No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Hither Green Lane Dagnell End Road, Redditch, B98 9BE
The Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa in Redditch, Worcestershire, is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate that once belonged to the now ruined local Abbey. Being located in Redditch, just South of Birmingham, off the M42 junction 2, the hotel is conveniently located to access Birmingham Airport and Birmingham NEC. The Abbey Hotel has established itself as a leading 4 star venue, where very few other hotels can summon such an atmosphere of total relaxation and tranquillity.

The Abbey boasts 100 contemporary bedrooms with many offering stunning views of the hotel grounds. The Rooftop Penthouse Suites give you the best view in town over acres of golf course and countryside. There are many wonderful activities onsite including the superb Health Club and Spa. Plunge into the refreshing waters of the indoor heated swimming pool, be still in the steam room, sink into the warm spa bath and rest in the sauna. You may also choose to use the gymnasium or pamper yourself with a spa treatment using divine products by Dermalogica. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole golf course onsite, which regularly hosts county matches and high profile corporate days. If you do not have the time to play a round, practice your swing on the 2 storey 28 bay floodlit driving range, open everyday.

Enjoy two dining experiences, including; fine dining in the Bramblings Restaurant and pub classics in Tawnys Bar and terrace, offering glorious views of the 18th fairway. The Abbey is a first class business and meeting venue, providing conferencing facilities able to serve up to 180 delegates. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway and transport network, delegates will enjoy conducting business here.

The picturesque setting makes it a perfect venue for weddings, providing a complete package for wedding receptions, civil ceremonies and partnerships. The wedding coordinators will be able to advise you on every tiny detail to ensure you have the perfect day of your dreams.
Picture of Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, Redditch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why only 4 - breakfast
I never give fill marks when breakfast is not cooked to order

Reviewed by
T Hurley

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would have been perfect, if it wasn't for the noise!
We stayed here as a weekend just to get away so my wife could use the spa and I could play golf.
Firstly I'd like to say that there are so many things that this hotel has going for it:
- Lovely rooms
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Excellent food
- Nice golf course
However, it is the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in! We were put into the Leamington room on the Friday night and at 10:30pm the disco started at the function in the room below. The noise was ridiculous and could be heard all down the corridors. We called reception who sent the duty manager to our room who agreed that this was not acceptable and moved us to the Study room for the night. This room was lovely with a balcony, but it was right at the top of the stairs above reception so you could hear people coming and going all night, and then were woken 8am prompt by the breakfast crowd. I have two questions about the hotels logic on this:
1. Why put a couple in the room above a function when their are other rooms available?
2. Why put a premium room next to one of the busiest parts of the hotel?
The following day I played golf (which was great) and my wife used the spa. Again, a complete breakdown of logic on the part of the hotel owners as the 'relaxation' rooms are right next to the bar! All my wife could hear during her 'relaxing' massage was a bunch of rowdy golfers watching the rugby.
We were back in the Leamington on Saturday night where we had been left a bottle of fizz and some chocolates for our trouble which was very nice of the hotel, and there was no function so we were able to sleep. But we were woken by very loud golfers at 7:30am on the first tee, then at 10am our room was physically shaking with someone obviously moving furniture around. So much for a relaxing Sunday morning.
We both felt that it was a real shame as noise spoilt our stay and everything else had been brilliant. The only way I could stay at this hotel again would be if I could be very specific about the part of the hotel my room was in.

Reviewed by
M Yarranton

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a golfer
I stayed at this hotel in November 2013, on the whole as a business traveller I found the hotel nice and comfy, feather pillows were supplied that I asked for which was a massive plus for me. I did get a wakeup call I did not ask for the following morning. The bathroom did smell a bit of stagnant water and the TV remote was missing and the fan had no cord to turn it off so it meant jumping on the bed and trying not to get decapitated whilst trying to turn it off, they have really horrible hairdryers which are attached to the desk and you have to keep your finger on the button so my advice would be bring one if you are staying.

Reviewed by
Mandy-Jane B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Abbey has some beautiful rooms and some old fashioned ones. I've stayed before and had a beautiful room, but this one was a little twee, although clean and comfortable. The food in the evening was delicious as was the wine however the breakfast buffet was messy. Hit or miss probably depending on how busy they are. Reception staff were very pleasant and efficient and overall the stay was good but over priced.

Reviewed by
S Macleod

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent all round family orientated hotel
We recently enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Abbey Hotel. The pupose of our stay was to celebrate our daughter's birthday & also visit the nearby West Midlands Safari Park. The staff were all very polite and helpful. I have only rated the quality of room a 4 because the window in our room (no 18) was very draughty (wooden windows could do with an upgrade to upvc) and the bed wasn't made that well ie part of the mattress was showing towards the top of the bed near the headboard. The room was nice and clean though. The breakfast selection was very varied and the option to have a poached egg on request was welcomed! The girls's also enjoyed their time in the swimming pool and jacuzzi!!!!!

Reviewed by
S Watson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
We planned a last minute break for the family and apart from the weather everything was exceptional from start to finish. Late rooms was very easy to use and conformation was instant. Room was a good size and the beds were sooooo comfy we all had an excellent nights sleep. We had a small issue with the z bed which was changed straight away. The staff were polite and curtious with food to die for and facilities to keep all family members occupied.
Without doubt the best all round experience we have had and the customers service levels are ones that others could learn a lot from!

Reviewed by
S Mortlock

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a fantastic room with a view over the golf course. The staff very friendly and efficient and the food was excellent. I would certainly go back on business as well with the family.

Reviewed by
P Anderson

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We slept in a bed.wow.
We had a great stay. The Spa facilities were good. However the pool was busy at times. They should inform of any classes running whilst you stay as there was children's swimming lessons and aqua aerobics when we wanted to use the complimentary spa facilities. The bedroom was tidy and comfortable. Customer services were excellent throughout our stay.

Reviewed by
N Chamberlain

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel at reasonable price
Room was huge
Breakfast was excellent
Sports Bar has good atmosphere and good food if your eating on your own
Friendly reception staff

Reviewed by
Don A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
The Hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking. Room was spacious and clean and the bathroom had a separate shower cubicle (no shower cap!). It took 3 attempts to order room service before the phone was answered, dialled reception and that was also unanswered so called from my mobile! May just have been a busy time?! Room service arrived in the specified time however I found a piece of shredded plastic in the salad, so did not eat it all, part of the dessert was missing and when replacing the heat retaining dome back on the plate there was congealed food on the outside. Unable to raise with the hotel at the point of discovery as I was on a call to US. Raised with Reception at check out and they did cancel the food charge.

Reviewed by
E Simms

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next