No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wrangham House Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
10 Stonegate,Hunmanby , Filey, YO14 0NS
For those looking for somewhere relaxing to stay, a surprise find is Wrangham House an 18th Century Georgian country house hotel. Formerly a vicarage Wrangham House offers comfortable and traditional accommodation and hospitality, Family run, this friendly and intimate hotel has twelve individually styled rooms, all en suite, including two four poster rooms, a panelled sitting room and a well stocked bar, both with log fires in the winter. It stands in two acres of beautiful secluded wooded gardens and has ample off street parking to the rear. Each room has colour television, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock radio and a hairdryer.Dinner is served nightly in the elegant and spacious dining room, overlooking the gardens, formerly the vicarage library. All menus are created using fresh and local produce. Meals are cooked to order by mine host, Peter Devos, and complimented by the hotel's excellent selection of reasonably priced wines. Open all year round Wrangham House specialises in short stays and golfing breaks. It is also an ideal venue for private parties, wedding receptions, Christmas or Easter holidays, as well as as corporate meetings. Why not organise a family get together and have exclusive use of this fabulous home.

Nestled in the heart of Hunmanby next to the Church amidst 2 acres of beautiful gardens come and enjoy the peace and tranquility.

Close to Bempton for the birdwatchers paradise and surrounded by places of interest and if it's a shopping spree your looking for without the hustle and bustle then we are only a 40 minute drive away from York City Centre or a short train journey.
Picture of Wrangham House Hotel, Filey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed 2 nights
Friendly staff . Good food , very comfy four poster bed .
The hotel could do with a make over , first impression carpets worn and look filthy . Wallpaper in hotel all needs changing . The hotel needs a decorating job and new carpets through out .

Reviewed by
D Male

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
friendly ,well motivated staff serving good food and wine in delightful premises situated in idyllic village . Excellent breakfast served at 8 am all week .

Reviewed by
P Edwards

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation set in in the heart of a village close to Filey. I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel. The staff are warm and welcoming and the breakfast will set you up for a day’s walking.
I stayed in the converted Coach House behind the main house and the room was spacious and cosy.
I hope to return again.

Reviewed by
Pamela K

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Wrangham
Great hotel, staff very helpful. Room prepared to good standard with excellent en suite. Good location in quiet village , handy base to explore from. We'll worth a return visit.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and tranquility
Very much enjoyed the stay here. If you want peace and tranquility, this is the place for you. Lovely people, friendly staff. Excellent food. We stayed in the coach house room no 2 which had 2 double beds. This was a lovely room and not far to walk to the main building. Dogs are allowed in this room which was good for us. Fantastic gardens to walk round. We booked just for B & B but we did have an evening meal on the first night which also was excellent. We have already recommended this hotel to our neighbour.

Reviewed by
Christine Cowan

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were thoroughly enchanted by the charm of Wrangham House and it's period furniture and comfortable surroundings and atmosphere. We were upgraded as the hotel was not fully booked and had the luxury of a four poster bed. The grounds were lovely on a late summer evening and our host was friendly and obliging. The young staff were very helpful, polite and well mannered.

Reviewed by
A POLLARD

From Mirfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and charming
We wanted to go to the Filey food festival so decided to stay just outside the town. The hotel was lovely and the staff were all very friendly. The food was excellent and the breakfast kept us going all day!!! Our bedroom was very comfortable and I have always wanted to sleep in a four posted bed! We will be back to explore more of the coast and countryside, so thank you Wrangham house for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
H Norman

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A blessing to stay at this hotel
I had a really good stay at this hotel especially after I was kindly given an extra heater for my room (I am an elderly person so I do need extra heat when the radiators are not on). The breakfasts were excellent and of very good quality and quantity. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The hotel has a lovely family feel to it which Peter and Stacie add to as it is their family home as well. I also loved having conversations with the sweet young people they employ which also added to the 'family feel' of this hotel.

Reviewed by
S Rudd

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second visit
I liked the hotel last visit so booked again and it didn't dissapoint. The owners and staff are very friendly, the food is good and the hotel has bags of character. This is not like the large chain hotels and the building is old so don't expect a modern bland experience. I had a larger room this time with twin beds, nicely decorated and with a good sized modern shower. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Insufficient heating in the room, very cold all night

Reviewed by
stewart T

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next