Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury


The Old Gate Vintage Inn, 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury, CT1 3EL

Price From 135.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • alan r

  • March 2015

Inn to Dover.15-20minutes.

What more can I say.

We keep comming back.

  • C H

  • October 2014

Very pleasant overnight stay

Nice room, good night's sleep, good breakfast

  • Chris H

  • September 2014

Very pleasant overnight stay

Comfortable, quiet, clean with good food (dinner in particular was very good).

Would stay there again. Would serve as a good base for exploring Canterbury as it is close to a Park and Ride site (driving through Canterbury was a nightmare). Also well placed for exploring the local area away from Canterbury.

  • Trevor H

  • September 2014

This is an excellent property, modern rooms, old style pub and restaurant below.

  • Russell B

  • August 2014

one nighter

Transit, one night stop-over on our way to to the continent.

Typical small Inn, good for a one night stop-over. Shower was slightly mouldy so we deducted something for this. The staff were friendly though and did a decent Job. The food here was nice and the local beers and the wine were fine.

  • Heather Smith

  • July 2014

experience of stay

A very hot weekend so not being able to open the windows fully was a real problem.

As it was also a room close to the road,it was very noisy and I feel we could have been warned of this or we could have been put in a room on the other side as we booked in December!

  • michael rose

  • July 2014

nice hotel ,great location next to the park and ride for easy access to Canterbury, we arrived late in the evening and got settled in then went down to the bar ,although it was nearly 2200 hrs they still managed to serve us food.

  • Jeffrey Dent

  • July 2014

A good Inn on the edge of Canterbury

We've used IKLs before but the welcome here was very warm and welcoming.

I was a bit fussy about the buzzing from a nearby bit of kitchen equipment but we were given another room with no question. This was good customer service. A bit further out of town than I had realised, but a pleasant and easy walk in/out. For the money a very good choice.

  • R Snook

  • May 2014

Very helpful staff

The check in, restaurant and at breskfast, staff were very polite and helpful.

Powerful shower. Buffet breakfast ok but nothing special. Loo had not been flushed, so therefore I imagine not cleaned!

  • Michael Probert

  • May 2014

Review of Stay in Inn Keepers Lodge Canterbury

The hotel is steeped in history and was well worth the visit and was good value for money My only comments is that they understate the historic value of the property and more information around the building of this type would only enhance the experience.

We would visit again if in the area