No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ocean View

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AP
Located in a fantastic cliff top location with spectacular sea views above Bournemouth’s seven miles of golden beaches yet just 15 minutes’ walk from the town center.

The Ocean View Hotel has 51 comfortable en-suite rooms, many of which have spectacular Sea Views. With wide range of rooms from beautiful Bridal Suites to massive family rooms the Ocean View is a perfect location for a break at the sea side for everyone.
Lovely bar and terrace with Sea Views and outdoor Swimming Pool and gardens make the Hotel a perfect place to relax. The Hotel has free parking on site and free Wi-Fi in some rooms and public areas.

NEW BEAUTY PARLOUR at The Cottonwood Boutique next door! Call us now to find out more about the wide range of relaxing Beauty Treatments at Beauty Essence

The hotel has facilities for people with mobility issues although is not fully accessible throughout.

Guests at the Ocean View Hotel also have access to the stylish bar and restaurant at The Cottonwood Boutique, the adjoining sister hotel, serving local and fresh ingredients across a range of bar, wine & dine and a la carte menus.

Please note that we do not accommodate hen or stag weekends and all groups of 6 people or more will be asked to pay a security bond of £500.00 upon arrival. Different terms and conditions apply for groups, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.

Picture of The Ocean View, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed.
First of all, on arrival the Spanish lady on the reception that evening was wounderful,
Couldn't fault her but then to be told we has a old fashioned room when I heard read it had been refurbished, I agreed to pay extra.. So we go up to the room,
Lovely.. But horrible smell in bathroom,
Just get on with it no complaints. Then we go down the the resturant to eat,
Not open.. So we go to the bar to have a drink..surprise surprise it's not open. We ring room service
For breakfast, they trying to double the price the receptionist told me in the morning. We stay in hotels all over the country for breaks,
And never have I been so disappointed.. False advertising to start with and I won't even go into the bites me and my boyfriend had from the bed! Disgraceful

Reviewed by
Eve Kelly

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love the Ocean
This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Ocean Hotel. Its always been spotlessly clean, staff are helpful and friendly . Breakfast is a very nice experience ,plenty to choose from and plenty to help yourself too. After trying a few other hotels around Bournemouth we keep coming back to the Ocean.

Reviewed by
angela s

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all rounder
Lovely place to stay, everybody was very friendly & helpful & everywhere was spotless.
Beds were very comfy & breakfast had everything on offer.
Excellent value.

Reviewed by
Julie D

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend escape
Good clean hotel staff very friendly and helpful, food was good with choice of breakfast.
nice clean room with sea view only downside was the heat in room as radiators were turned on full
would stay there again

Reviewed by
christopher

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel stay

Reviewed by
T Earl

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to the coast
Nice hotel, friendly staff, excellent location

Reviewed by
N Wilder

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel friendly staff nice location would stay again if in the area 5min walk to town centre
decent hotel good breakfast

Reviewed by
j bell

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom carpet needs changing/refitting.

Reviewed by
A Rees

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at a great hotel
Customer service of all staff we encountered was outstanding (receptionist was lovely and the waiting staff in the dinning room of the hotel next door were amazing).
We had a family room which was in a separate building adjacent to the front of the hotel. Room was a great size, decor a little dated (a bit 80's) but I'm just being picky.
Had a outdoor pool which looked nice but isn't heated so we didn't use it, no lunch / dinner facilities but the food and service at the hotel next door was excellent (and we received a 10% from Ocean View).
Overall great hotel would stay here again

Reviewed by
A Smith

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guess where your eating to-night.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, but the service in the restaurant was a little slow at times.
The 'superior' room was not really special and the bathroom was the smallest I can remember.
We had a problem with the shower on the first morning, but this was promptly fixed.
Evening meals were served in the sister hotel next door and not always in the same room.
We almost got involved with a coach party on one evening!

Reviewed by
BRIAN COURT

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next