Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton


The Bell, London Road Aston Clinton, Aylesbury, HP22 5HP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Nick A

  • September 2015

Nice room

Nice clean room comfortable,staff very friendly

  • Graham Would

  • June 2015

Staff are everything

The bell has great food, quirky rooms - some better than others, but it is the great staff that make you enjoy your stay, in particular the very cheerfull Tracy in the mornings.

very good waiting and bar staff. A very welcoming place to stay with a busy restaurant.

  • Claire S

  • April 2015

Chiltern Refresher

Had been to the Bell for a drink before and wanted to return to stay as a base for walking for a night.

Great location, the Bell exudes an atmosphere that makes you relax as soon as you enter the front door. The ground floor is divided into bar, and a number of small rooms/spaces which add to its feeling of intimacy. Food excellent with wide choice. Creaky floorboards in the bedroom added to its charm although only downside were the two bright green smoke alarm lights in the bedroom which weren't conducive to a great night's sleep but I suppose 'safety first' (although one of us slept extraordinarily well!)

  • Paul w

  • March 2015

Good /clean room , two things come to mind

Noise from the outside BELL sign.

on the bedroom wall when singing in the wind, needes some oil/grease. The toilet flush is very poor (have reported). Apart from that, not bad. Will use the pub again.

  • Clifton S

  • January 2015

Beautiful room & lovely restaurant

Overall very impressed with our stay at the at The Innkeepers Lodge, Aston Clinton and would not hesitate to recommend to friends, family and business colleagues.

My other half and I booked a last minute reservation here for the one night as in the area for business meetings. We were greeted by a smiley receptionist from the main bar who was very helpful. Our room was pleasantly surprisingly spacious, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We booked dinner in the restaurant, three courses with wine - all beautifully tasty, very reasonably priced and served in very pleasant surroundings.

just two VERY small observations - no bath in our room {no.11} and slightly intrusive noise from the over excitable chatting overheard from the housekeeping staff, attending the neighboring room in the morning.

  • Ian Funge

  • January 2015

The very comfortable Bell Inn

I have stopped here a few times, the rooms are tastefully decorated and substantially larger than many of the hotels I have stopped in before.

Business or pleasure it's a great place to stop.

  • keith moore

  • September 2014

Value for money

My wife and I stayed for one night at this property.

We were pleasantly surprised as we did not expect too much for £69 including a continental breakfast. Our room was of very good size, clean and with a decent shower room. The meal we had in the restaurant was not brilliant but for the money could not be faulted. W ould we stay here again. Yes.

  • D Wheeldon

  • August 2014

On booking we asked for a quiet room however we ended up with two extractor vents right outside our window.The poeple in the room next door were talking loudly untill !am.The food in the resaurant was very good, however we booked a table for the next night and found when we arrived it had been given to someone else.we were not amused.The waitress apologised but no management came forward to do the same.Would not stay again.

  • Jim Steward

  • July 2014

The staff were very polite and friendly, our main delays were experianced around the checking in & out process as it seemed a little disorganised, good size room and spotlessly clean bathroom.

  • Sue O

  • July 2014

Pay before you see your room.............?!

I had prior to arriving requested a quiet room, and again reinforced when checking in.I was asked to pay in full for 2 nights without seeing the room and did question this.I felt that paying at this point is unreasonable, and for 2 nights, not just one, and perhaps one at check out.

The room I was given was onto a road which I was disappointed with,as I had said I am unable to sleep if there is road noise, with a window open ,as I live in a very rural area and am just not used to this.My requests fell on dear ears. The room was spacious and really thats where the positives stop.It was dark requiring the lights on, it was dusty with cobwebs and thick layers of dust,and the windows were dirty. The shower had mould on the walls,and was small.The T.V was intermittent with Wimbledon being on, this too was disappointing. I had the fan running at night as the room was stuffy,although the extractor in the bathroom didn't work,the portable fan did. The continental breakfast which we had on the first morning was basic.There was no low fat spread, despite asking the server I was told, 'I have been asking for it'

That's ok then... The bar food is basically pub food,I had the fish mezze, which although had plenty of small dishes the toasted bread was missing, from the plate as described on the menu. I really couldn't be bothered in either asking or waiting,I ate the, over 'blended' fish with my own bread sticks!. The cooked full English was ordered the next morning,and again was plentiful but barely cooked.There was no fruit at all available,either prepared or otherwise, and this is described on the menu,as part of the continental breakfast, asking was just all too much, still no low fat spread, and so what is the point. The staff helped themselves from the guests buffet table when arriving for their shift. We didn't think this appropriate at all. AA four star this is not.