No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Vaults

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
16, Castle Gates , Shrewsbury, SY12AB
The Vaults is friendly independent pub, located in the heart of Shrewsbury town centre, only strides away from the train station. We have a wide selection of drinks at reasonable prices, including guest ales – visit our drinks page for more information.

Adequate seating can be found at the bar, as well as larger tables for groups – in addition to our comfy sofas and armchairs. Be sure to check out our courtyard and large roof terrace if the sun is shining!

We have rooms available and also play host to some of the counties best live entertainment – with regular promotions offering anything from Live Bands and Hip Hop to world class DJ’s playing Dub, Techno, Drum & Bass, Funk & Soul.
The Vaults has a lively bar with music until 02:30 on Friday and Saturday and Bank Holiday Sunday nights. Rooms can only be accessed through the main pub and are located on Floors 2 and 3.

Families are welcome during the day at our discretion and we operate a strict challenge 21 policy at all times. If you are lucky enough to look younger, then please make sure you bring ID with you to avoid disappointment.
Explore the site for further details and if there’s something we haven’t covered, don’t hesitate to get in touch – we like to help!
Picture of The Vaults, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved our stay but my wife uses a crutch and struggled with the steep and narrow stairs up to our room . That was the only black mark but still enjoyed ourselves .

Reviewed by
r Hutton

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place
very friendly host nice room would go here again

Reviewed by
dean taylor

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central
Good basic accommodation in the centre of Shrewsbury. The room itself was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom on the other was insanely tiny- it is just as well we are slim otherwise we would have had issues!! The accommodation had been done up in a modern style, however not to the best quality as there were holes in the wall. Sufficient standard for our short stay however. In summary, for the price you can't really knock it.

Reviewed by
A Macarty

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delighted
Room spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Only a minute or so's walk from the railway station, minutes away from the main shopping areas and 10-15 minutes walk to the showground if you're there for an event as I was - very convenient and easy for me. Yes, it's noisy until the early hours at weekends with music and a lively bar, you need to be aware of that, but it is made very clear in their description, and fun to join in if you like that kind of thing. Atmospheric old building with a wonderful view of the castle from my window at the back. Helpful, efficient and friendly staff. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth E

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very sound proof despite being on the second floor. Very handy for train station though! Disappointed there wasn't even breakfast provided. Had a single bed when it said double on my booking.

Reviewed by
J Connor

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Staff very helpful (we were able to occupy the room on arrival at no charge for early check in). The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable - no creaks, lumps or any other flaws, beating a recent stay at a Travelodge hands down. Value for money was excellent.

Reviewed by
jane p

From Spain
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy room, just a bit too noisy on saturday night.

Reviewed by
Dorin P

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good location for the city centre and the railway station. A bit of noise from the pub. Good value overall.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
I found The Vaults to be exactly as I expected. I was looking for somewhere inexpensive to stay to break my journey. The staff welcomed me and explained all I needed to know. The room was simple but the facilities were all in place and it was clean. The website was accurate so there were no nasty surprises. It was never going to be luxurious but it met my needs completely.

Reviewed by
Peter P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a dump
Small attic conversion. 2 single beds but so close they might as well of been a double. Couldn't "swing a cat" in the joint toilet/shower 'cupboard' (it was that small).

Reviewed by
Paul K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next