No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merchant House

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
49, Falmouth Road , Truro, TR1 2HL
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.

With plenty of free parking for customers, this 29-bedroom hotel features classic decor with original features and beautiful stained-glass windows, bringing to life its unique heritage as a former merchant’s home.

The hotel’s friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to the fantastic facilities, which include free Wi-Fi throughout, secure storage for bicycles, drying room for walkers, launderette (fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms, as well as pointing out top places to visit nearby including Falmouth, Padstow and the Eden Project.

Whether visiting for business or pleasure, the clean and comfortable double, twin, family and single rooms are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities.

We also have allocated rooms which are dog friendly as we realise that for some of you a holiday wouldn’t be a holiday without your four-legged friend.

*** HOTEL POLICY: ALL RESERVATIONS ARE CHARGED AT THE TIME OF BOOKING ***
Picture of Merchant House, Truro at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
We were supposed to be staying here for 2 nights but could only manage 1. We felt that having booked through Late Rooms the hotel had given us an extremly poor room. The TV didnt work properly. The bedsheets were horrible. The bed was extremley uncomfortable. Everyone else seemed to be staying in rooms with double glazing and curtains. We had no double glazing, metal fire escape stairs right outside our window and horrible office blinds at the window that let in all the light in the morning. There was a curtain track but no curtains. The window was really high up so we couldnt see out. It felt a bit like a cell. We had half a toilet roll. The bathroom was tiny with horrid flooring. It was so tiny the sink was in our room.

Reviewed by
Lianne P

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good would like to see what it looks like when renovations are finished.

Reviewed by
Christina Holmes

From Morden, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlton is great value nice hotel
The sloped windows have built in blinds which are obvious.

Reviewed by
S Sharma

From Llandrindod Wells, Wales
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good team.
This hotel is working hard. The staff are working during a refurbishment to ensure guests have a good stay. I was impressed by their attentiveness and the fact that information about the refurbishment was clearly on view, and that the two staff on reception on our arrival pointed out the new colour scheme that was being rolled out. This is a good way to operate.
The hotel is tidy and despite the changes,a good standard is being maintained.
I will stay at the Carlton again - good luck with the future.

Reviewed by
David WRIGHT

From Torquay, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will be great when the workman have moved out !
after initial plumbing problem in ensuite I was moved to 2nd room, but it was occupied, 3rd room was fine. Staff under considerable pressure to remain open throughout extensive refurbishment. Booking system causing more than a few problems for them, but they remained polite and helpful at all times. Imagine it will be great when its all finished and the staff will need a holiday.

Reviewed by
P Wells

From England
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Stay
Had a nice stay. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good. Room was quiet and twin beds were comfortable. Plenty are car parking spaces. 10 mins walk to Truro centre. Will stay again when we come down to Cornwall.

Reviewed by
COLIN R

From Preston, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel caters for bus groups. It is well situated close to town centre. Welcome was warm and helpful,esp given late hour of arrival. Room was nothing to write home about and smelt damp but understand that the hotel is undergoing refurbishment and this room had a leak in roof. Not a huge minus and not enough to stop me staying again in the future

Reviewed by
C Brown

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Carlton Hotel Truro
Breakfast was to late if you are working.It would be helpful if a packed lunch could be left as an option

Reviewed by
chris cobham

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in June 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing owners very accommodating and nothing is a problem!!

Reviewed by
T Mcevoy 2

From Runcorn, England
Who stayed in June 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated hotel but good value for money
The hotel is located in the middle of Truro town centre with an approximate 10 minute walk to the shopping centre etc.
Whist the hotel offers an excellent value for money room and breakfast, the hotel is very dated and really could do with some modernization.
If you looking for a comfortable, friendly stay, this is the hotel for you. Just don't expect any luxury.

Reviewed by
L A

From England
Who stayed in June 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next