No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dolphin Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Dolphin Hotel, 34 High Street, , Wincanton, BA9 9JF
The Dolphin Hotel is a well established hotel, restaurant and bar located in the heart of Wincanton just a short drive away from Wincanton Race Course and Golf Course, Haynes Motor Museum, Stourhead House and Gardens, Longleat Safari Park and Glastonbury Abbey. Renowned for its high level of Customer Service along with newly refurbished luxury bedrooms, The Dolphin Hotel in Wincanton is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for business or pleasure Our bedroom refurbishment is now complete and we are now able to offer superior bedrooms to our guests. The Dolphin Hotel Offers 12 newly refurbished, luxury, well presented bedrooms with a range of twin, double, single and family rooms. All our rooms are both characteristic and stylish, offering our guests a unique experience. All accommodation is fully equipped with en-suite bathrooms, remote control digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary toileteries.
Picture of Dolphin Hotel, Wincanton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

didnt look too impresive from outside but very comfortable beds and pillows. right in the heart of town not far from wincanton racecourse

Reviewed by
d flay

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs new stair carpet

Reviewed by
M Chandler

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money.
The room was more like a cupboard, no wardrobe just 3 hooks and 3 coat hangers, the only drawers were the ones in the bedside cabinets. The bed was very uncomfortable you could feel the springs. The toilet was a saniflo and all night all I could hear was the noise from all the other saniflo toilets flushing. There were a lot of contractors staying in the hotel and personally think that this is what the hotel is geared up for. On a plus side I must say how spotless the bedroom & bathroom were, along with the bedding & sheets. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

Reviewed by
JULIE G

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable accommodation but lacked a wardrobe and curtains

Reviewed by
G Gaudion

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but small
We stayed for 1 night in room 15. The room very clean, fresh bedding but small and basic. The ensuite had a saniflow toilet with a mind of its own, pump kept cutting in even though not in use, throughout the night, giving us a disturbed sleep!

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly service
Would stay again - an enjoyable trip made especially so by the friendly staff and good service.

Reviewed by
Paul Redwood

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming friendly hotel
Great place to stop over for the night. Friendly service, nice bedrooms with comfy bed. The bedrooms vary in size, so pot luck!
Breakfast was served across the courtyard in the old stables. Excellent full English, and we also had the carvery at lunchtime, and again, very nice.
The hotel was very busy and noisy when we returned Saturday evening, but as our bedrooms were at the back we were not disturbed, but could be a problem in different rooms!

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Holsworthy, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel
We had a fantastic stay at the dolphin hotel, the staff were lovely the rooms beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean also the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be staying there again wonderful atmosphere and wonderful hotel :-)

Reviewed by
laura w

From plymouth, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WHAT CAN I SAY
This hotel has a pub as part of it and i expected some noise up to 11pm - but no - i was still wide awake at 1,30am with local drunks banging around down in the bar. Quite simple - if you are a family or value your sleep - do not stay here. i was also told breakfast would not be served until 9,45am - we needed to be at Longleat by 10am - poor service - again the pub came first to the hotel guests

Reviewed by
d Henderson

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.