No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merchant House

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
49, Falmouth Road , Truro, TR1 2HL
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.

With plenty of free parking for customers, this 29-bedroom hotel features classic decor with original features and beautiful stained-glass windows, bringing to life its unique heritage as a former merchant’s home.

The hotel’s friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to the fantastic facilities, which include free Wi-Fi throughout, secure storage for bicycles, drying room for walkers, launderette (fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms, as well as pointing out top places to visit nearby including Falmouth, Padstow and the Eden Project.

Whether visiting for business or pleasure, the clean and comfortable double, twin, family and single rooms are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities.

We also have allocated rooms which are dog friendly as we realise that for some of you a holiday wouldn’t be a holiday without your four-legged friend.

*** HOTEL POLICY: ALL RESERVATIONS ARE CHARGED AT THE TIME OF BOOKING ***
Picture of Merchant House, Truro at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room without window
The room did not have a window that we could see out of. It was a loft window which was rather uncomfortable, did not want to be in the room except for sleeping. Bed very creaky and noisy.

Reviewed by
A BACON

From Torrington, England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
Can't rate this hotel highly enough. Stayed for 6 nights. The room was very clean and serviced daily. All the staff were extremely helpfull at all times. Nothing was to much trouble.Food excellent. Reasonable amounts of parking places within the hotel grounds. Ideal hub for exploring Corrwall by car

Reviewed by
rona bradshaw

From Blackpool, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlton Hotel Experience
I found the Carlton Hotel catered for our every need. My wife is disabled and not only was a ground floor room provided but access to the room from outside was trouble free. The staff were courteous at all times and extremely helpful. The food was excellent and the service prompt. I would gladly recommend the Carlton Hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
o redmond

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth the money
Very warm welcome,good location,nice bar area,i think the old telly in the rooms needs changing to flat screen and free view.

Reviewed by
Patrick L

From Newbury, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well done Carlton.
Nice experience. Staff friendly and helpful. Super meal in their sister restaurant in town.
Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
N Sinclair-Miller

From Daventry, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
We were supposed to be staying here for 2 nights but could only manage 1. We felt that having booked through Late Rooms the hotel had given us an extremly poor room. The TV didnt work properly. The bedsheets were horrible. The bed was extremley uncomfortable. Everyone else seemed to be staying in rooms with double glazing and curtains. We had no double glazing, metal fire escape stairs right outside our window and horrible office blinds at the window that let in all the light in the morning. There was a curtain track but no curtains. The window was really high up so we couldnt see out. It felt a bit like a cell. We had half a toilet roll. The bathroom was tiny with horrid flooring. It was so tiny the sink was in our room.

Reviewed by
Lianne P

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good would like to see what it looks like when renovations are finished.

Reviewed by
Christina Holmes

From Morden, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super Hotel, sehr zu empfehlen.

Reviewed by
T Pruess

From Achim, Germany
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7