No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oakthwaite

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Oakthwaite Thornbarrow Road, Windermere, LA23 2DQ
Set within a beautiful garden and only a short distance from the villages of both Windermere and Bowness, Oakthwaite has the traditional charm of a Lakeland residence yet with all the comforts of modern day living.

Our cosy yet spacious residents lounge overlooks the gardens of Oakthwaite and an open fire tempts you to relax and thumb through our selection of books and information on the area. Our garden at Oakthwaite is there for our guests to enjoy and we would encourage you to make the most of it during your stay. Self Service Continental Buffet Breakfast at house or Traditional English Breakfast in our cafe, Bowness.

BOTH ROOMS can be booked together to accommodate a family of four. Children over 8yrs welcome.
Picture of Oakthwaite, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
The accommodation was perfect for our needs, the staff were friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble.
The room was clean and tidy and very spacious, very we'll decorated and had a lovely view

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely review and we are elighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Oakthwaite and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed by
simon lucas

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation and very friendly/eager to please. Room was very big but just lacked a mirror

Reviewed by
Robert Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
My Partner and I stayed at Oakthwaite for one night from 19.10.2013 - 20.10.2013, upon arrival we were welcomed by the lady who owns Oakthwaite, who showed us to our room. The BnB was absolutely gorgeous, very clean and kept to a high standard. The lady could not have been any more welcoming. The BnB is very close to the town in nice weather a walk away! My Partner and I hope to be able to visit the area again and will definitely be staying at Oakthwaite again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for such a lovely review and I will be sure to pass your comments onto Deborah. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed by
Jenny H

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
The room was lovely and high quality. In a great location only a 5 minute walk from Bowness. Breakfast fantastic quality! Would recommend this guest house great value for money!

Reviewed by
Rebecca Harrison

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first time to the lake district,
we stayed at oakhwaite for to nights,and we where very happy with our choice of b&b,it was a beautiful room with all the facilities we needed,it was also very peacful in the house,and also asafe place to park my car, debbie was a lovely host she was very easy going and was on hand to help with any question i had,breakfast was also good to,and no rush to get us to leave the morning of departure,will be looking forward to our next stay.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and are very pleased to see you plane to return again. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
A Obrien

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful house & garden, the location was brilliant,staff helpful & friendly and the room was beautiful. the breakfast was really nice too, the little cafe serving the cooked breakfast was a short walk away but well worth the walk :) we would definetly recomend this b&b and would certainly return again....thankyou for a lovely stay :) xx

Reviewed by
Gary S

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a nice weekend
We had a lovely stay in oakthwaite, the owners were very pleasant and helpful and we were very comfortable indeed. Thanks a lot.

Reviewed by
D Armour

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oakthwaite new year
Lovely humble hotel with very welcoming and friendly staff

Reviewed by
A O'Gorman

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.