No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bank House B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Bank House, 54, Swain Street , Watchet, TA23 0AG
Bank House is a handsome, Grade II- listed, Georgian merchant’s house conveniently situated close to the centre of the historic harbour town of Watchet, a minute’s walk away from the Marina and the West Somerset Railway station.

A small, family-run bed and breakfast, Bank House offers excellent quality visitor accommodation inspired by a beautiful period house and a fascinating town. Local, free range, organic Gloucester Old Spot bacon and sausages are served for breakfast (with vegetarian options) and local produce and fair-trade, organic and ethical products are used as much as possible.

There is private, off-road parking and all the comfortable rooms are en suite, with bath and/or shower facilities; pure cotton bed linen and luxurious towels; tea and coffee-making facilities; thermostatically controlled heating; digital TVs and free wi-fi internet access.

Picture of Bank House B&B, Watchet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay in a very nice part of the country clean friendly nice room and service all good
Great stay lovely place nice area to explore business trip and mini holiday no negatives at all about the bank house will be returning next year

Reviewed by
noel odonnell

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amongst the best
We were welcomed with tea and cakes by the owner Emma,who is someone who knows how to run a B&B.
The place is very clean and comfortable and beautifully positioned for the town and main attractions.
We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Reviewed by
graeme ashdown

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location if you want to walk or just get on the train

Reviewed by
james b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality accommodation
Good quality no-frills accommodation in a nice location, great for the West Somerset railway or walks around Watchet. The room was clean and comfortable, the house was quiet, I slept really well. It was however quite expensive for a B&B and having to pay by cash or cheque only was a minor annoyance.

Reviewed by
Nicholas L

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank House B & B
Good stay but room too small for couples.

Reviewed by
Lisa R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We very much enjoyed our stay at the bank house
The room was comfortable,the welcome was warm from the owner who was very helpful in places to see, the breakfast was 1st class.Would definately stay there again.
Thanks

Reviewed by
nick A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming
Definitely recommend this b&b. Great welcome and lovely room.

Reviewed by
Irena B

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly B&B
All very good, Very friendly and helpful proprietor. Tea and cake on arrival.
Only reason I have not marked customer service 6/6 is that I couldn't get any reply on the phone when initially ringing to try to book (hence using this site to book instead) and initially no answer at the front door when I turned up. This is not to detract form everything else which was of a high standard.

Reviewed by
Paul Denison

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 day stay in watchet.
A lovely georgian house ,nice clean room and en- suite. Emma is very welcoming , and a good breakfast included. We have never used bed and breakfast accomodation before , so this has been a good experience. can highly recommend. Carol and Julian.

Reviewed by
carol nixon

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find!
We stayed at Bank House for one night as we took a leisurely journey home from Devon. From the tea and cake when we arrived to the advice on a route for my husband's morning run, our hosts could not have been more helpful and hospitable. The bedroom (we had the Captain's Room at the side) had everything we needed, and was quiet and dark at night. The house is handsome and very well situated at the top end of the road running up from the harbour, close to pubs and cafes. Watchet and the surrounding area has an interesting history and offered plenty to do and see, including exhibitions by local artists, a couple of small museums, a railway line to Minehead with steam trains several times a day and the National Trust Dunster castle and pretty village nearby. In all, we had an excellent stay!

Reviewed by
A Morris

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next