No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merchant House

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
49, Falmouth Road , Truro, TR1 2HL
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.

With plenty of free parking for customers, this 29-bedroom hotel features classic decor with original features and beautiful stained-glass windows, bringing to life its unique heritage as a former merchant’s home.

The hotel’s friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to the fantastic facilities, which include free Wi-Fi throughout, secure storage for bicycles, drying room for walkers, launderette (fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms, as well as pointing out top places to visit nearby including Falmouth, Padstow and the Eden Project.

Whether visiting for business or pleasure, the clean and comfortable double, twin, family and single rooms are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities.

We also have allocated rooms which are dog friendly as we realise that for some of you a holiday wouldn’t be a holiday without your four-legged friend.

*** HOTEL POLICY: ALL RESERVATIONS ARE CHARGED AT THE TIME OF BOOKING ***
Picture of Merchant House, Truro at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing, comfortable and friendly staff
We had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and chatty. The room was 1st class.

Reviewed by
Jackie Tucker

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
The staff at merchant house were extremely freindly and breakfast was a good quality. I would go back there again

Reviewed by
s juxon

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay for evenign out with friends
My boyfriend and I needed somewhere reasonably priced to stay so that we could have an evening out with friends in Truro. We didn't need anything special as we were going to be out all evening, the Merchant Hotel was the cheapest accommodation we could find. We were pleasantly surprised at the facilities, service and friendliness of staff,

Reviewed by
Sophie Rich

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Merchant House
We required disabled access and the room was suitable for our needs. It was comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If those with disabilities enquire in future it would be worth pointing out that the hotel is up quite a long, and in places steep hill. The blurb states easy access to the city centre and this is not untrue, but I did not think to enquire about the terrain; we had decided to experiment with travelling by train. That said, A2B Taxis provided an excellent service throughout our long weekend.

Reviewed by
Ruth P

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip to Truro
Although being refurbished, care should be taken to ensure rooms are clean. Tables were thick with dust, not a good sign.
Food was very good and staff very helpful and polite.

Reviewed by
C Vegh

From Wigston, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Choice
Recently refurbished on ground floor this is an excellent hotel not too far from the centre of Truro with ample car parking, helpful staff and a room to hire for a private luncheon or seminar .Looking forward to staying again at the Merchant House

Reviewed by
Grahame J

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and not far from town. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Amy G

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable pre christmas stay in Truro at the Merchant House
We had a very enjoyable short break at the hotel. the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was nice and had a nice view. We ate in a couple of times and enjoyed the food. The hotel was reasonably convenient for getting to the centre of Truro though some might find the hill rather steep. We would certainly consider staying there ahgain and recommending it to others.

Reviewed by
J Veale

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A credit to the County of Cornwall
From the moment you enter this hotel, you are made to feel welcome and you are aware that this hotel's staff are fully committed to the good care of their guests. The hotel is in a good location with easy access to major roads yet close enough to the town's centre for you to leave your car in their ample car park and explore the town by foot.
Walkers who have been exploring the countryside may find the lack of facilities for drying boots and outdoor clothing a problem, but all other travellers will find this hotel ideal for their needs.

Reviewed by
Anthony B

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

late night shopping trip
The Merchant House was excellent value for money, good location, car parking and friendly staff. I think we were unfortunate to share the breakfast room with a group of people who were obviously travelling together, talked very loudly, and were constantly using their mobile phones. Maybe phones should be banned from dining areas. Many Thanks to housekeeping staff who found my earrings in the bedroom.

Reviewed by
wendy m

From Holsworthy, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next