No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Old Gate Vintage Inn, 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury, CT1 3EL
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.

With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it’s the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there’s so much to see and do you won’t want to put your feet up for too long.

Canterbury is one of England’s most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant six-minute stroll away. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.

There’s plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable.
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant overnight stay
Nice room, good night's sleep, good breakfast

Reviewed by
C H

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant overnight stay
Comfortable, quiet, clean with good food (dinner in particular was very good). Would stay there again.
Would serve as a good base for exploring Canterbury as it is close to a Park and Ride site (driving through Canterbury was a nightmare). Also well placed for exploring the local area away from Canterbury.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is an excellent property, modern rooms, old style pub and restaurant below.

Reviewed by
Trevor H

From Canada
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one nighter
Transit, one night stop-over on our way to to the continent. Typical small Inn, good for a one night stop-over. Shower was slightly mouldy so we deducted something for this. The staff were friendly though and did a decent Job. The food here was nice and the local beers and the wine were fine.

Reviewed by
Russell B

From Germany
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

experience of stay
A very hot weekend so not being able to open the windows fully was a real problem.
As it was also a room close to the road,it was very noisy and I feel we could have been warned of this or we could have been put in a room on the other side as we booked in December!

Reviewed by
Heather Smith

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel ,great location next to the park and ride for easy access to Canterbury, we arrived late in the evening and got settled in then went down to the bar ,although it was nearly 2200 hrs they still managed to serve us food.

Reviewed by
michael rose

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good Inn on the edge of Canterbury
We've used IKLs before but the welcome here was very warm and welcoming. I was a bit fussy about the buzzing from a nearby bit of kitchen equipment but we were given another room with no question. This was good customer service.
A bit further out of town than I had realised, but a pleasant and easy walk in/out. For the money a very good choice.

Reviewed by
Jeffrey Dent

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff
The check in, restaurant and at breskfast, staff were very polite and helpful.
Powerful shower.
Buffet breakfast ok but nothing special.
Loo had not been flushed, so therefore I imagine not cleaned!

Reviewed by
R Snook

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Stay in Inn Keepers Lodge Canterbury
The hotel is steeped in history and was well worth the visit and was good value for money
My only comments is that they understate the historic value of the property and more information around the building of this type would only enhance the experience.
We would visit again if in the area

Reviewed by
Michael Probert

From Torrevieja, Spain
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

long walk to the inn
If you arrive in Canterbury by train, the inn is a long walk away. My advice would be to catch the No16 bus as it stops at the Park and Ride which is next door to the Inn.

Reviewed by
A Wright

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next