Merchant House

3

49, Falmouth Road, Truro, TR1 2HL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Gary K

  • May 2015

Two nights at the Merchant House

Charming staff on reception.

Ideal for Truro and surrounding area. Off street parking. Room suitable for my two night stay on business in town. Breakfast was hot and of good quality, served promptly in a friendly manner. Complementary afternoon tea/coffee with cake a nice touch to welcome you back to the hotel.

  • STEPHEN CRUDGE

  • April 2015

Merchant House, Truro

Very decent accommodation; good location, comfortable, friendly, reasonably spacious, clean and well run.

I can recommend. My only quibbles would be: a little bit pricey and I could have done with a shower curtain (or a proper shower!) - that said, one of my pet hates is tiny bathrooms and tiny washbasins and I have no complaints in these departments.

  • Sara M

  • March 2015

If you don't want Laterooms bookings, take your property off the site!

Nice enough hotel, staff very friendly, room acceptable, beds good, bathroom a bit icky.

My gripe is we were told more than once that if we had booked direct we would have got a better rate/ free breakfast. What's the point in telling guests that when they've already booked?

  • M Smith

  • March 2015

Weekend at Merchant House in Truro

Recently re-furbished hotel with good parking which is very helpful especially near a city centre.

Staff friendly and helpful. Very comfortable room with en-suite facilities - no view from room but that didn't spoil our stay.

We'd visit again if we come to Cornwall.

  • Oliver B

  • March 2015

Not Bad

All good.

Room was a bit on the smelly side but not too bad. Quite expensive considering it's basically just a B&B but it's in a convenient location.

  • Linda M

  • January 2015

Worth the stay

Hotel staff friendly, professional and helpful.

Good value for money. Comfortable bed, good linen and quiet.

  • John Harvey

  • September 2014

Manings baby Sister

stayed here for he first time last week as was at a launch event in Truro.

am a regular diner at Manings and had heard good reports about this sister establishment. special mention for Lyn on reception who was fabulous and provide me with tea on arrival & ensured my room was available early. lovely room which very comfortable and equipped with everything you need. did not have breakfast as had a meeting in Falmouth.

will definitely stay again.

  • Lisa B

  • August 2014

Lovely room , very good personal welcome from the hotel

The hotel staff gave a warm personal welcome ,the room was tasteful clean and comfortable .The hotel was well placed to walk into the town

  • Susan Roe

  • July 2014

Very small room, very hot, no bath, and more frustratingly, hidden breakfast charge.

I was told on arrival that LateRooms do not include breakfast, so I had to pay more for this.

I subsequently stayed at another hotel the next night, again booked through LaterRooms, but this was not the case?. Helpful and friendly staff, but quality of hotel for price being charged was not great. This hotel platforms themselves as a 'business hotel' which is why I booked it, but no desk space to work. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • E Tyson

  • June 2014

Merchant House Truro

Very friendly staff.

Lovely building. Free cake in the afternoon was a lovely treat. We didn't like the coffee from the machine on the bar so swopped to tea for the other days we made it back in time. Room clean and pleasant. Curtains kept the light out well. Set up as a twin was a little snug. We stayed 4 nights - for a longer stay the lack of storage would have been a challenge.

No problem parking and handy for town centre, it is up hill on the way back though. There were taxis in the centre if you needed to cheat.