Reviews - Hyde Park Apartments

4

8 CRAVEN HILL, London, W2 3DS

Price From 112.65 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (55)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Julia Foxall

  • December 2015

Ideal location for families

Booked in at a separate address but we're taken by taxi immediately.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Apartment spacious, clean, value for money and great location. Would definitely book again!.

  • Claire N

  • December 2015

Two bedroomed apartment

The decor was beginning to look tired with marks on the walls and pictures missing.

The arrangement of the furniture in the bedrooms was cramped and the tiled walls made the place unhomely. There was also water damage in the bathroom.

  • Abbie R

  • December 2015

It was OK - You get what you pay for

I booked a 2 bedroom apartment and a 1 bedroom apartment on a Friday night.

I phone on the Thursday to confirm the rooms would be ready by 2pm and was told they would be. The check in location is in a different place to the apartments themselves, so I had to take a trip during my lunch break at work to check in. Not only was this one of the slowest check-in experiences of my life, but one of the rooms was not actually ready, despite it being 2:30pm. The man behind the desk was professional and helpful, the lady was quite aggressive and it took far too long as far as I am concerned. They did say I could have the key to the bigger room, but I could not access it yet as there was "maintenance" work going on.

I was then offered a free transfer to the apartment which was handy as it was tipping it down. However it unfortunately took 15 minutes to arrive despite me being told it would be along in a few minutes - I could have walked in ten. Eventually when I got there, I went to put my bag in the 1 bed apartment to find the door to the 2 bed apartment was wide open - I saw a few cleaners in there, one was doing her hair in the mirror, one was sitting on the sofa doing something or other and the other one was actually sorting out tea/coffee/toiletries to fill the room. So basically there was no maintenance work, the room was simply not ready despite my reassurances 24 hours previously that it would be. It was a 2 hour round trip to then get back to work.

When we came back in the evening we got ready for the night out. The bathroom in the 2 bed apartment was probably the smallest room I have ever been in. The radiator/towel rail was on at about 1,000 degrees and we all burnt ourselves on it - I have a huge red mark on my arm, and another ladies is in a more painful and embarrassing place!. A taller friend of mine had to sit on the loo sideways because her knees touched the wall if she sat on it normally. The shower worked ok and we had been provided towels although they were tiny.

We went for out night out, came back, had to use the sofa bed which was covered in marker pen and hard to figure out - apparently it was comfortable enough though.

We woke at about 9am (having gone to bed only a few short hours before hand...) to the overwhelming smell of cigarettes - not being smokers, it was disgusting. Turns out the cleaners little break area was an alley way right next to the bedroom we were in. Our window was firmly closed but i guess it was single glazing and there must have been a hole in the wall somewhere because we both got out of bed and found some spray it was that overwhelming. The cleaners then proceeded to shout at each other for another 30 minutes so getting back to sleep was no longer an option. One of the kitchen cupboards didn't have a door - the light in one of the bedrooms didn't work - and there was a random, unlocked door which lead to the street!. We only realized this when we woke up as it was in the kitchen which we didn't actually use.

Between the 5 of us it was cheap - £45 each - so we can't complain as it did the trick and was better than getting taxi's home after the Christmas party. But I wouldn't stay again.

  • L Green

  • December 2015

Good location but not quite 100%

Was a great location and easy to walk to all amenities, at the check in you get a free taxi to the apartment which is great and very nice building but the room was not the one in the pictures and a lot smaller than we thought it would be.

The bathroom - the cold water was off but I worked out the valve was turned off so had to sort that then the shower wouldn't go cold and the water wouldn't drain so you have to turn the shower on and off so you don't flood the room. Nice and quiet though so good place for sleep and everything you need in one room. I would recommend this place but don't expect the savoy quality, you get what you pay for.

  • Nicola W

  • November 2015

small - even for London

The apartment was tiny but had everything we needed for a weekend stay.

Cleanliness could have been better with dusty floors and a mild smell of wet dog but for London, it was value for money and in a great location.

  • P L

  • September 2015

Alright accommodation

Accommodation was okay but is a pain to have to check in in at other location and not really a superior double in my opinion.

  • Sue C

  • September 2015

Disappointed with room

Whilst the room did have a kitchenette and a table, we had booked the 'superior suite' and you could virtually switch the kettle on in the kitchen from bed.

it was tiny. Nothing like the photos suggested. I almost wonder whether they didn't put us in a superior suite but there was nobody to talk to once we'd walked the 15 mins from the reception and up to the third floor with heavy bags and no lift. there was no sofa and whilst standing in the middle of the floor space it was about one step to the bed, to the loo and to the kitchen. Bit sad.

  • Suzanne S

  • September 2015

Tale of 2 venues

The rating we scored this accommodation does not reflect the 2nd night we decided to add on to our visit.

We were moved to their main building which was £90 pn (£20 more than above). Whilst accepting that they optimise the space for profit reasons, this room was simply not fit for purpose. The walls were paper-thin which ensured that we were kept awake from 0230 onwards due to inconsiderate neighbours. You cannot hold the hotel responsible for this but when added to tiny bathroom facilities, uncomfortable beds and a fridge that had to be turned off to stop the deafening noise, it added up to a disappointing stay. This is a pity as we decided to stay an extra night due to the previous nights accommodation standard. The worst aspect though was the bathroom - it was simply unusable. I am only 5ft 9, but could only just about fit in the shower. .Additionally the positioning of the shower head meant that you had to wedge yourselt against the side of the shower to use it. The toilet was only fully accessible standing-up as you could not sit straight on it. This was obviously not good for my wife!. Overall it changed our opinion from good to bad and we would not use this venue again on one of our regular visits to the capital.

  • Jay C

  • August 2015

A room with a sink

I was in room 2 on the lower ground floor.

Can not call this an apartment at all its a normal size room no bigger than any other hotel room but it has a kitchenette that's it.

  • Shahram Nejad

  • August 2015

Great place

loved the apartment great place and lovely building I will be booking again, thank you for the place .