No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cavendish Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Belgrave Road , Torquay, TQ2 5HN
We have a really lovely hotel in the heart of Torquay, with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, licensed bar and entertainment, gardens, great food and a warm welcome. The beach is only 500m away, the Riviera International Conference Centre even closer, and the town centre is only a ten-minute walk or short bus ride away. Torquay is a wonderful place to visit and we are sure that if you come and stay with us you will have a marvellous holiday.
Picture of Cavendish Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

refurbishment needed
The room we stayed in was shabby, damp, and ripped carpets and lino in the bathroom very outdated needs to be updated! The floorboards squeaked so much,we felt guilty for moving around in fear of disturbing other guests! Had to pay a returnable 10.00 fee for use of front door key, not explained when booking! Front door closed at 11.30 pm so had no choice but to pay for use of front door key! Maid service was provided, but so early it caused offence! we booked for two nights but left after one, as the room was not fit to stay in in our view! As we only experienced one room, this does not mean every room was the same!!!! This was our experience!!!!

Reviewed by
valerie c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was really nice place to stay nice size rooms would stay again paid for the breakfast was very poor and wish I had not paid it ruined what was enjoy stay

Reviewed by
john p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money, nothing flash but comfortable
the chilli con carne was too hot but value for money

Reviewed by
John Parsons

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcomming staff and very helpful

Reviewed by
susan f

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel desperately in need of some TLC.

Reviewed by
Alan F

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant
pleased with the roomchange

Reviewed by
T Dean

From Cardiff, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what more could you want?.
Very pleasant staff and clean rooms. If you want 5 star luxury best look elsewhere but if you want value for money maybe this is the place for you.

Reviewed by
chris b

From Cinderford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cavendish hotel
Yes it could do with a lick of paint, better bedroom furniture and general updating but this is a huge hotel and I doubt if the cost could be justified in upgrading every part. However, I enjoyed my 3 night stay on B & B basis. The room was clean and the cooked breakfast a little small but well cooked. The best thing about this Hotel are the staff who are friendly and down to earth - not stuffy and are keen to accommodate you. Also the cost of £30 per night for hotel with indoor and outdoor pool is very good. If you like luxurious decor and 5 star accommodation don't go - but I would stay again and recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
david marshall

From Newent, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had no towels on first night. TV was unreliable - on/off consistently
A reasonably priced hotel but the service especially the TV was very poor.

Reviewed by
Ted Ludford

From Swindon, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at the cavendish for a weekend recently and was pleasantly surprised. We usualy stay at the Coppice, the cavendish beats the Coppice hands down. The room was great, staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble for them. The only thing i would give a very slight negative comment to is the full english breakfast, day 1 gave us fried bread, egg, and mushrooms and day two gave us bacon , beans and sausage.
I would reccomend this hotel to friends and family without any hesitation, needless to say my trips to the Coppice hotel will now cease.
Keep up the standards
Steve

Reviewed by
s brown

From Stroud, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2