Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Topsham Hotels > Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The St George & Dragon Vintage Inn, Clyst St George, Exeter, EX3 0QJ
Just a few miles from Exeter, this unique 19th century lodge offers characterful yet convenient budget accommodation in the heart of Devon.

Originally a brewhouse, skittle alley and stables, The St George and Dragon now provides a handy base for exploring Dartmoor National Park or the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines. As well as 21 relaxing rooms, it’s home to a cosy, traditional pub – so if you love the food, drink and atmosphere of a classic country inn, you’re in exactly the right place.

Nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St George near Topsham, the lodge is surrounded by farms and historic buildings, including medieval Powderham Castle. Nature fans will love the acres of ancient moorland and the National’s Trust’s huge Killerton House Estate, which are both just a short distance away.

Exeter itself is also well worth a visit, with its magnificent Gothic Cathedral, mysterious medieval underground passages and bustling quayside area full of shops and bars.
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good all round

Reviewed by
r whittle

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
Friendly service. Couldnt complain on hospitality.
Room very dark and warm - Appreciated the fan. Seems like last guests were hot too. Found a coke bottle propping open the window !!!!
Bed was far from comfortable unfortunately.

Reviewed by
J Moore

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Problems with Shower
On arrival there were no towels in the room. This was quickly sorted out.
Shower did not Work!
In the morning when we both tried to shower there was virtually no water coming out of the shower rose. After some investigation it appears that the shower hose was blocked/restricted. This was very unsatisfactory and totally unexpected as presumably the previous occupiers of the room had the same problem
We reported this to the manager but he made no gesture to compensate us and said he would look into it.
We will not be visiting this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Chris Todd Davies

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation was of a very good standard,the staff were very friendly,the food and service was very good and I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
david tune

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful service
We have stayed in this hotel before....about 4 years ago, and then ,as this time, the bed was horrendous.
you can feel every spring and each time my husband turned I could hear the springs playing a tune!
My husband slept with 3 pillows placed singly down the bed to cushion the springs!!
The last time we stayed the hotel had just been refurbished, and having complained, we were moved to another room, having been told that they were new mattresses.
Fortunately our business won`t take us to Exeter in the foreseeable future.
Such a pity that the beds were so naff....the food was DELICIOUS and the service faultless.

Reviewed by
MARY D

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor value for money
The room I was given was small and gloomy with dingy décor. The bedside lamp was like a glowworm so when wanting to sleep, I had to get out of bed to turn off the room lights which I had been obliged to leave on to read. The bathroom was sloppily decorated and poorly laid out. Th3 breakfast included in the room bill was awful, bad quality bread and stale croissant plus ersatz jam in a gloomy room. Staff very friendly but could not make up for one of the nastiest stays I have had.

Reviewed by
Victoria von Wachter

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
Room okay. Bed and pillows very soft. Service was friendly but slow. Food was adequate but not what I expected looking at previous reviews.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable acomadation
I have been staying here for years good rooms , pleasant staff (even to this idiot ) nice place to unwind over dinner and a drink or two .

Reviewed by
Graham Hewson

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 3 days with the Innkeepers Lodge
Very old main building as we expected but the rooms were very modern, lovely comfortable beds, very adequate bathroom and spotlessly clean. Continental breakfast was more than sufficient and the food during the evening was excellent. Staff were very busy but very helpful and pleasant. Wonderful area to explore all the little villages etc. would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Valerie Phillips

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only stayed for 1 night, have stayed in better but overall quite happy and would stay again if I was in the area

Reviewed by
Linda F

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next