Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
83% would recommend it to a friend
Burnthouse Farm Bed and Breakfast
We stayed in a beautiful, recently converted stable cottage.
The hosts made us very welcome and couldn't have done any more during our short stay. The setting was idyllic with views of horses from the kitchen window. The hosts recommended a place for food but fortunately they'd stopped serving so we spent the evening at The Packhorse Inn enjoying the atmosphere and the gorgeously fresh food that we had. Great location for seaside strolls (after a short car journey) or a relaxing visit to Glastonbury. Would highly recommend accommodation to anyone. Perfect retreat.
Large comfortable room.
Nice breakfast. Will stay here again.
The accomodation was excellent - real farmhouse experience!
reception very warm
Did not live up to expectations!
This property is self classified as 4star B&B.
The hosts were very welcoming when we arrived and I had high hopes. However, on being shown to our room, I was disappointed to find very tatty mis-matched cheap furniture, non-matching bedlinen, worn towels, tv remote held together with tape, cobwebs and spiders in the corners, dirty rotten windowframes desperately in need of a coat of paint.. The wardrobe was full of spare bedding as were the drawers - no room to hang anything. Not a good start but as we were only there for one night I was prepared to overlook. On going down for breakfast we found ourselves on a table with 6 others and a baby. The table was covered in a plastic tablecloth clipped down to disguise the fact that it was a piece of hardboard, presumably to make the table bigger. An assortment of self service cereals was offered, most in the manufacturers boxes, plus a bowl of tinned grapefruit, nothing else, not even yoghurt. Coffee was in a jug alongside the cereal which we had to go and get ourselves - it ran out and we had to ask for more. There was a jug of orange juice on the table. The 'full english' breakfast consisted of a fried egg, rasher of bacon, third of a tomato, couple of mushrooms and two sausages. Toast, butter and jam were provided also. I would not give this accommodation more than 2-3 stars at most and assume they thought they deserved more as there were stables and a swimming pool in the garden which was open between 4 and 6pm. They also had 3 dogs which seemed to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. The hosts themselves were very friendly and welcoming and obviously considered they were doing a good job. However, when I told her where we had been for our evening meal, she said she wouldn't go there. This was an overnight stop on our journey down to Cornwall
In my opinion, not up to standard and expensive for what it was.
Response from hotel
In answer to this review, we were most upset re the comments made, as most people seem very happy when staying with us.
I would like to comment on a few remarks..as regards to the cupboard being full of spare bedding, the reason for this is the weather at present has been so hot and I have taken the heavy overcovers off which were placed inside the cupboard along with spare pillows if needed by the guests..there are empty drawers available for overnight belongings and hanging space available.
As regards to the windows in need of repair or paint. They were all replaced only last year. The beds do have matching duvets one single and one super king size. We do live in the country, and we have creepers on the outside walls of the house, so sometimes spiders may escape our view, but daily check and hoover the corners of the rooms, the windows are open most times now due to the weather..so one or two may have escaped our notice. We will be more vigilant now.
Only in our busy summer time do we make the table larger to accommodate big parties who all like to eat at the same time. Also we can offer a wider range of times for the guests to choose hence the plastic top on the large table. The smaller table has a white linen one. The coffee is freshly percolated, (which many guests comment on the good quality of taste)..If it should run out we are happy to quickly replace or offer filtered coffee to the individual guest which we did on this occasion. As regards to the grapefruit it has been a strong favourite by many returning guests. We have tried Yogurt but only to throw away after a day or two. If guests stay more than a day or two, and request them we are happy to purchase them. Most guests have commented on our breakfasts which are freshly cooked how nice they are.
As regards to the timing for the swimming pool, this is for insurance reasons and we feel this timing is the best for guests after check in or a long tiring journey. It is a good time to relax in the pool. We are of course flexible and if people arrive late due to traffic hold ups, we are happy for the pool to stay open a little longer, enabling guests to relax before going out to dine.
Re the remark made about going to the local Pub to eat, which we highly recommend, I said we are unable to go as we are so busy at present, NOT we would not want to go.
We stayed in a large room with a king sized bed and a single for our son.
The room was clean and the beds were extremely comfortable There was a small ensuite, perfectly adequate. Breakfast was cooked to order in the morning. We enjoyed our stay along with a tasty meal in the local pub.