Reviews - Champneys Springs


Gallows Lane Packington, ASHBY-DE-LA-ZOUCH, LE651TG

Price From 219.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Myles L

  • October 2015

Very good service & reception.

Pool & spa exceptional.

  • C Baker

  • April 2015

last minute break

not impressed this time.

we could not leave our luggage at reception and enjoy the pool etc because we arrived before the stated time. When we have visited before we have been able to do this even though we had booked through laterooms, this time there was a charge of £110 for us, unbelieveable,. we ended up driving to a local pub and having a meal which we did not really want to pass the time before we could book in. we could not even have a coffee at springs really not impressed. We were made to feel second class because we booked through an agency.

  • diane e

  • March 2015

friendly, good facilities, lovely location

  • Janie T

  • December 2014

Wonderful pool and spa

Booked at the last minute, excellent value at reduced rate, beautiful pool and spa facilities, joined the aquafit class before leaving and felt set up for the whole day.

Room fairly basic, however surrounding countryside views and spa more than made up for that.

  • Christopher S

  • November 2014

Fleeting stop

I arrived very late - warm welcome as the reception desk were expecting me to arrive.

Without prompt - they kindly went out of their way to provide route planner details on the leg of my journey - I have a sat nav but sometimes a bit of local knowledge is helpful particularly first thing in the morning during rush hour traffic. Facilities looked fantastic -i just wish i'd had time to make use of them. Very easy to find two minutes just off the A42, convenient. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. It was a very late booking for me so i managed to get an excellent room rate so great value.

  • Helen P

  • July 2014

Lovely bright airy room

Very warm helpful and welcoming staff and a surprisingly large room with doors opening onto a small patio area.

Couldn't fault anything inside the room - really very nice. I just had a main course for dinner and it wasn't the best food, but for the price, acceptable. Breakfast offered fairly limited choices with a cooked breakfast only available at a supplement. The continental was fine for me, but I imagine some people would not have been very keen. As this was a work trip it was an unexpected bonus to be able to join in on one of the fitness classes. Sadly I didn't have time to use the pools etc, but overall excellent value for money and a relaxing place to stay for a single traveller.

  • S Green

  • June 2014

Great value with late rooms...


but wouldn't have wanted to pay full price. This was a last minute getaway for me and the husband - our first away without the kids so we were going to enjoy it no matter what. I loved the Champneys experience. Never been anywhere like this before so found it very surreal seeing people walking around / going to lunch / breakfast in their robes.

Check in was great apart from our host informing us that there was no record of our booking which was a little embarrassing. I complained to late rooms who confirmed that a booking confirmation was both faxed and emailed to the hotel. Just a break down in communication, can't be helped I suppose.

I found our room very quiet & peaceful but more of an outdated travel lodge style rather than a luxury resort but then we didn't pay very much so it was fine for what we paid. I'm hoping that full paying guests would have a more modern / luxury room. It was lovely & clean & the bed was very comfy. The pool was lovely as were the rest of the Spa facilities. We didn't have any treatments but may do next time.

Breakfast was lovely. Lots of choice & I didn't miss meat at all. My husband was a little disappointed that there wasn't any cooked breakfast other than boiled eggs but I loved the fresh fruit, fresh bread, cereals etc. more than enough and I left very full & feeling better than I would have done had I had a big fry up. All in all I would definitely return to Champneys but only on a deal, I wouldn't want to pay the brochure price. I really enjoyed my stay, the staff were lovely and the place was very relaxing and chilled.

  • Paul J

  • May 2014


I enjoyed my stay at Champneys.

As a business traveler it made a refreshing change to stay at a spar hotel and the pool and gym facilities made a welcome substitute for a bar and the healthy menu (especially the breakfast) a tonic compared to the usual steak/chips and full English fare.

  • John C

  • May 2014

Very disappointing

Bathroom not cleaned properly.

Restaurant pricing not made clear . Nothing on menu but would seem to have a fixed price for 3 or 2 courses. Not explained anywhere.

Food poor. Understand they want to encourage healthy eating but to force that on guests was patronising . Wasn't clear until sat down. Capacity small so had to wait for a very late sitting. If I'd known the arrangements beforehand would have gone out somewhere and found better food and atmosphere. If you stay here eat somewhere else. Breakfast on same 'healthy eating ' lines. Poor choice. What was offered on menu as a 'cooked' breakfast not appetising but service poor and it wasn't offered to me at all. Pretty surroundings but not somewhere I'd ever want to go back to. Not impressed.

  • S Lynn

  • April 2014

Relaxing night stay

I have stayed at this complex at champneys several times.

Very relaxing and service at most times is very good. Rooms are clean and presentable, perhaps a little tired now. It surprised me that the complimentary toiletries are not Champneys??. Will gladly stay again!