No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Norfolk Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
22 HIGH STREET , ARUNDEL, BN18 9AB
In the heart of Arundel's conservation area is the Norfolk Arms Hotel, a former Georgian coaching inn, completed in 1780. Unspoilt, the hotel combines the period features of the Georgian era with the requirements of today's visitors. Within the hotel are log fires, bars serving real ales and for entertaining on a greater scale, the magnificent mirrored ballroom. Most of our rooms, which vary in size and character, are situated in the main house, whilst ground floor rooms are available in our courtyard.

The stunning sight of Arundel Castle, the ancestral home to the Dukes of Norfolk for over 800 years, dominates the historic market town, which through the ages has developed into a small but unique town, from its cobbled streets, specialist shops and beautiful Georgian architecture, to the Gothic Cathedral. Close by are the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, the great estates of Goodwood and Petworth, horse racing at Fontwell, the Roman ruins at Fishbourne, historic Portsmouth and the wonderful Brighton Pavilion.

The Hotel offers Free Wifi !

Picture of Norfolk Arms Hotel, ARUNDEL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, friendly and helpful staff but hotel needs to be cleaned and updated.
Lovely old exterior and great period features within main part of the hotel, however we stayed in the rooms to the rear which are in need of a good clean and an update! Great breakfast served by friendly and attentive staff.

Reviewed by
A Love

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very good
Booked at short notice, great value, easy to find on Arandel High Street. Room though a little dated was beautifully spacious and clean. Room had desk which was very useful for business traveller. Ate dinner in restruant in evening; service here was a bit of a let down, seemed almost like I was disturbing them. Otherwise general service at reception etc. Very good. Food all ok but a little bland and basic.

Reviewed by
D M

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Star Hotel, not 3 star pricing
The Norfolk Arms is a lovely old building with historic interior. Staff are very polite and welcoming.
The location is excellent in the centre of historic Arundel. Onsite parking close to accommodation.
The rooms are very tired with old and stained carpets and I have seen wall tiles like the bathroom since the early 1970s.
Although the bed was very comfortable and SKY news is available on the flat screen TV.

Reviewed by
Gary W

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired
Tired and in need of updating. No welcome in the Bar, had to wait for service too long. If the Bar was more welcoming and staffed , profit would be a lot higher. We gave up in the end and spent our money in the Red Lion over the road and were thanked for our custom.
No hot water in the morning of the second day, no mention of this until we inquired, no offer of compensation.
Food (breakfest) very good ! Breakfast staff spot on,polite and helpful.
Nasty smell in corridor to room 104 ! Room clean and tidy,bed comfortable, tea and coffee very nice.
Not even a thank you when we left. Reception staff and management need course in customer management !

Reviewed by
Ray K

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Looked forward to staying in such an old hotel in beautiful Arundel but the accommodation was very poor & disappointing.. In need of a facelift.
We were told by the reception that although we booked a double bed it wasn't guaranteed as we had booked through late rooms! ( It made us feel like second rate guests)
Needless to say we had single beds!
On the plus side ...great location

Reviewed by
Michael H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather tired
This was a spur of the moment overnight stay booked on the basis of location and price. The hotel is rather tired and in need of some redecoration and/or modernisation. The staff we met were perfectly friendly and very pleasant and we could not fault the cleanliness of our room but the bed was soft and the pillows offered no real support and we did not have a very comfortable night. Breakfast is a self-service buffet, including cook your own toast and make your own tea/coffee. It offers a fair choice but the cooked breakfast has to be described as meagre.

Reviewed by
Tim S

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Excellent value for money, though first impression on arrival was of an establishment that needs freshening up. This was more than compensated for by the friendliness of staff, the hotel's location and the historical artefacts which adorn the main building.

Reviewed by
Vic H

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful and pleasant staff
In spite of a bed on the unyielding side of soft and a lack of co-ordination in the decor and soft furnishings of the bedroom I would use this hotel again. Hotel tastefully furnished in sympathy with the 18th century building. Beakfast excellent but the crispness of the dinner's roast potatoes was destroyed by a covering of gravy. WC not very efficient but at least I was siting on Royal Doulton!

Reviewed by
Paul D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed our stay
I read other reviews saying hotel was a bit tired, yes but it is a very old place and has charm, we were in room one and had mullioned windows. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent

Reviewed by
christine e

From Much Wenlock, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attractive Arundel
I hope to stay at the hotel again as the staff were so welcoming. The stay represented great value for money and the hotel has great charm and period features. If I were to criticise, it would be that the towels were quite worn, but on the plus side everything was very clean & there were lovely toiletries. The menu was traditional & a little limited in terms of healthy options but portions were generous and prices reasonable. I would have liked the option of rolls and fresh fruit at breakfast.
The situation of the hotel is first class if visiting Arundel, & I would certainly recommend the Norfolk to colleagues & friends

Reviewed by
Kathryn F

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next