No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Vaults

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
16, Castle Gates , Shrewsbury, SY12AB
The Vaults is friendly independent pub, located in the heart of Shrewsbury town centre, only strides away from the train station. We have a wide selection of drinks at reasonable prices, including guest ales – visit our drinks page for more information.

Adequate seating can be found at the bar, as well as larger tables for groups – in addition to our comfy sofas and armchairs. Be sure to check out our courtyard and large roof terrace if the sun is shining!

We have rooms available and also play host to some of the counties best live entertainment – with regular promotions offering anything from Live Bands and Hip Hop to world class DJ’s playing Dub, Techno, Drum & Bass, Funk & Soul.
The Vaults has a lively bar with music until 02:30 on Friday and Saturday and Bank Holiday Sunday nights. Rooms can only be accessed through the main pub and are located on Floors 2 and 3.

Families are welcome during the day at our discretion and we operate a strict challenge 21 policy at all times. If you are lucky enough to look younger, then please make sure you bring ID with you to avoid disappointment.
Explore the site for further details and if there’s something we haven’t covered, don’t hesitate to get in touch – we like to help!
Picture of The Vaults, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
Very friendly locals in the bar. The bar staff were very friendly and happy to have a general chat with the coustomers. Room was clean and good shower. No breakfast option but there are plenty of place around to enjoy a nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
Derek R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, great location

Reviewed by
Emma M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
As unassuming as The Vaults looks from the outside once you get inside it leaves its mark. The staff are friendly and helpful from the outset and as the rooms are up several flights of stairs they even offer to carry your bags, even if that's only a backpack. Being above a pub you dot expect much from the rooms which makes them even more pleasantly surprising. Our double room was crisp and modern complete with huge flatscreen TV and the bathroom is bright white and refreshingly clean. The shower was one of the best treats about the stay, it was large, powerful and really warm! The rooms are heated really well which makes for cosy cuddles and with the curtains open to see the castles battlements there's a very romantic atmosphere to be enjoyed.

Reviewed by
L Crane

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth the money
We stopped here January 2013. 1st room they offerd us was to many stairs for my friend without any problems they swapped our room. The ppl who own this place were very welcoming and always there if needed nothing to much bother. They also let us eat our food in the pub aslong as it wasnt chips....great couple great pub keep it up

Reviewed by
s brannan

From Stoke on Trent, England
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it!
the room was big, warm and very lovely. shower was really well sized and the employees were so nice. bed was comfy too. cant complain.

Reviewed by
Nula M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night at the Vaults
great vaule for money, parking at the Railway Station around the corner only £4 for 24 hours, manager and staff very frendly, basic accomodation but warm and comfortable, right in the heart of town centre, easy walking distance to every thing.

Reviewed by
T KELLY

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overnight accommodation
Great spot near the station. Room decent size but bathroom very small - not a problem for one night. Staff friendly and helpful. We were on top floor which kept us away from noise but stairs quite steep so not good for small children or infirm adults

Reviewed by
E Whittaker

From , England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy from people in the bar and road traffic. No hot water to have a shave. Bathroom small and cramped.

Reviewed by
David Hedley

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5