No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Metropolitan

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
13 Esplanade, , , Whitley Bay, NE26 2AH
At The Metropolitan, we take pride in providing our guests with high quality accommodation and service. The Metropolitan bed and breakfast is highly recommended on all review sites and currently voted the number 1 place to stay in Tyne & Wear on Trip Advisor. The accommodation is furnished with modern facilities, there is free wireless internet through out, all rooms are en suite and the room facilities include 32" LCD TV, Ipod Dock, Radio, Alarm Clock, DVD player, Freeview, complimentary hospitality tray, luxury toiletries and towels. There is free on street parking to the front of The Metropolitan.
Picture of The Metropolitan, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little B and B
Checked in at 2pm and was shown up to our room by the owner who was very pleasant and informative. The room was of good size and very very clean. The bed was very comfortable also.
On our way out that evening the owner said that if we wanted to bring back a take away we could either eat in the dining room or even take it up to our room as there was a table in the room to eat it on. He even provided plates and cutlery for this. This is the first time I have known guest houses let you do this and I think it is a good thing because sometimes you do not want to eat at an earlier time in the restaurants.
In the morning the breakfast was really tasty and plenty of it if you wanted it.

Reviewed by
Timothy Moule

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy customer
Very happy with my 2 night stay. Definitely 4.5/5 not less. Friendly and courteous owners, top notch breakfast, quality modern rooms. Just a couple of niggles: Typically the wash basin was small for shaving, the internet took a little while to kick in, and a couple of marks on the bed cover could have been spotted. Make no mistake I would stay here again. Once the internet started it was a fast and reliable connection. The bed was very comfy and the large flat screen TV is also good when you near to relax at the end of a hard day :) Tea, coffee making facilities in your room, free mints, polish, cotton buds and shampoo that actually lathers up without a sponge, wow! Very happy customer

Reviewed by
Glenn House

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not fault it
Friendly and helpful staff, high quality rooms and breakfast as good as any five star hotel I've stayed in. Will definitely visit again next time I'm in the north east.

Reviewed by
neil h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay
Family room on the top floor was fabulous. Shower was a little variable in temperature but I suspect that was user error. Beds were really comfortable, and breakfast was the best breakfast I have had at a B&B for a very long time. Well done!

Reviewed by
J READ

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean modern and cosy
Very friendly welcome and clean hotel

Reviewed by
olatayo o

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Excellent B&B. From a friendly greeting, lovely clean room to tasty, fresh breakfast.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
ANDREW J

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!
Having stayed at, and looked at the reviews of, other bed and breakfast places in Whitley Bay this is definitely the best. The value for money scored slightly less since it was £110 a night off season, which I have paid in London and bigger cities.
It is, however, fabulous. It is comfortable, clean, friendly and generally sets a very high standard for every bed and breakfast in any place.
It's always difficult when a place receives constantly rave reviews - you arrive expecting perfection and it's easy to pick holes because your expectations are so high. We were, for example, a bit disappointed that the 'free' bottles of water left in our room were only left on 2 of our 3 nights. Hardly a major issue but as I said, it's easy to pick holes when you expect perfection.
This is a really great place to stay. It is going to be our place of choice for every trip - we will be there at least annually on business...

Reviewed by
Louise H

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a visit
Rooms are very clean and comfortable and breakfast sets you up for the day. Plenty places to eat on a night and hosts were great.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay, Manager Could Not Do Enough To Help, Wonderful Full English Breakfast, Room very nice

Reviewed by
D Connor

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hospitality, and very friendly they even went and bought me tinned tomatoes as im a fussy bugger for food! Brilliant and would definitely stay again :-)

Reviewed by
m jones

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next