No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Champneys Springs

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Gallows Lane Packington, ASHBY-DE-LA-ZOUCH, LE651TG
Reap the therapeutic benefits of the facilities within our tranquil surroundings, where you can relax in the mixed steam room, sauna, whirlpool or take a dip in the 25 metre swimming pool. You can also take advantage of our fully equipped air conditioned gym, or simply be pampered with the finest treatments and products from prestige beauty companies such as Elemis and Decleor or from our own exclusive Champneys Collection. We have free WIFI within the resort.

Please be advised that no persons under the age of 16 can be accommodated at Champneys. Wine is available to purchase with an evening meal, although we advise keeping alcohol consumption to a minimum due to the nature of spa treatments and facilities available.

Picture of Champneys Springs, ASHBY-DE-LA-ZOUCH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely bright airy room
Very warm helpful and welcoming staff and a surprisingly large room with doors opening onto a small patio area. Couldn't fault anything inside the room - really very nice. I just had a main course for dinner and it wasn't the best food, but for the price, acceptable. Breakfast offered fairly limited choices with a cooked breakfast only available at a supplement. The continental was fine for me, but I imagine some people would not have been very keen. As this was a work trip it was an unexpected bonus to be able to join in on one of the fitness classes. Sadly I didn't have time to use the pools etc, but overall excellent value for money and a relaxing place to stay for a single traveller.

Reviewed by
Helen P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value with late rooms...
... but wouldn't have wanted to pay full price! This was a last minute getaway for me and the husband - our first away without the kids so we were going to enjoy it no matter what! I loved the Champneys experience. Never been anywhere like this before so found it very surreal seeing people walking around / going to lunch / breakfast in their robes!
Check in was great apart from our host informing us that there was no record of our booking which was a little embarrassing. I complained to late rooms who confirmed that a booking confirmation was both faxed and emailed to the hotel. Just a break down in communication, can't be helped I suppose.
I found our room very quiet & peaceful but more of an outdated travel lodge style rather than a luxury resort but then we didn't pay very much so it was fine for what we paid. I'm hoping that full paying guests would have a more modern / luxury room. It was lovely & clean & the bed was very comfy. The pool was lovely as were the rest of the Spa facilities. We didn't have any treatments but may do next time.
Breakfast was lovely. Lots of choice & I didn't miss meat at all. My husband was a little disappointed that there wasn't any cooked breakfast other than boiled eggs but I loved the fresh fruit, fresh bread, cereals etc. more than enough and I left very full & feeling better than I would have done had I had a big fry up!
All in all I would definitely return to Champneys but only on a deal, I wouldn't want to pay the brochure price. I really enjoyed my stay, the staff were lovely and the place was very relaxing and chilled.

Reviewed by
S Green

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
Bathroom not cleaned properly.
Restaurant pricing not made clear . Nothing on menu but would seem to have a fixed price for 3 or 2 courses. Not explained anywhere.
Food poor. Understand they want to encourage healthy eating but to force that on guests was patronising . Wasn't clear until sat down. Capacity small so had to wait for a very late sitting. If I'd known the arrangements beforehand would have gone out somewhere and found better food and atmosphere. If you stay here eat somewhere else.
Breakfast on same 'healthy eating ' lines. Poor choice. What was offered on menu as a 'cooked' breakfast not appetising but service poor and it wasn't offered to me at all.
Pretty surroundings but not somewhere I'd ever want to go back to. Not impressed.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing
I enjoyed my stay at Champneys. As a business traveler it made a refreshing change to stay at a spar hotel and the pool and gym facilities made a welcome substitute for a bar and the healthy menu (especially the breakfast) a tonic compared to the usual steak/chips and full English fare.

Reviewed by
Paul J

From Egham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing night stay
I have stayed at this complex at champneys several times. Very relaxing and service at most times is very good. Rooms are clean and presentable, perhaps a little tired now. It surprised me that the complimentary toiletries are not Champneys??? Will gladly stay again!

Reviewed by
S Lynn

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ordered a basic single room and was upgraded to a superior double. Best value room I have ever had !!!
This place is special, but I would describe as a health spa rather than a hotel. There isn't even a bar !!

Reviewed by
Steve L

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel to relax and eat healthy
Friendliness and helpfulness of staff was excellent. The dinners were outstanding. I could just unwind and not feel stressed at all.

Reviewed by
R Kunzler

From Queensburgh, South Africa
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome place to unwind
Friendliness and helpfulness of staff was excellent. The dinners were outstanding. I could just unwind and not feel stressed at all.

Reviewed by
R Kunzler

From Queensburgh, South Africa
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
I just stayed for one night and I was blown away.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the place looked fantastic and the food well it tasted too good to be healthy
would defiantly go back and stay

Reviewed by
George Phillips

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful pampering experience
i have stayed at champneys springs many times. the quality of the stay gets better and better. The food and dining service is exemplary. the treatments are varied with some younger members of staff not having the same charm and dedication as the more experienced therapists. A member of our party had a 30 min massage only lasting 17 mins and a complementary treatment was much appreciated following complaint. the rooms are clean and comfortable with robes and flipflops included. Our rooms (71,73,75) were in need of refurbishment but this did not spoil our stay. The general feel is one of comfort and friendliness and i am looking forward to my next stay

Reviewed by
anne a

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next