No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cavendish Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Belgrave Road , Torquay, TQ2 5HN
We have a really lovely hotel in the heart of Torquay, with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, licensed bar and entertainment, gardens, great food and a warm welcome. The beach is only 500m away, the Riviera International Conference Centre even closer, and the town centre is only a ten-minute walk or short bus ride away. Torquay is a wonderful place to visit and we are sure that if you come and stay with us you will have a marvellous holiday.
Picture of Cavendish Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms need a urgent makeover, very tired

Reviewed by
David C

From Chulmleigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

maxine & gary
very friendly and clean and would recommend

Reviewed by
MAXINE CARROLL

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter break
Staff were friendly & the hotel clean. The room was very dated and in desperate need of attention. The shower screen was hanging on by a screw & likely to fall off at any time. I thought the room was expensive seeing as breakfast wasn't included. The hotel offers room service but when we asked for this was told that they had run out. We were woken up at 7 two mornings in a row due to people talking outside our room whilst on there way out for their coach trip, I did complain & the staff member did offer a different room for the last night but it wasn't worth packing up for the last evening. I would stay here again but would not pay the amount I did.

Reviewed by
K Saunders

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most dated hotel i have ever had the misfortune to stay at .. from the outside it looks derelict.. a discrace to the riviera ..never again

Reviewed by
carl l

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain price, but high standards.
I was very pleased with my stay on a weekend break in Torquay. The staff were excellent, room comfortable and the breakfast 1st class.

Reviewed by
D Willey

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't judge the hotel by the online photos
If you expect to see what you see online, you may be disappointed. The hotel apparently suffered from the recent storms, but not until you get there do you get an apology for the unusable state of the outdoor pool and some of the rooms. The indoor pool is small and 4.5 feet depth, and when I used it one evening (the only person) I was accidentally locked in by the staff. My room was extremely over-heated, had to leave the window wide open all the time--and quite noisy at night as it was above the entertainment venue. Hotel is only rated with 2 stars but I'm surprised it got two!

Reviewed by
Deborah M

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
All ok

Reviewed by
Julian D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost perfect.
Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and beds comfortable and breakfast was very good value for money.
Unfortunately, the window did not shut properly so our room was very cold! When we put the rads on it did warm up fine but the curtains were still billowing! Shame because overall the stay would have been perfect for our needs.
I would stay again, simply because the customer service was excellent... just not in that room again!

Reviewed by
Katherine M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cavendish Hotel Torquay
The staff were very helpful and polite.
The rooms and accommodation were tired and in need of renovation, but still represented value for money.

Reviewed by
A Kelleher

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

refurbishment needed
The room we stayed in was shabby, damp, and ripped carpets and lino in the bathroom very outdated needs to be updated! The floorboards squeaked so much,we felt guilty for moving around in fear of disturbing other guests! Had to pay a returnable 10.00 fee for use of front door key, not explained when booking! Front door closed at 11.30 pm so had no choice but to pay for use of front door key! Maid service was provided, but so early it caused offence! we booked for two nights but left after one, as the room was not fit to stay in in our view! As we only experienced one room, this does not mean every room was the same!!!! This was our experience!!!!

Reviewed by
valerie c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next