No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Eden Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Bay Eden Arms Hotel Ferryhill, County Durham, DL17 0LL
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. The Eden Arms Hotel is also perfectly located with easy access to the A1, Beeamish, MetroCentre and so on
Picture of Eden Arms Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eden Arms Stay
After staying a week ago, the breakfast was small, the hotel was nice and warm through out the hotel. Breakfast team need to smile.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was nice and warm, breakfast poor
Staff need to smile at breakfast time.

Reviewed by
P Cunningham

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for the money, breakfast good but small portions, No tea /coffee in rooms. Carlsberg well over priced at £3.70p compared to around £2.00 in West Midlands
Above where minor irritations as generally everything was good

Reviewed by
G Moon

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality affordable accommodation
Good place to stay overnight. Visiting a friend nearby so didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel. The staff are welcoming and friendly. Room very clean and had everything we needed. Lots of character and very spacious. Service at breakfast was excellent. Plenty to eat, good choice for the cooked breakfast and extra toast and coffee too. Didn't take advantage of the swimming pool but it looked lovely and inviting. Would definitely stay again. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Dorothy F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful Experience
When I arrived at the Eden Arms they had no record of my booking. the spa area was very dirty and unhygienic. the steam room seemed to be powered by a boiling kettle. the stairs that ran over the pool were rusty, a lot of which had found itself in the pool. I did not see one staff member smile and the changing rooms resembled those of a Sunday league football team!

Reviewed by
Andrew Longstaff

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eden Arms Hotel
Required an overnight stay close to the site I was working at. First class all the way. Would recommended this hotel.

Reviewed by
Stephen T

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
A relaxing hotel,quite old fashioned (which I like).Rooms are very large & the staff are lovely.They couldn't do enough for you at reception My only downside would be the small breakfasts & limited choice of an evening.If you came down to dinner halfway through the allocated 1 hour slot!half of the options were not available.

Reviewed by
j glover

From bromborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs mode updating
Lovely helpful friendly staff work here but the hotel needs updating,great pool,sauna but steam room out of action with no sign to say why the shower on the way out of the sauna didn't work fully. once we made our way up to our room we found it very old fashioned eg the old fashioned tv which buzzed more than a busy beehive. the decor was outdated. the shower head was broken but on the plus side the room was clean and the bed comfy. just watch for the squeaky floor boards if you're having a naughty weekend away wink wink ha.

Reviewed by
Jeff H

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Dank Place
From the outside, the hotel looks promising enough. Quite a bit of available parking within the ground of the hotel is a positive.
The service at the front desk was good enough. The person issuing the room key and stay details was pleasant and knowledgeable about the facilities.
I had booked for three nights at the Eden Hotel. However the biggest let downs were:
1) The room. A tiny, dank, hole of a room. Creaking floorboards, damp in the corner, and a one inch gap below the door, made for an uncomfortable nights stay. It was clean enough, but the room (and hotel) had a very tired and shabby feeling to it.
2) The food. I had an evening meal in the 'restaurant' downstairs. This was the most uninspiring trial of food I have ever eaten.
Due to it being late on the first night I had to stay the first night. I slept on what can best be described as a hardened fish finger of a bed. I promptly attended the front desk and cancelled my last two nights staying there.

Reviewed by
Mr P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
Great service and facilities. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
a pearson

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next