No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Eden Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Bay Eden Arms Hotel Ferryhill, County Durham, DL17 0LL
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. The Eden Arms Hotel is also perfectly located with easy access to the A1, Beeamish, MetroCentre and so on
Picture of Eden Arms Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs mode updating
Lovely helpful friendly staff work here but the hotel needs updating,great pool,sauna but steam room out of action with no sign to say why the shower on the way out of the sauna didn't work fully. once we made our way up to our room we found it very old fashioned eg the old fashioned tv which buzzed more than a busy beehive. the decor was outdated. the shower head was broken but on the plus side the room was clean and the bed comfy. just watch for the squeaky floor boards if you're having a naughty weekend away wink wink ha.

Reviewed by
Jeff H

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Dank Place
From the outside, the hotel looks promising enough. Quite a bit of available parking within the ground of the hotel is a positive.
The service at the front desk was good enough. The person issuing the room key and stay details was pleasant and knowledgeable about the facilities.
I had booked for three nights at the Eden Hotel. However the biggest let downs were:
1) The room. A tiny, dank, hole of a room. Creaking floorboards, damp in the corner, and a one inch gap below the door, made for an uncomfortable nights stay. It was clean enough, but the room (and hotel) had a very tired and shabby feeling to it.
2) The food. I had an evening meal in the 'restaurant' downstairs. This was the most uninspiring trial of food I have ever eaten.
Due to it being late on the first night I had to stay the first night. I slept on what can best be described as a hardened fish finger of a bed. I promptly attended the front desk and cancelled my last two nights staying there.

Reviewed by
Mr P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
Great service and facilities. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
a pearson

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
I booked on line and was impressed how simple it was I drove up to Durham from Wiltshire and when I arrived at the hotel the staff were efficient and I did not have to wait around the young man showed me to my room and carried my case up the stairs - the only problem I could say that I was disappointing in was that there was no coffee in the room but on the whole it was value for money

Reviewed by
Anne Holmes

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent clean friendly hotel

Reviewed by
I Gregson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General Review
Staff were very considerate of my walking problem and always friendly and helpful. The bar meal I has was very good and well cooked. The hotel could do with a lift which would help older or less able folk to reach the bedrooms on the first floor. I do not know how they would cope with a wheelchair bound visitor as I do not ask.

Reviewed by
Richard Camp

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like me, good value if tired.
The room that I stayed in was comfortable but tired. In the room floorboards creaked and wallpaper was peeling from the walls in several places. However, the rate charged did offer good value for money.

Reviewed by
Alan G

From Holmfirth, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Experience at Eden Arms Hotel
Thought the service was great, I was traveling to attend a funeral and they prepared my room early so that I could attend in plenty of time. The room was clean and the food at breakfast was very nice as was the staff. Could recommend the hotel to anyone and will book there in the future, should I be in the area.

Reviewed by
William Thompson

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Urgent need of refurbishment
Room was quite sizable but had damp patches on the ceiling and around the (peeling) windows, and chairs were badly frayed, although the bed was very comfortable. Toiletries consisted of two small bars of soap. Although I was one of the first to breakfast (which starts at 8 so luckily I was in no hurry) some items were already running out, which in the case of the coffee would have been a blessing. In all cases the so-called budget chains do all these things so much better and at the same (or lower) price. Most staff are very friendly and doing their best but can clearly only make the best of what is available to them.

Reviewed by
David W

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel looking very tired and in need of a make over

Reviewed by
Brian T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next