No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Old Gate Vintage Inn, 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury, CT1 3EL
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.

With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it’s the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there’s so much to see and do you won’t want to put your feet up for too long.

Canterbury is one of England’s most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant six-minute stroll away. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.

There’s plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable.
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

experience of stay
A very hot weekend so not being able to open the windows fully was a real problem.
As it was also a room close to the road,it was very noisy and I feel we could have been warned of this or we could have been put in a room on the other side as we booked in December!

Reviewed by
Heather Smith

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel ,great location next to the park and ride for easy access to Canterbury, we arrived late in the evening and got settled in then went down to the bar ,although it was nearly 2200 hrs they still managed to serve us food.

Reviewed by
michael rose

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good Inn on the edge of Canterbury
We've used IKLs before but the welcome here was very warm and welcoming. I was a bit fussy about the buzzing from a nearby bit of kitchen equipment but we were given another room with no question. This was good customer service.
A bit further out of town than I had realised, but a pleasant and easy walk in/out. For the money a very good choice.

Reviewed by
Jeffrey Dent

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff
The check in, restaurant and at breskfast, staff were very polite and helpful.
Powerful shower.
Buffet breakfast ok but nothing special.
Loo had not been flushed, so therefore I imagine not cleaned!

Reviewed by
R Snook

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Stay in Inn Keepers Lodge Canterbury
The hotel is steeped in history and was well worth the visit and was good value for money
My only comments is that they understate the historic value of the property and more information around the building of this type would only enhance the experience.
We would visit again if in the area

Reviewed by
Michael Probert

From Torrevieja, Spain
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

long walk to the inn
If you arrive in Canterbury by train, the inn is a long walk away. My advice would be to catch the No16 bus as it stops at the Park and Ride which is next door to the Inn.

Reviewed by
A Wright

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Innkeepers Lodge review
We chose this accommodation as we stayed here last year. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly, the only criticism that I have is that the room was to hot and even thought the radiator wasn't on in the bedroom we had to sleep with the window open and first thing in the morning the traffic woke us. The continental breakfast is basic but plenty of it. On the plus side the food in the restaurant on a lunch time and evening is very nice but the drinks are expensive it cost us over £8.00 for a wine and a coke. The park and ride into Canterbury is just a short walk round the corner so is very convenient. Overall a nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
C ECCLES

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay as always
We have stayed here before and are never disappointed. Convenient location for travelling (Park and Ride next door if you want the city) and a lovely old building. The accommodation would benefit from a bit of touching up here and there, but it is excellent value for money and staff are always very helpful and polite.
I had asked for the menu and was told about a couple of specials, but decided to eat elsewhere due to apparent lack of vegetarian choices. I found out when I mentioned this the following day that they had a large number of vegetarian choices, but this was not mentioned, so a great shame. I am sure if they promote these, more people will ask for them!
Love staying here and will stay again!

Reviewed by
D A

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canterbury stopover
A cosy inn full of character, that felt really homely. The staff were friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to meet our requirements regarding breakfast, as we were unable to eat at the set times due to commitments in Canterbury. The evening meals and Sunday lunch were excellent value, and had some unusual items on the menu. A good location for visiting the centre of Canterbury, as it is located on both a bus route, and next door to one of the park and ride sites ( although they are closed on Sunday ). We will certainly use this hotel again when visiting our son at university.

Reviewed by
Alix P

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, poor breakfast
Nice room. Close to the road, which means some may find it noisy, but we both slept well. Mouldy muffins, leather croissants, tired margarine, set runny honey, other people's debris left lying around. Good coffee, good choice of cereals, friendly waitress.

Reviewed by
Pete Burgess

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next