No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbington Hotel Ltd

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
23 Hitchin Road, , , Stevenage, SG1 3BJ
The Abbington Hotel is a privately owned hotel situated three minutes from Stevenage Old Town. The hotel has a bar and restaurant and Twenty ensuite bedrooms. The restaurant offers a varied selection with daily specials most days. The hotel is located on the A602 less than a mile from Junction 8 (Stevenage North) on the A1(M). Nearby Stevenage High Street contains numerous shops, pubs and restaurants and there is a multiscreen cinema complex nearby. Luton Airport is 7 miles away and the stately Knebworth House, with its extensive gardens, is just 3 miles away. Generous parking is available at the front and rear of the hotel. Disabled facilities are available, with a ramped entrance and toilet available.
Picture of Abbington Hotel Ltd, Stevenage at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well presented hotel, lovely staff, rooms dated
The hotel looks really good on arrival, the staff are really friendly and keen to help. I arrived early and they were happy to put me into another (better) room as mine was not ready yet.
The bed is comfortable, the room is a little dated but fine, some of the fittings are a bit tired and there is no tv remote. In my room the flush was broken which was inconvenient, but they didn't put dinner on my bill. Consistent with the stay - good customer service but not really backed up by the hotel itself.
At the time this was the cheapest room in Stevenage, but still not great value in my opinion.
Staff 5/5
Hotel 3/5

Reviewed by
Simon C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only a one night stand!

Reviewed by
Linda W

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely room
The room was beautiful, decor of the room wasn't modern, but exceptionally clean and well kept. The bathroom looked brand new with excellent shower. Manager was quite quiet, left us to ourselves. Not very chatty, but that didn't bother us too much!

Reviewed by
Victoria W

From Beaconsfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and great value
The accommodation was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, even letting us check in after midnight (we were staying the night after a wedding) so really pleased about that. Would happily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short stay in stevenage and it's with close distance to the old town.

Reviewed by
Craig B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Served our purpose well
We choose this venue as it was in between our point of departure and our destination. We had a twin room which was quite small but we knew that when we booked and it was more than adequate for our night's stay. The hotel was in decent walking distance to the old town where there were plenty of places to eat and drink. Breakfast was okay but nothing exceptional, but plenty of choice. Lots of parking at the hotel and bed very comfortable and shower was just the job. Overall I would say that this hotel was very good value for money if you want a bed for the night with easy access to London.

Reviewed by
Robert G

From NORWICH, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its a shame
The potential for the hotel is amazing, but with unfinished paintwork, general clutter, and poor housekeeping in certain areas, makes the overall experience a less than average one.

Reviewed by
Michelle E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is what it is
A number of large family homes on one of the roads out of Stevenage have been turned into small hotels. This establishment is not a sterile, characterless hotel environment. The staff are friendly and accommodating, and the wifi works (which in Britain it often doesn't, because though advertised as a feature, it's 'free'). The rooms (based on the one I saw) are small and cosy. The hotel is close to Old Stevenage, which is an attractive enough village street of which there are about seven million examples in Britain. I didn't have the complimentary cooked breakfast so can't comment (good toast and lots of it though).

Reviewed by
David N

From Parkville, Australia
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great advert for independant hotels
As a frequent business traveller, I am happy to pass on the highest recommendation for the Abbington hotel Stevenage. Service is personal and all cooking is fresh and cooked to order. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms meet all requirements. Bar and food prices are surpisingly reasonable. The hotel is slightly remote but full, probably by satisfied repeat visitors

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.