No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Solberge Hall Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Wiske , NORTHALLERTON, DL7 9ER
This majestic Georgian Manor House is set in 9 acres of gardens and woodland and is a relaxing sumptuous retreat conveniently only 10 minutes from the A1. Solberge Hall is approached via a long sweeping driveway standing proudly in calm and tranquil surroundings.

The hotel offers comfort and sophistication and there is a pleasant mix of old and new where the traditional old English charm of the Hall blends with modern day facilities. Large windows allow an abundance of natural daylight to flood the rooms while you enjoy the magnificent views of the Yorkshire countryside. Our friendly and welcoming staff are committed to offering the very highest standards of hospitality, so that you can enjoy an extremely relaxing experience.

The Garden Room Brasserie is an award winning restaurant which offers fresh locally sourced dishes, and availability for private dining. Afterwards enjoy coffee in the Talbot Lounge while admiring the views of the magnificent grounds. During the day treat yourself to a typical Yorkshire cream tea in the elegant ambience of the drawing room while enjoying the view through the large picture windows.

The hotel bedrooms, all en suite, are well equipped, spacious and airy with bright decor, flat screen Freeview TV with DVD player, WiFI and complimentary drink making facilities. While all vary in shape and size each maintain the same high standards of comfort you expect from a country house retreat

Solberge Hall is perfectly situated for visiting Yorkshire’s Coasts, Moors and the Yorkshire Dales which is home to a varied collection of landscapes including a national park, heather-topped moors, colourful hay-meadows and not forgetting the picturesque traditional stone built villages.

Solberge Hall is only a drive away from the Medieval City of York which hosts a wealth of arts, crafts, historic sights and museums for all ages. Also within reach of Solberge Hall is the village of Goathland which rose to fame as Aidensfield, the 1960's setting for the popular ITV police series Heartbeat.

Historic houses including Castle Howard & Harewood House are within easy driving distance as are the four market towns of Helmsley, Kirbymoorside, Malton and Pickering, are all steeped in tradition. The coastal resorts of Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay, Scarborough and Filey are all worthy of a visit.
Picture of Solberge Hall Hotel, NORTHALLERTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Solberge Hall Hotel
Excellent room on ground floor with separate TV lounge and modern walk-in shower. Comfortable bed. Breakfast consisted of wide choice and good quality food.

Reviewed by
Jennifer G

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality Hotel at a Budget Price
Set in lovely, peaceful surroundings, yet within easy reach of Northallerton, Solberge Hall is a large impressive country house set in stunning grounds. We chose a standard room but it was more than adequate for our needs with a clean bathroom, comfortable bed and a view of the quaint courtyard complete with clock tower. Breakfast was served in a period dining hall overlooking the gardens. Staff were polite and checked regularly with us to ensure we were satisfied. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as before
Having been to the hotel several times over the years, i was disappointed by the poor quality food main evening meal, breakfast i had to complain about and was refunded. If chef is re skilled i will stay again.

Reviewed by
S Wharton

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thankyou Solberge
Classy but friendly

Reviewed by
Martin L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with lovely grounds.
This is the second time we've stayed here. There's no fancy pool or spa but there is a lovely garden and the rooms are clean and smart. There was a wedding on the Saturday but the wedding guests were kept separate to the regular guests so we were not disturbed at all. We went to another hotel earlier in the year and did not get much sleep, so I congratulate this hotel. Breakfast was very nice, no English buffet but there is plenty served to you by the waiter. I would visit again.

Reviewed by
M Bell

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Escape
A very pleasant Stay in a wonderful setting, great value

Reviewed by
P Georges

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Excellant Experience
Stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were upgraded to a four poster room as the hotel was quiet which was very comfortable, clean and well decorated. Ate in the hotel both nights and the food was very good as were the breakfasts. On the whole we can have no complaints whatsoever as the staff looked after us so well. The location is terrific being amongst fields with distant hill views from the front. The only slight issue is that it is not easy to find being tucked away in the countryside. A couple of signs from the main road and again at the entrance would be handy.

Reviewed by
j hall

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality place to stay!
Good value and excellent accommodation for the money.
I paid extra to get a superior room and it was worth it for the extra space and value you get.
Dinner was fine and breakfast was more than adequate.
Only down side was that the wi-fi wasn't available in the superior room that I stayed in. Management know about this and seem to be reluctant to spend money on getting wi -fi repeaters around the hotel.
When will they realise that this is not acceptable in 2014 and we all expect hotels to have a good signal throughout. It will stop me and fellow travellers staying here again!

Reviewed by
william a

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attractive Hotel / Grounds, Good Rooms
Rooms in this attractive looking hotel are top-notch - very tastefully decorated, good quality furniture, comfortable bed and pillows/sheets, bathroom was lovely (all looked brand new). Inside the general areas of the hotel are very nice, and steeped in history. The only downside for us was that the restaurant seemed a little austere; bare tables with no linen made it feel a little bleak. Otherwise though it was a very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly luxorious stay. Wonderful room, attentive staff and good food.What more is there?

Reviewed by
K Mather

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next