No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Amberley Inn

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Culver Hill , Stroud, GL5 5AF
Amberley Inn has long been one of the best known landmarks in the great expanse of open grassland that is Minchinhampton Common. Whilst enjoying magnificent views of the Golden Valley and the hills beyond, it combines the friendly welcoming atmosphere of the village inn with the comforts of a well-run small hotel
Picture of Amberley Inn, Stroud at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay in a friendly environment
All my requirements were met and I would not hesitate to recommend it and I will certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Frank Inglis

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

secret hideaway
Staff were very welcoming and helpful during whole time of stay. The Inn is a delightful little secret that we now all can know about. We didn't eat there during the night as we had a family party else where, but the breakfast was top notch. Despite being an inn we were not disturbed sleeping, A peaceful backwater in a great rural location. Nice soft pillows, my wife normally has to take one with her but didn't need to use it. Only, downside is the bathroom was a bit small, but not a deterrent unless you are well above average.

Reviewed by
i scott

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous setting, lovely friendly service.
Thank you

Reviewed by
K Williams

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
Great rural setting with lovely countryside views for relaxing break. Wood fires in bar area always a bonus!

Reviewed by
Nick H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location to go around
We found the rate a little high compare with the standard of the inn . I''ll ask a discount in case of coming back

Reviewed by
G Bartolozzi

From Firenze, Italy
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely loved the Amberley Inn for a weekend break. Didn't want to leave.
Booked a suite for a weekend break. Everything was spot on from the solid furniture in the suite, to the restaurant where we had dinner and also breakfast the next morning. Food was excellent with views of the Cotswolds to match. Shame it was pouring with rain when we arrived. Luckily the Sunday dawned bright and I went for a walk around the hotel before returning to a very tasty breakfast. Wish we had more time to explore the area. Will return in the spring to this great find.

Reviewed by
Pamela K

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't have asked for more
Very comfortable room (great shower), nice views. The staff were very welcoming and the food and drink were excellent. Will certainly stay again when we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Gary M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Fantastic stay in a beautiful area. Very relaxing intimate atmosphere. Service on arrival and through dinner was fantastic, only let down slightly by the slow service at breakfast which would be easily remedied by an extra staff member.
I would recommend this place to stay for a getaway!

Reviewed by
Jessica P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here for 1 night only. Situated on the top of a hill, Amberley and the hotel has plenty of character. Surrounded by common land it is an ideal place for a walking. Our room at the hotel was clean and comfortable although the en-suite was very small, however the other two rooms en-suite were a good size. Good breakfast with very obliging young staff. The bar was shut when we arrived back at the hotel at 10.30p.m. but that was not a problem for us. We would stay again.

Reviewed by
e hughes

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amberley ambiance
Peaceful retreat excellent centre for southern Cotswolds especially for walkers.
We took our dog and had a ground floor garden room - perfect for last minute walks! Room freshly decorated and lovely space. Great to have 2 bars and lounge area with free access to dog too . Bit of noise from upstairs guests early am but when told Trevor the proprietor he was keen to sort out any issues. Most of the food was lovely and an attempt at local sourcing obvious . Breakfasts excellent . Upstairs rooms have great views across beautiful valley and glimpses of R Severn

Reviewed by
Kim A

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next