Reviews - Holiday Inn Express MANCHESTER CITY CENTRE - ARENA


Goadsby Street,Off Swan Street, Manchester, M4 5JY

Price From 201.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Sarah-Lee C

  • January 2016

Excellent Location

We have stayed at this hotel before and found it to be an excellent location for everything from the train station to shops, pubs and places to eat.

The "English Lounge" located just a 5 minute walk away is friendly, comfortable and serves amazing food at very reasonable prices, we always head here when visiting Manchester. The hotel rooms have everything you need, the showers are good and bathroom is of a high standard. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The only bad thing we have to say is the complimentary breakfast isn't worth getting out of bed for and there was no coffee available on new years day morning.... DISASTER for those of us hungover!. That being said we will definitely return again, it certainly didn't put us off returning a second time, after all a comfy bed and good location more than make up for a rubbish breakfast.

  • J Smith

  • November 2015

Good clean accommodation

Excellent hotel, good customer service.

Kept our bags behind reception with no problem. Reasonable buffet style breakfast.

  • S Halsall-Williams

  • September 2015


Great hotel in a great location.

Rooms clean and bathroom lovely!

  • Alison W

  • September 2015

Clean but expensive for average stay

Average accommodation and expensive.

Breakfast very average

Response from hotel

Dear Alison W,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

We are truly sorry for falling short of your expectations with regards to the breakfast served and the room rate. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. Rest assured that these concerns will be addressed immediately to the hotel management for review to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.



IHG Care

  • Stuart Reeves

  • March 2015

What a find

This is the first time I have used Holiday Inn Express, it won't be the last.

The value is excellent compared to other similar hotel chains, and breakfast is included. Holiday Inn Express Manchester Centre/Arena looks very new and has a modern feel, rooms are good and the walk in shower is great. Breakfast buffet is excellent, though I suspect it may be a bit chaotic at very busy times, they do advise you when these may be. Great location for central Manchester and the arena, 15 minutes walk from Piccadilly Station. Highly Recommended

  • Vickie B

  • March 2015

Great location

Stayed at the holiday inn when going to watch a concert.

The hotel is in a very good location, very close to shops, arena and printworks. Only slight complaint, we found it very difficult to find.

  • S Marshall

  • February 2015

Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

  • D Peddie

  • February 2015

Ok room....crap breakfast

Room was clean and comfortable.

My bedside light would not work due to a faulty switch but only stayed for one night so didn't make an issue of it. Shower room was very good although water pressure was a bit poor. Cooked breakfast was the poorest I think I've ever had in a 'budget' hotel. Choice was sausage, beans and scrambled egg. That's it. No bacon, no tomatoes, no mushrooms, no hash browns. No sausages ready when I got there and had to wait 15 minutes for fresh sausages to arrive!. Was going to complain on checking out but reception was too busy and I was in a hurry to get a better breakfast somewhere else for less money!

Response from hotel

Dear D Peddie,

Thank you for writing a candid review following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you have regarded our rooms to be clean and comfortable. However, we regret that you found breakfast selections not to your liking. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this helps us gauge what we are doing right, and identify areas that may benefit from additional attention and be a basis for future upgrade.

Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.



IHG Care

  • K Tompkin

  • February 2015

Fantastic Location

This hotel is ideally situated for events at the Manchester Arena, lots of parking close by and lots of restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance.

Fantastic for a city break.

  • michelle c

  • February 2015

Excellent, clean and friendly hotel

We stayed on 6th Feb to watch Phoenix Nights at the arena.

Hotel o's approx 10 minutes walk from the arena and is situated behind the Crown Plaza so had difficulty finding it at first.

Rooms fairly spacious, spotless clean , lovely shower room , coffee tray, tv, hairdryer etc. Checkout was 11 , breakfast 7.30-1030, breakfast is buffet style with just eggs beans and sausages for the 'hot' option which was ok.

No problems , would stay again.