No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merchant House

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
49, Falmouth Road , Truro, TR1 2HL
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.

With plenty of free parking for customers, this 29-bedroom hotel features classic decor with original features and beautiful stained-glass windows, bringing to life its unique heritage as a former merchant’s home.

The hotel’s friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to the fantastic facilities, which include free Wi-Fi throughout, secure storage for bicycles, drying room for walkers, launderette (fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms, as well as pointing out top places to visit nearby including Falmouth, Padstow and the Eden Project.

Whether visiting for business or pleasure, the clean and comfortable double, twin, family and single rooms are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities.

We also have allocated rooms which are dog friendly as we realise that for some of you a holiday wouldn’t be a holiday without your four-legged friend. Please call and check the hotel has a pet friendly room available prior to booking. Cost per pet is £10 per night.

*** HOTEL POLICY: ALL RESERVATIONS ARE CHARGED AT THE TIME OF BOOKING ***
Picture of Merchant House, Truro at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manings baby Sister
stayed here for he first time last week as was at a launch event in Truro. am a regular diner at Manings and had heard good reports about this sister establishment. special mention for Lyn on reception who was fabulous and provide me with tea on arrival & ensured my room was available early.
lovely room which very comfortable and equipped with everything you need.
did not have breakfast as had a meeting in Falmouth.
will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
John Harvey

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room , very good personal welcome from the hotel
The hotel staff gave a warm personal welcome ,the room was tasteful clean and comfortable .The hotel was well placed to walk into the town

Reviewed by
Lisa B

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room, very hot, no bath, and more frustratingly, hidden breakfast charge.
I was told on arrival that LateRooms do not include breakfast, so I had to pay more for this. I subsequently stayed at another hotel the next night, again booked through LaterRooms, but this was not the case?? Helpful and friendly staff, but quality of hotel for price being charged was not great. This hotel platforms themselves as a 'business hotel' which is why I booked it, but no desk space to work. I wouldn't stay here again.

Reviewed by
Susan Roe

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Merchant House Truro
Very friendly staff. Lovely building. Free cake in the afternoon was a lovely treat. We didn't like the coffee from the machine on the bar so swopped to tea for the other days we made it back in time. Room clean and pleasant. Curtains kept the light out well. Set up as a twin was a little snug. We stayed 4 nights - for a longer stay the lack of storage would have been a challenge.
No problem parking and handy for town centre, it is up hill on the way back though. There were taxis in the centre if you needed to cheat.

Reviewed by
E Tyson

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Very nice property. Good sized rooms, very good full English breakfast and very pleasant staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Bob B

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Nice hotel but sadly let's itself down. Receptionist was rude upon arrival, said that breakfast wasn't included because of the percentage they pay to be on late rooms and that if I had booked direct I would have had breakfast included! Proceeded to tell me immediately that my dog was not welcome in any public areas and there was a charge of £10 payable immediately for her! I ate out because of their attitude, same for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Jemma B

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good b & b
Very good B&B with Bar. You can bring take-away food in. lateroom price is for ROOM ONLY, book via hotel to get best deal (breakfast included for same price).

Reviewed by
KEVIN W

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed no evening meal available
The accommodation and service overall is good. It was comfortable and quiet, however we were disappointted that there is no food served in the evenings so we had to go out and find somewhere to eat. This is a small point but I did not think it was very clear when I booked it, that it would not be possible to get food in the evening. Having said all of this, the breakfast was very nice and I would probably stay again so it wasn't all bad! More of a very good B&B than hotel.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VERY PLEASANT STAY
We booked a room only as our daughter lives just up the road. The room was very clean,well equipped and very comfortable, we had the best night's sleep. This is the second time we have stayed at The Merchant House and will definitely stay again in the future. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Chris James

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful boutique experience
I really enjoyed my brief stay at the Merchant House. Friendly and comfortable, it did not have the "big chain feel" you usally get on business trips. It was was a small, charming and well-furnished hotel just outside Truro city centre. With wifi, breakfast cooked to order, comfy beds and a nice bar, what wasnot to like?

Reviewed by
C Runcie

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next