No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smithys Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
417 HAGLEY ROAD , BIRMINGHAM, B17 8BL
Just 3 miles from Birmingham centre, Smithys Hotel offers free parking. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and breakfast is available daily. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel is a 5-minute drive from New Street Station.

The cosy bedrooms all have a private en-suite bathrooms. All rooms have work desks, free tea and coffee facilities are also provided complimentary for guests.

Breakfast is served daily in the pleasant dining room.

Situated in residential Edgbaston, Smithys Hotel is 20 minutes’ drive from the NEC. Birmingham International Airport is just 12 miles away and Birmingham’s central Bullring Shopping area is less than 10 minutes’ drive.
Picture of Smithys Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
35% recommended this accommodation to a friend 39% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Moved to different hotel
Moved to a different hotel upon check in
Free parking, freeview tv..
Hot water took a while, average stay

Reviewed by
D S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another..
They always have a "problem with the room," and they always redirect to the Norfolk Hotel, providing that it is a hotel with a better standard. In Norkfolk Hotel, you have to ask for the wifi's password EVERY DAY !. They can not provide you with a list of passwords, but every day you have to ask them about it. Note that there is no internal phone to contact reception! In the 21st century!

Reviewed by
Maciek Z

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked into this hotel, when i got there, I was told the hotel has booked me into another hotel , which was nearby, but not what i expected.

Reviewed by
Frederick W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did not stay at smithys hotel
I was directed to another hotel (the Norfolk hotel) on arrival at smithys. The Norfolk is a lovely hotel and ideal for what i wanted. Good clean rooms at a fantastic price. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay ( the Norfolk hotel)

Reviewed by
Anthony Hoey

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was not what I was expected

Reviewed by
Nasir Ali

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go to the Smithy!
We were transferred to another hotel as the Smithy didn't cater for disabled. The Smithy was obviously a home for unmarried mothers as there were pushchairs all over and also a stack of dirty matresses piled up outside. It also badly needed painting and did not look very clean. The Norfolk hotel was being renovated but at least it was clean and the staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
M Cochrane

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really awful place. Outside the place it looks terrible and you walk into the reception and it's worse. I was relieved that when I walked in the manager told me that I would be transferred to a neighbour hotel (this is without me asking). Needs a lot of work but the manager is obviously aware and was extremely honest.

Reviewed by
M McHugh

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family visiting
Everything was satisfactory

Reviewed by
brian whitaker

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Confusing
I turned up at smithys to be told to travel down the road to Norfolk hotel 5 mins drive extra.
To be honest Norfolk hotel looked 10x better than smithys
I did pay £25 and the hotel room was very clean and modern. However turning up looked a little confusing, dark and mess in lift. Didn't feel to safe but all was ok.
Norfolk hotel has potential to be very nice but needs to improve the entrance environment

Reviewed by
Debbie H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome to beruit
I arrived to the smyths hotel to be told curtly you late rooms or booking dot com ? Late rooms. Ok you down road half mile at Norfolk ! Ok so I went with some concern as the Smyths was on the outset very poor , I was sadly correct the Norfolk was clean but it ends there it spears to have had very little spent on its appearance . It could well be the poorest hotel I have ever stayed in and urge late rooms not to send anyone there i know that it was £20 but the state of the building was totally unacceptable

Reviewed by
R Heath

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next