeaters around the hotel.
When will they realise that this is not acceptable in 2014 and we all expect hotels to have a good signal throughout. It will stop me and fellow travellers staying here again!

Reviewed by
william a

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly luxorious stay. Wonderful room, attentive staff and good food.What more is there?

Reviewed by
K Mather

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Stayed for 1 night in this lovely hotel service was excellent staff were very friendly and helpful, room was very nice with a separate sitting area. breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Jill B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame there was no hot water
We found the hotel stunning on arrival, with a warm welcome & beautiful room. However we had no hot water that evening despite doing as the polite notice suggested & being patient, after 25 minutes there obviously was not going to be any. We were so impressed with the hotel we decided to shower the following morning before departure rather than spoil our stay. Unfortunately the following morning there was still no hot water, meaning we had to check out and spend the day not being able to have had a shower. The receptionist on checkout (not English, but spoke it well) could not have been more disinterested and infact had a "oh well so what attitude". This annoyed me and I sent a message through to the hotel who have dealt with it by simply ignoring my email. This is unfortunate as we and other family members are often in the area but now feel that if a basic requirement such as hot water is not available coupled with such poor attitude we would not recommend this hotel. It is only fair to say that ALL other staff members we encountered during our stay were lovely and it is such a shame that one individuals bad attitude can spoil something. Breakfast was superb, probably the best we have had.

Reviewed by
Karen W

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic weekend away
A very nice hotel set in pleasant surroundings. Feels clean and well maintained.

Reviewed by
S Beecroft

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Picturesque Setting
What a lovely place to stay. The staff are warm and welcoming, the food of a good standard and my room was really lovely. Just a couple of things let the room (14) down, there is no table/desk to work at or enjoy room service upon and the shower in the gorgeous bathroom is quite weak. Those 2 minor points aside, I would have no hesitation in booking again. A hotel with character is much preferred to a glass box with no personality.

Reviewed by
L Woods

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Got an upgrade and a beautiful room with a view over the dales

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel, romantic, extremely clean and very comfortable. Food and service was excellent. We could not have wished for anything nicer.

Reviewed by
K Lamb

From Pilsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
First time at this hotel. Impressive building and grounds. Location 5 mins outside Northallerton centre. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. Large comfortable room and excellent bathroom. Made a pleasant change from the more modern contemporary style decor to have something traditional and in keeping with the building. Food very good in the evening and the yorkshire breakfast will keep you going all day! I did not get a chance for a stroll around the grounds may be next time.

Reviewed by
M Eadsforth

From Littleborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of Yorkshire at its finest
This is genuinely a gem of an Hotel
Great location stunning views lovely rooms and very very professional staff
On the night that I stayed they held a Gala dinner for over 200 heads
Those of us in other parts of the Hotel wouldn't have even known they were there if we hadn't seen them come and go
As a wedding venue I suspect that this would be very hard to top

Reviewed by
g frankham

From Llanon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next