No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
51 - 59 YORK PLACE, EDINBURGH, EH1 3JD
In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches. Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce. Discover the neighbourhood If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’
Picture of Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy bed!
Lovely hotel with one of the most comfortable beds I have come across in a hotel

Reviewed by
M McGregor

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very overpriced 'fashion' hotel
Had hoped this would be a quality designer hotel & we were prepared to pay the extra for that special experience. What we felt we got was average reception, decor & fittings that felt like we were in a low cost high street home wares department, disgusting coffee from the machine in the room & at breakfast. On the plus side bedding was extremely high quality with beautiful pillows & sheets & very comfy mattress, some nice complementary snacks in the fridge, a room that was very well maintained & quality food at breakfast all in a very central location.

ManagementResponse

Dear Rona M, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Rona M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will stay again
Nice hotel. Good shower, comfortable bed, good TV, mugs and real milk for tea & coffee. Great location, short walk to shops, station, tourist attractions. Would use again.

Reviewed by
Helen G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality accomodation

Reviewed by
S Avery

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay
Great hotel in a great location . The standard of the accommodation was very high for the price we paid - will definitely use this hotel again on a return visit to Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Amanda Elliott

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place but.....
Our first impression of the staff wasn't great, we stood 10 minutes waiting at reception while 2 staff members tried to find another hotel for a couple looking for a room. Very kind but disappointing for paying guests!
This hotel overall is lovely. Our room was really nice apart from the bed. It was the in comfiest thing I've ever slept on in my life and as a result me and my partner suffered all the next day with back ache and had to cut our trip short.
I'd think that going to that much effort to perfect everything else that they would get comfy beds?!
We loved the hotel and the room was beautiful but we really couldn't stay again. Such a shame.

Reviewed by
Clair G

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, beautiful room, very comfy bed, fantastic experience and staff couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was good, nice and fresh, slight lack of continental variety but certainly wouldn't put me off, liked the option of a filled bagel at breakfast along side the full cooked option

Reviewed by
C Allison

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely stay again!
Great location & great hotel.

Reviewed by
Clair P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Loved this hotel, rooms are really modern and great touches with the complimentary drinks/snacks. Bath robes a good touch. Staff very friendly and welcoming, have been recommending hotel to friends/family and would stay again myself.

Reviewed by
Debbie N

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality at every turn!
This is an excellent hotel. The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful and did everything they could to accommodate our every need. The rooms were luxurious, the huge bed was so comfortable. Wonderful rainfall showers with a good supply of products. We were given complimentary snacks and drinks which were replaced daily. We stayed for two nights and really felt we had had a wonderful treat. We had the pre-theatre meal in the restaurant which was absolutely delicious and of a very high quality as were the breakfasts. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if visiting the Playhouse as it is a 2 minute walk. I look forward to another visit in the future, many thanks!

Reviewed by
S Hansen

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next