Reviews - Cavendish Hotel


Belgrave Road, Torquay, TQ2 5HN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (20)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • F McGowan

  • August 2015

Better than.expected...

The staff and management were super helpful, genuinely courteous and friendly.

Bed was comfy although the room was a little worn. Late night snacks from the front of house were coeliac friendly and reasonably priced. Cans of Pepsi Max were quite expensive.

  • Terence J

  • August 2015

One night stay

Hotel was tired most everywhere.

Something could be done with the old front steps to give better kerb appeal. The main side entrance from the car park was like the tradesman's entrance. The pools were not easy to find. The indoor pool was just larger than a plunge pool. Small garden with play equipment for children was a good feature. Our room overlooked the side of the next building which was not good.

  • L Swallow

  • July 2015

never again

Difficulty to get any sleep due to the control of students and children running riot most of the night slamming doors, when complained to a staff member all I got was a comment that they can't control the young, more like can't be bothered.

  • Angela Renault

  • June 2015

Cavendish Hotel

Very friendly staff, excellent food and comfortable surroundings.

  • l nelson

  • May 2015

smelly room, black mould on walls, no TV in the morning

Needs money spent on rooms and better basic housekeeping, staff great

  • S Carter

  • May 2015

Lovely room

staff very friendly

  • darryl davies

  • March 2015

ok room, but shower was cold.

  • Neil McFarlane

  • February 2015

One night, one chap, one aim

I just wanted a nice, comfy, friendly place to lay my head for one night on the road - and the Cavendish provided it perfectly.

Friendly staff, comfortable and laid-back. Thanks.

  • s jones

  • August 2014

Big Brother

We booked this weekend away on-line, and it was not advertised that they were filming a Channel 4 documentary (The Hotel).

When we arrived there we found fixed cameras set up everywhere with microphones, which made us very wary of what we said or done (even near the pool areas)

They are filming for 5 weeks and if we had know we would never had booked. The hotel is a little dated and not worth the money but was probably nice in its day

  • David C

  • June 2014

Rooms need a urgent makeover, very tired