Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Mark Hotels > Burnthouse Farm Bed and Breakfast
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Burnthouse Farm Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Burnthouse Farm, Yarrow Road, Mark, Highbridge, TA9 4LR
Welcome to Burnt House Farm Bed and Breakfast (B & B). This stunning property lies in acres of beautiful countryside and offers fantastic views. Situated in the picturesque village of Mark, we are only 10 miles from Bridgwater, 4 miles from Burnham On Sea, Brean, Highbridge and 8 miles from cheddar. Weston Super Mare is only a 12 mile drive away. Why not hire some of our Bikes we are the perfect location from which to explore all that the surrounding areas have to offer; nice easy Somerset levels. We also have some nice pubs nearest is The White Horse which allows dogs in the main Bar. Then we have The Pack Horse. Burnt House B & B occupies a fine rural location on the Somerset level near Burnham on Sea in a quiet country lane located towards the outskirts of the village which offers a post office, general stores, a garage and two public houses. Uniquely we can offer stabling for guests' horses as well as a grazing area. We are only a ten minute drive from the beach and the moors which both offer excellent rides. We are a Bed and Breakfast which offer Bristol Ground School Cadets accomadation at a reduced rate when staying for the 12 day course. For our cadets we offer a evening meal which most fine very helpful and saves time. What we offer for our cadets is free wi-fi a study desk and a desk light. Our house is situated in the country offering peace and quiet,for long study hours.
Picture of Burnthouse Farm Bed and Breakfast, Highbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accomodation was excellent - real farmhouse experience!

Reviewed by
stefan g

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reception very warm
Good

Reviewed by
B ADEDEJI

From ibafo, Nigeria
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did not live up to expectations!
This property is self classified as 4star B&B. The hosts were very welcoming when we arrived and I had high hopes. However, on being shown to our room, I was disappointed to find very tatty mis-matched cheap furniture, non-matching bedlinen, worn towels, tv remote held together with tape, cobwebs and spiders in the corners, dirty rotten windowframes desperately in need of a coat of paint.. The wardrobe was full of spare bedding as were the drawers - no room to hang anything. Not a good start but as we were only there for one night I was prepared to overlook. On going down for breakfast we found ourselves on a table with 6 others and a baby. The table was covered in a plastic tablecloth clipped down to disguise the fact that it was a piece of hardboard, presumably to make the table bigger. An assortment of self service cereals was offered, most in the manufacturers boxes, plus a bowl of tinned grapefruit, nothing else, not even yoghurt. Coffee was in a jug alongside the cereal which we had to go and get ourselves - it ran out and we had to ask for more. There was a jug of orange juice on the table. The 'full english' breakfast consisted of a fried egg, rasher of bacon, third of a tomato, couple of mushrooms and two sausages. Toast, butter and jam were provided also.
I would not give this accommodation more than 2-3 stars at most and assume they thought they deserved more as there were stables and a swimming pool in the garden which was open between 4 and 6pm!
They also had 3 dogs which seemed to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.
The hosts themselves were very friendly and welcoming and obviously considered they were doing a good job. However, when I told her where we had been for our evening meal, she said she wouldn't go there! This was an overnight stop on our journey down to Cornwall
In my opinion, not up to standard and expensive for what it was.

ManagementResponse

In answer to this review, we were most upset re the comments made, as most people seem very happy when staying with us. I would like to comment on a few remarks..as regards to the cupboard being full of spare bedding, the reason for this is the weather at present has been so hot and I have taken the heavy overcovers off which were placed inside the cupboard along with spare pillows if needed by the guests..there are empty drawers available for overnight belongings and hanging space available. As regards to the windows in need of repair or paint. They were all replaced only last year. The beds do have matching duvets one single and one super king size. We do live in the country, and we have creepers on the outside walls of the house, so sometimes spiders may escape our view, but  daily check and hoover the corners of the rooms, the windows are open most times now due to the weather..so one or two may have escaped our notice. We will be more vigilant now. Only in our busy summer time do we make the table larger to accommodate big parties who all like to eat at the same time. Also we can offer a wider range of times for the guests to choose hence the plastic top on the large table. The smaller table has a white linen one.  The coffee is freshly percolated, (which many guests comment on the good quality of taste)..If it should run out we are happy to quickly replace or offer filtered coffee to the individual guest which we did on this occasion.  As regards to the grapefruit it has been a strong favourite by many returning guests. We have tried Yogurt but only to throw away after a day or two. If guests stay more than a day or two, and request them we are happy to purchase them. Most guests have commented on our breakfasts which are freshly cooked how nice they are. As regards to the timing for the swimming pool, this is for insurance reasons and we feel this timing is the best for guests after check in or a long tiring journey. It is a good time to relax in the pool. We are of course flexible and if people arrive late due to traffic hold ups, we are happy for the pool to stay open a little longer, enabling guests to relax before going out to dine. Re the remark made about going to the local Pub to eat, which we highly recommend, I said we are unable to go as we are so busy at present, NOT we would not want to go.

Reviewed by
D McKay

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Overnighter
We stayed in a large room with a king sized bed and a single for our son. The room was clean and the beds were extremely comfortable There was a small ensuite, perfectly adequate. Breakfast was cooked to order in the morning. We enjoyed our stay along with a tasty meal in the local pub.

Reviewed by
Nichola w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My excellent stay at Burnthouse farm
Burnthouse farm is one of the best B&B we have stayed at carmen and james are friendly and always ready to help the food is 100% me and my family all enjoyed the breakfast they served to us we would defiantly be staying there again

Reviewed by
alan guy

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic stay at Burnthouse Farm,
A big thank you to Carmen and Steve who gave us a very warm and friendly welcome and could not do enough for us. I stayed with a child and we were well looked after. My daughter also stayed with her two young children and they were also made very welcome. The room was lovely and comfy, large and clean with doors to the lovely garden. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety and great service.
The pool was available for us to use which was lovely.
This is a lovely farm house in a beautiful part of the country. I can not praise it enough and cannot wait to stay again.

Reviewed by
P Jones

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location to stay with friendly, helpful hosts
Added bonus of swimming pool. Quiet location and comfortable room

Reviewed by
J Read

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Break Short Stay
Stayed at Burnthouse Farm B&B, very warm reception on arrival, shown to our room which was very clean and well equipped. Room had 2 bedrooms which slept 5 if required. Excellent for families with older kids. Swimming pool available and plenty of garden area to relax and unwind. Breakfast was excellent and personal service made it better.
Would recommend a stay here for a quiet country break when visiting the area.

Reviewed by
lee k

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I will come back
A really once place for a short stay, the owners could not do enough for us, we were there for a golf completion we will all come back next year without fail. A must place to come to .

Reviewed by
Andy R

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation and lovely people who own the Burnthouse farm, we stayed fir 2 nights and thouroughly enjoyed our stay it was like home from home. Thank you

Reviewed by
M Shellhorn

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next