No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
51 - 59 YORK PLACE, EDINBURGH, EH1 3JD
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh is set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved.

Each stylish room offers state of the art technology with a media hub allowing you to watch your own movies on the flat screen HDTV and even listen to your own music through the speakers in your en-suite bathroom so you can sing along while enjoying our luxury products in the spa-styled rainfall showers. In addition to this each room is fitted with a fridge offering complimentary snacks and soft drinks, air conditioning, Egyptian cotton bedding and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

The history of this local area of Edinburgh with Calton Hill, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s birth place and the iconic Edinburgh Castle are being captured in the stories and designs of this beautiful hotel.

Relax in our lounge and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner.

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you.
Picture of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, beautiful room, very comfy bed, fantastic experience and staff couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was good, nice and fresh, slight lack of continental variety but certainly wouldn't put me off, liked the option of a filled bagel at breakfast along side the full cooked option

Reviewed by
C Allison

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality at every turn!
This is an excellent hotel. The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful and did everything they could to accommodate our every need. The rooms were luxurious, the huge bed was so comfortable. Wonderful rainfall showers with a good supply of products. We were given complimentary snacks and drinks which were replaced daily. We stayed for two nights and really felt we had had a wonderful treat. We had the pre-theatre meal in the restaurant which was absolutely delicious and of a very high quality as were the breakfasts. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if visiting the Playhouse as it is a 2 minute walk. I look forward to another visit in the future, many thanks!

Reviewed by
S Hansen

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Loved this hotel, rooms are really modern and great touches with the complimentary drinks/snacks. Bath robes a good touch. Staff very friendly and welcoming, have been recommending hotel to friends/family and would stay again myself.

Reviewed by
Debbie N

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely stay again!
Great location & great hotel.

Reviewed by
Clair P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All the staff were very friendly and polite and helpful. This hotel was in a fantastic location, we had the cooked breakfast and was delucious. I have not 1 negative thing to say about it and we will certainly be returning : )

Reviewed by
j Caven

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comment on food
No breakfast on second day. It was all eaten by rugby supporters who had filled the hotel. Staff made no attempt to put out further food. Perhaps they did not have any. Spoilt otherwise a good stay. Comment on food

ManagementResponse

Dear Richard W, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. It is regrettable that you did not completely enjoy this visit due to the food served. Please be assured that this has been noted and will be addressed appropriately with our team to consider for enhancements on our end. Again, thank you for your time in writing us a review and our apologies for the shortcomings. Regards, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Richard W

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Indigo - would go back and would recommend to friends
This hotel is clean, fresh and well maintained. Our room was modern, quirky and tastefully furnished with all mod cons which made a refreshing change to the more traditionally furnished 'chain' type of hotel. Of note is the fact that the room actually looked like it did on the website. Public areas were of a similar high quality presentation and appearance. The contents of the mini bar ( e.g a good selection of biscuits, a quarter pint of milk bottled water and carbonated drinks ) were included as part of the cost of the room and were refilled every day as were supplies of tea and coffee. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent on both days with a good selection of hot and cold food available. Service on both days was excellent. This hotel is ten minutes walk away from Waverley train station/ Princes Street/Town Centre and various local amenities which makes it ideal for shopping and/or sightseeing.

Reviewed by
Christine R

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Room and Friendly Staff
Executive room was lovely and large with beautiful décor. Room was immaculately cleaned and the rainfall shower in particular is a standout feature. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice however dinner was only average.

Reviewed by
Danni C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service and pleasant stay
Very good service and room was excellent.
The only downside was the TV system which took forever to navigate out of the default pay movies menu. Even once I found normal terrestrial TV some annoying adverts kept popping up to highlight available pay movies. Just no need for that.

Reviewed by
A Clark

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Stayed for one night whilst the lion king was on in November. Greeted by very polite and friendly staff, bags taken up to room and arrived with a nice welcome message on the tv screen. Room was plenty big enough for the two of us, not your average hotel decor - very different and very nice. Two of the things that attracted me to this hotel (apart from the good reviews) were the complementary fridge stocked the cans of juice and some snacks, I also liked that I could play my music from my iphone through the speakers in the bathroom. To do this just unplug the "sound out" cable (3.5mm) at the rear of the tv and plug it into your music device.

Reviewed by
S Fergus

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next