No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Swan

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Black Swan Inn , Penrith, CA101QW
Our beautiful recently refurbished en-suite accommodation is the ideal place to lay your head after a hard day's hiking around our fascinating landscape, a relaxing day soaking up the history of our area or simply kicking back with a pint of local brew or a good bottle of red in front of our coal fire! Being in Cumbria we are close to a number of different activities such as, Pony Trekking, Cycling/Mountain Biking, Fell Walking, Water Sports, Gliding, Fishing, Bird Watching, Shooting or if you fancy pampering yourself there are great spa days available at nearby Center Parcs, Whinfell Forest

We have Seven En-Suite Rooms in total all named after the local area.
All of our bedrooms provide our guests with ample space to relax, with flat screen digital plasma TV, wi-fi internet access available throughout the building & tea & coffee making facilities. We try to provide our guests with everything they required to have a perfect break!

Included is our Full Traditional Cumbrian Breakfast, complete with our own Special Recipe Sausages, the perfect end to a perfect break.
We can also offer the fantastic opportunity of a relaxing fishing break as the Black Swan owns the fishing rights on a 4.5 mile stretch of the picturesque River Eden, famous for Trout & Salmon fishing. Close by there are also several fishing lakes including Cocklakes Trout Farm, Blencarn Fishing Lake, Winns Pond & Bessy Beck Trout Farm all within a 10-15 minute drive away! A huge advantage to the fisherman coming to this area is the famous John Norris of Penrith shop is here for all your fishing tackle needs.
Picture of Black Swan, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend break
Customer service was excellent throughout with polite friendly staff our room was very clean except for the bin in the bathroom not completely emptied from previous guests which is really not an issue to ourselves but maybe to future guests.
The quality of our room was excellent and the bed very comfortable (A great nights sleep)
We upgraded to a superior room and thought the small extra amount worthwhile as this was very spacious the only downside was it only had a bath (no shower)which for a superior room didnt quite live upto expectations.
The food in the restaurant was excellent.
We booked for a party of 10 and can only thank all the members of staff for the service we received from a complicated order from ourselves it was the highlight of our stay with a full english breakfast on the Sunday morning it was perfect .
As an overall apraisal our stay at the Black Swan was excellent and the minor issues mentioned in no way detracts from what was a wonderful relaxing experience in a friendly organised environment -A big thank you to all members of staff.
Would recomend a stay here to anyone.

Reviewed by
David Newson

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stop over to do total warrior
Enjoyed the evening at the black swan
Would def use again and recommend to others

Reviewed by
ashleigh stone

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Black Swan Culgaith
Stayed for two nights as we had a friends wedding nearby. Had a superior double and the room was lovely, good size and well presented with a view of the fields behind the pub.
Food was delicious, my wife had a sirloin steak and I had the beef bourguignon. Excellent!
Breakfast was great, choice of full English, cereals and everything in between.
Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
David P

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Our welcome was almost non existent. We arrived at 9 pm and they were unable/unwilling to provide us with any food, even soup and a sandwich. Breakfast was good, though.

Reviewed by
Ron Waddell

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming village pub accommodation
We found the ambiance excellent, the staff were very good and the food quality and presentation very high, overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will return .

Reviewed by
David B

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has more to offer
The room was adequate for a one night stay. For more nights I would want a bigger room. Evening meal was good: a bit less batter on the scampi would help. Breakfast didn't live up to what was on the menu: sausage ring does not consist of two sausages. Good beer, nice wine and a small choice of good whiskey. I might be tempted to try a bigger room and stop a couple of nights so that I can explore the area.

Reviewed by
C Barwise

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location, Great Food, ideal for business or leasure
Our room was compact, but clean with a comfy bed and great view out the window. We ate here both nights, the food is really good and nice choices on the menu. It's cosy but bright inside. Would also stay here on business given the opportunity. So nice to get away from city noise.

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Out of the way but worth the stay.
Booked this hotel for my drive back from scotland as Robbie Williams had the whole of glasgow sold out of £300+ for a premier inn.
The Hotel is listed as Penrith, when we but it in the sat nav, it is a good drive from penrith and there is nothing else around in walking distance and we were going to be late for dinner.
On arrival, i was more than pleased with the standard of the place and although we were only 10mins past last orders for food, the chef had no problem cooking us something from the menu. I went for scampi as this was a quick and easy choice and did not want to spend forever choosing something as they were going out of there way to help us. Result - Best scampi i ever had.
Nice accomodation, pub downstairs and a relaxing place to stay.

Reviewed by
james r

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The whole experience was fantastic. They were very friendly,the room was clean and the food was out of this world will be going there again

Reviewed by
s thomas

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

none

Reviewed by
cliff w

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next