No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Norfolk Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
22 HIGH STREET , ARUNDEL, BN18 9AB
In the heart of Arundel's conservation area is the Norfolk Arms Hotel, a former Georgian coaching inn, completed in 1780. Unspoilt, the hotel combines the period features of the Georgian era with the requirements of today's visitors. Within the hotel are log fires, bars serving real ales and for entertaining on a greater scale, the magnificent mirrored ballroom. Most of our rooms, which vary in size and character, are situated in the main house, whilst ground floor rooms are available in our courtyard.

The stunning sight of Arundel Castle, the ancestral home to the Dukes of Norfolk for over 800 years, dominates the historic market town, which through the ages has developed into a small but unique town, from its cobbled streets, specialist shops and beautiful Georgian architecture, to the Gothic Cathedral. Close by are the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, the great estates of Goodwood and Petworth, horse racing at Fontwell, the Roman ruins at Fishbourne, historic Portsmouth and the wonderful Brighton Pavilion.

The Hotel offers Free Wifi !

Picture of Norfolk Arms Hotel, ARUNDEL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Please with my stay
Friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Heather D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely building but a little unloved inside
The building itself is lovely but the decor is definitely in need of some TLC. I know the hotel is going under some refurbishment, but I was disappointed with the overall state of the decor in my room. There is obviously a big problem with damp as the wallpaper was coming off the walls in numerous places. The bathroom although clean did have a lot of mildew on the tiles and in corners, the shower curtain was also very stained. Overall I did think it is a little pricey for its current state of repair. On a positive note the staff were very polite and hospitable.

Reviewed by
elizabeth c

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Norfolk Arms Hotel
Good value for an overnight stay in a pleasant location. The room no.8 in dire need of just a bit of redecoration, the wallpaper hanging from the walls was a slight off put and the bathroom was a bit mouldy. However, that said it was warm lots of hot water soft towels and the breakfast was brilliant, as were the staff. We would certainly book again.

Reviewed by
R Deluca

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In Need of Lots of TLC
The room was adequate in respect of space, cleanliness, utilities etc. but the armchairs were threadbare, the wallpaper faded and peeling, the carpet - though clean - was badly stained, and the bathroom was just dull and dim with the most ghastly orange/burnt umber tiles floor to ceiling. Although we tried very hard to turn the red-hot radiator down, it didn't seem to get any cooler through the night, so we had a poor night's sleep.
Breakfast was good however. A very nice selection on the self-service buffet and a good spread of cooked items available. We both ordered traditional english breakfasts, which arrived nicely cooked and presented. However, the breakfast room is also in need of a complete re-furbishment as it looks very tired and shabby. In fact - the whole of the reception area and lounge could do with similar attention.

Reviewed by
Tim W

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Right in the Heart of Arundel
Nice Hotel in the centre of Arundel just a short stroll to the castle. Our room was comfortable, nothing fancy but very clean. Perfect for what we wanted, breakfast was very nice and served quickly. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
C Colwill

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel with lots of character
this hotel, although it does need refurbishment (which is due soon according to the room information pack), as could be gauged by the buckets on the stairs leading to our room catching rainwater leaks from a flat roof, has all the charm and nuances that you would expect from a building which is more than 200 years old. Our bedroom was comfortable and quiet, being on the top floor. The breakfasts are good, appear to be cooked to order and served by cheerful staff. A good base for exploring the local area. The free car park was also a plus.

Reviewed by
ian t

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ready for some tlc
Rather tired decor. Excellent central location and parking onsite included in room rate. Very pleasant staff.

Reviewed by
bridget d

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just adequate however refurbishment is planned
We stayed here for one night ,slept well and there was good parking. Our room was in an annex which was very dated. This hotel is due to be refurbished and is in an excellent location for Goodwood.

Reviewed by
Ann M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, friendly and helpful staff but hotel needs to be cleaned and updated.
Lovely old exterior and great period features within main part of the hotel, however we stayed in the rooms to the rear which are in need of a good clean and an update! Great breakfast served by friendly and attentive staff.

Reviewed by
A Love

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very good
Booked at short notice, great value, easy to find on Arandel High Street. Room though a little dated was beautifully spacious and clean. Room had desk which was very useful for business traveller. Ate dinner in restruant in evening; service here was a bit of a let down, seemed almost like I was disturbing them. Otherwise general service at reception etc. Very good. Food all ok but a little bland and basic.

Reviewed by
D M

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next