Reviews - Merchant House


49, Falmouth Road, Truro, TR1 2HL

Price From 161.51 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality



  • August 2015

Poor customer service and not a hotel.

We arrived and found that they only provided breakfast so not a hotel.

We asked if they did room service and told "no". Then the room info said they could provide sandwiches or arrange a takeaway - neither of which was offered. The room was clean and tidy but weirdly laid out with the wash basin outside the shower room. The kettle was in an unlit area. The TV was to the side of the bed and DVD function on the TV didn't work. During the night we were kept awake by a flashing light on the fire detector but as this was after midnight we did not feel it an emergency worthy of bothering the emergency number. When we went to check out we weren't asked how our stay was and just got "okay thanks bye". We got the impression that as we booked through LateRooms they didn't care much about us. Great location for Truro City Centre but definitely not worth the full tariff.

  • Judith A G

  • August 2015



  • Gary K

  • May 2015

Two nights at the Merchant House

Charming staff on reception.

Ideal for Truro and surrounding area. Off street parking. Room suitable for my two night stay on business in town. Breakfast was hot and of good quality, served promptly in a friendly manner. Complementary afternoon tea/coffee with cake a nice touch to welcome you back to the hotel.


  • April 2015

Merchant House, Truro

Very decent accommodation; good location, comfortable, friendly, reasonably spacious, clean and well run.

I can recommend. My only quibbles would be: a little bit pricey and I could have done with a shower curtain (or a proper shower!) - that said, one of my pet hates is tiny bathrooms and tiny washbasins and I have no complaints in these departments.

  • Sara M

  • March 2015

If you don't want Laterooms bookings, take your property off the site!

Nice enough hotel, staff very friendly, room acceptable, beds good, bathroom a bit icky.

My gripe is we were told more than once that if we had booked direct we would have got a better rate/ free breakfast. What's the point in telling guests that when they've already booked?

  • M Smith

  • March 2015

Weekend at Merchant House in Truro

Recently re-furbished hotel with good parking which is very helpful especially near a city centre.

Staff friendly and helpful. Very comfortable room with en-suite facilities - no view from room but that didn't spoil our stay.

We'd visit again if we come to Cornwall.

  • Oliver B

  • March 2015

Not Bad

All good.

Room was a bit on the smelly side but not too bad. Quite expensive considering it's basically just a B&B but it's in a convenient location.

  • Linda M

  • January 2015

Worth the stay

Hotel staff friendly, professional and helpful.

Good value for money. Comfortable bed, good linen and quiet.

  • John Harvey

  • September 2014

Manings baby Sister

stayed here for he first time last week as was at a launch event in Truro.

am a regular diner at Manings and had heard good reports about this sister establishment. special mention for Lyn on reception who was fabulous and provide me with tea on arrival & ensured my room was available early. lovely room which very comfortable and equipped with everything you need. did not have breakfast as had a meeting in Falmouth.

will definitely stay again.

  • Lisa B

  • August 2014

Lovely room , very good personal welcome from the hotel

The hotel staff gave a warm personal welcome ,the room was tasteful clean and comfortable .The hotel was well placed to walk into the town