No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Vaults

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
16, Castle Gates , Shrewsbury, SY12AB
The Vaults is friendly independent pub, located in the heart of Shrewsbury town centre, only strides away from the train station. We have a wide selection of drinks at reasonable prices, including guest ales – visit our drinks page for more information.

Adequate seating can be found at the bar, as well as larger tables for groups – in addition to our comfy sofas and armchairs. Be sure to check out our courtyard and large roof terrace if the sun is shining!

We have rooms available and also play host to some of the counties best live entertainment – with regular promotions offering anything from Live Bands and Hip Hop to world class DJ’s playing Dub, Techno, Drum & Bass, Funk & Soul.
The Vaults has a lively bar with music until 02:30 on Friday and Saturday and Bank Holiday Sunday nights. Rooms can only be accessed through the main pub and are located on Floors 2 and 3.

Families are welcome during the day at our discretion and we operate a strict challenge 21 policy at all times. If you are lucky enough to look younger, then please make sure you bring ID with you to avoid disappointment.
Explore the site for further details and if there’s something we haven’t covered, don’t hesitate to get in touch – we like to help!
Picture of The Vaults, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Vaults
The corridor outside our room appeared damp and had an unpleasant smell.

Reviewed by
D Lloyd

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient ,town centre accomodation
We stayed here for one night and found the room to be very pleasant.
We were welcomed by the Landlord upon arrival and were given instructions from the bar-staff on how to access our room etc.
I had difficulty in accessing the WIFI but the Landlord assisted me straight away so was very helpful.
It should be noted, however,that the accommodation is quite basic.
The price one pays does reflect this as there are no breakfast facilities and no toiletries in the bathroom.
On a positive note there was plenty of hot water and lovely soft white towels.
But the accommodation did smell of damp and as such was not very inviting.
On reflection, we would prefer to pay a little extra for better facilities.

Reviewed by
stephen lewis

From Llanymynech, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The comfiest and biggest bed I have ever slept in.
I'd read the hotel reviews, so I was expecting this to be "a room above a pub" and yes, it was, however I was thrilled with how nice the room was. We were at the top of the building, and yes, lots of narrow steps, but I like that, it's quirky. Our room was really spacious with the biggest, softest, most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The room was spotless and had a full size television on the wall, perfect for hubby to watch, as I got ready. It was a little cool in the room, so I simply turned the radiators up, and within five minutes it was lovely and warm. The ensuite was tiny, just enough room to get in and out, but one at a time. However, the shower was big enough for two! The curtains are thick and gave the room a blackout. I usually wake at 7:30am, and I didn't even stir till 10:30am! Good job, as check out is 11am! I loved my lie in. The room view was overlooking the beer garden and the castle behind. Yes, music was still playing and customers chatting at 2am, but that added to the atmosphere. My only disappointment was that, there was not a hair dryer in the room and I hadn't packed one. All in all, it was a very pleasant, clean and comfortable room and I would chose to stay again.

Reviewed by
Emma L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, with a good view
We booked 2 rooms, for the extra 14£ my room was far superior, clean, fresh and new. My friends a bit tired, small and damaged door to bathroom. Tired carpets in hallway and if I was in room 8 id have been worried about the massive gap under the main door.
the bar leaves a bit to be desired but overall good value for what was actually paid, staff friendly, great central location and again my view of the castle was better than my friends view of the bingo hall.
My advice pay the extra 7£ a night

Reviewed by
Michael R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap & Clean
Was a great experience, really close to the train station. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Extremely clean and quiet. Good to have a english experience staying above a pub, highly recommend.

Reviewed by
B New

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night in shrewsbury
room was clean and tidy.staff were very friendly and helpful.plenty of places to eat and drink close by

Reviewed by
M NEARY

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had to wait for room key about 40 mins. My payment hasn't been done online. I have to pay on arrival.(owner too busy to complete transaction). In hotel was specific smell of burn. Room was tidy, but I bit smelly.

Reviewed by
Karolina S

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved our stay but my wife uses a crutch and struggled with the steep and narrow stairs up to our room . That was the only black mark but still enjoyed ourselves .

Reviewed by
r Hutton

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place
very friendly host nice room would go here again

Reviewed by
dean taylor

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central
Good basic accommodation in the centre of Shrewsbury. The room itself was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom on the other was insanely tiny- it is just as well we are slim otherwise we would have had issues!! The accommodation had been done up in a modern style, however not to the best quality as there were holes in the wall. Sufficient standard for our short stay however. In summary, for the price you can't really knock it.

Reviewed by
A Macarty

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next