No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1, Broad Street , South Molton, EX36 3AB
The George Hotel is Grade 2 listed and is located in the heart of South Molton. Dating back to the seventeenth century, we have ten comfortable ensuite bedrooms, Restaurant open to the public serving delicious homemade food, private dining room, Exmoor Bar, meeting rooms and large function room.

The hotel has been thoughtfully refurbished over the last few years and now boasts delightful bedrooms,all with free WIFI, comfortable public areas and an overall welcoming ambiance. Our customers enjoy the friendly and convivial atmosphere, delicious food and excellent value wines, spirits and real ales. For tourists visiting the area we are at the gateway to the Exmoor National Park and also not far from the coastal towns of Barnstaple, Ilfracombe and Lynton. For business customers, Pathfields Business Park is 5 minutes drive and the busy centre of Barnstaple only 12 miles.
Picture of The George Hotel, South Molton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome
We made a late booking to this hotel with two small children on route back from a camping trip. The hotel staff were very welcoming and child friendly and the supper was fabulous. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
V Colleran

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely quirky hotel
A last minute booking which turned out to be an excellent choice. This small hotel is lovely, fronting the main square in South Molton and with free parking at the rear, which was very easy to find. We were given room 6, by a very friendly lady in reception, which is just at the top of the stairs and it was a very pleasant, quiet room with the unusual thing of having 2 steps down into it from the landing. The bathroom was beautiful, obviously quite new and both room and en-suite were spotlessly clean. But the best thing was the food, served in a bright room with local artwork on the walls, much of it for sale, but regretfully beyond our price range - the evening meal was wonderful and excellent value for money - I had one of the best steaks I have ever eaten and my partner's fish dish was also superb. We had a good night in a very comfortable bed, the only downside being the creaky floors - forgivable in such an old building. The breakfast was as good as the evening meal and we really loved the "home made" local marmalade (many thanks to the lady who told us where we could buy it!). This hotel is a gem and I would recommend it to anyone - you wont be disappointed!

Reviewed by
A Miles

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place to stay
the only problem is the onsite parking is part of a carpark at the rear of the street not easy to find and you need to display a permit from the hotel not as secure as real on site. apart from that a great place to stay and i will use again if in the area.

Reviewed by
l parker

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect little hotel with the personal touch
Can't believe this only has a two star rating, it deserves at least a 3 or 4. We stayed one night whilst attending a friends wedding, lovely big room and very nice breakfast with lots of choice.

Reviewed by
Emily B

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in North Devon
Good value, clean and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disapointed
The family room was large, comfortable and clean which was great and to be expected. However after waiting 30 minutes for the waitress to take our breakfast order the first morning I gave up and went to the kitchen to ask for some service. The food when it arrived did not disappoint but considering there was only a 1 hour window for breakfast I thought the service should have been a lot slicker. There weren't even small jugs of milk on the tables so when tea/coffee was topped up you had to retrieve the one communal milk jug. When we returned to our room after being out for the day, I had to take the dirty cups (used the previous evening), down to reception to ask for clean ones and more milk. I know this was a Sunday, but I felt it should have been part of the service. On the positive side, the breakfast service the following day was as it should have been. I was also rather disappointed in that, having booked through this site I was quote a price per night. The one advertised at the hotel was £10/night cheaper. I queried this with the lady I assumed was the patron as I thought I was charged a premium to book through the website, to be told it was a special offer they were running at the moment. Bearing in mind this lady knew we could well be regulars as we have family in the town, I wasn't offered the 'offer; price as a goodwill gesture but charged the full price (an extra £20). I feel this was rather shortsighted considering myself and relatives visit the town several times each per year. All in all, an OK stay, but didn't come away feeling valued.

Reviewed by
L Fowler

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent breakfast, our evening meal was also very good and well priced for the quality of food! bed was lovely and soft. room could have been a little cleaner and the room needed some TLC but the host was lovely and the building very characterful

Reviewed by
r hobbs

From chaffcombe, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
A most confortable stay. My only critiicsm would be that the shower (connnected to the bath) was feeble and diffilcut to adjust. The food was particularly good and excellent value - obviously prepared by someone who knew what they were doing. I would seek out this hotel again. I was made very welcome.

Reviewed by
Keith P

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.