Reviews - The Metropolitan


13 Esplanade, ,, Whitley Bay, NE26 2AH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (15)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Alan Crawshaw

  • July 2015

Super guest house

The Metropolitan looked nothing special from the outside but our impressions were transformed as soon as Stephen opened the door to a warm welcome and took our bikes to lock them away securely for the night.

Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, all the fittings were top quality and there was comprehensive guest information. Stephen recommended places to eat which was really useful. After a comfortable and quiet night's sleep, a great breakfast set us up for our ride to Durham.

  • andrew j

  • July 2015

excellent B&B, but room a bit of a dud this time . . .

I stayed at the metropolitan in June 2014 for a week.

it was one of the best rooms and offered some of the best breakfasts I've ever had in any B&B in this country, so I came back for a week in July 2015. I was in a different room this time, with a poky and awkwardly laid-out bathroom that had a shower that flooded and was difficult to control. also paper-thin walls meant noise from neighbouring rooms, though it was quite easy to mask this if you don't mind sleeping with the bathroom fan on. breakfasts, location and cleanliness outstanding as ever though.

  • Paul C

  • June 2015

Excellent all round place to stay

Very smart and friendly place to stay.

Everything was spot on. Great breakfast.

  • F Logan

  • April 2015

The Metropolitan

Would definitely recommend The Metropolitan.

The owners went out of their way to make us welcome. The breakfast was lovely and the rooms were comfortable, stylish and spotlessly clean. We were sadly down in Whitley Bay for a funeral and heading home after the service. the owners said we could leave all our belongings in our room until we were ready to leave giving us a chance to get changed after the service not something you would get in many places.

  • Craig S

  • December 2014

Very Nice, worth looking at, better presented than some other alternatives in area

A very nice b&b, very welcoming, very clean, lovely breakfast.

Easy access on street parking close to town centre and sea front.

  • Timothy Moule

  • October 2014

Great little B and B

Checked in at 2pm and was shown up to our room by the owner who was very pleasant and informative.

The room was of good size and very very clean. The bed was very comfortable also. On our way out that evening the owner said that if we wanted to bring back a take away we could either eat in the dining room or even take it up to our room as there was a table in the room to eat it on. He even provided plates and cutlery for this. This is the first time I have known guest houses let you do this and I think it is a good thing because sometimes you do not want to eat at an earlier time in the restaurants. In the morning the breakfast was really tasty and plenty of it if you wanted it.

  • Glenn House

  • September 2014

Very happy customer

Very happy with my 2 night stay.

Definitely 4.5/5 not less. Friendly and courteous owners, top notch breakfast, quality modern rooms. Just a couple of niggles: Typically the wash basin was small for shaving, the internet took a little while to kick in, and a couple of marks on the bed cover could have been spotted. Make no mistake I would stay here again. Once the internet started it was a fast and reliable connection. The bed was very comfy and the large flat screen TV is also good when you near to relax at the end of a hard day :) Tea, coffee making facilities in your room, free mints, polish, cotton buds and shampoo that actually lathers up without a sponge, wow. Very happy customer

  • neil h

  • September 2014

Could not fault it

Friendly and helpful staff, high quality rooms and breakfast as good as any five star hotel I've stayed in.

Will definitely visit again next time I'm in the north east.

  • J READ

  • August 2014

Fantastic Stay

Family room on the top floor was fabulous.

Shower was a little variable in temperature but I suspect that was user error. Beds were really comfortable, and breakfast was the best breakfast I have had at a B&B for a very long time. Well done!

  • olatayo o

  • August 2014

Clean modern and cosy

Very friendly welcome and clean hotel