Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Aston Clinton Hotels > Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Bell, London Road Aston Clinton, Aylesbury, HP22 5HP
Only three miles east of Aylesbury, this lodge is adjacent to The Bell village pub & restaurant.

The pretty village of Aston Clinton sits at the foot of the Chiltern Hills. And if you venture onto the hills you'll be following the Icknield Way - an ancient trackway that was here before the Romans arrived and is said to be one of the oldest roads in Great Britain.

When the Romans came to the area, they built Akeman Street which crossed Icknield Way. And at this crossing, our village came to life. After the Roman Empire fell, the Saxons moved in and Saxon remains have been found throughout the area.

The village was first recorded in the Domesday Book in 1086. Back then it was called 'Estone', which is Old English for 'Eastern estate'. In 1237, the village's Manor House was owned by the de Clinton family - and the name Aston Clinton was born.
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton, Aylesbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
My wife and I stayed for one night at this property. We were pleasantly surprised as we did not expect too much for £69 including a continental breakfast. Our room was of very good size, clean and with a decent shower room. The meal we had in the restaurant was not brilliant but for the money could not be faulted. W ould we stay here again? Yes.

Reviewed by
keith moore

From yoxford, saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On booking we asked for a quiet room however we ended up with two extractor vents right outside our window.The poeple in the room next door were talking loudly untill !am.The food in the resaurant was very good, however we booked a table for the next night and found when we arrived it had been given to someone else.we were not amused.The waitress apologised but no management came forward to do the same.Would not stay again.

Reviewed by
D Wheeldon

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very polite and friendly, our main delays were experianced around the checking in & out process as it seemed a little disorganised, good size room and spotlessly clean bathroom.

Reviewed by
Jim Steward

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pay before you see your room.............?!
I had prior to arriving requested a quiet room, and again reinforced when checking in.I was asked to pay in full for 2 nights without seeing the room and did question this.I felt that paying at this point is unreasonable, and for 2 nights, not just one, and perhaps one at check out.
The room I was given was onto a road which I was disappointed with,as I had said I am unable to sleep if there is road noise, with a window open ,as I live in a very rural area and am just not used to this.My requests fell on dear ears.
The room was spacious and really thats where the positives stop.It was dark requiring the lights on, it was dusty with cobwebs and thick layers of dust,and the windows were dirty.
The shower had mould on the walls,and was small.The T.V was intermittent with Wimbledon being on, this too was disappointing. I had the fan running at night as the room was stuffy,although the extractor in the bathroom didn't work,the portable fan did!
The continental breakfast which we had on the first morning was basic.There was no low fat spread, despite asking the server I was told, 'I have been asking for it'
That's ok then..?
The bar food is basically pub food,I had the fish mezze, which although had plenty of small dishes the toasted bread was missing, from the plate as described on the menu. I really couldn't be bothered in either asking or waiting,I ate the, over 'blended' fish with my own bread sticks!!
The cooked full English was ordered the next morning,and again was plentiful but barely cooked.There was no fruit at all available,either prepared or otherwise, and this is described on the menu,as part of the continental breakfast, asking was just all too much, still no low fat spread, and so what is the point!
The staff helped themselves from the guests buffet table when arriving for their shift. We didn't think this appropriate at all.
AA four star this is not.

Reviewed by
Sue O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely

Reviewed by
Nadine Burrows

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Very impressed. We had a family room. We had requested extra pillows and a ground floor room. Both requests granted. The room itself was very comfortable, although the decor a little tired. Needed a bit of a spruce up, but nothing drastic. Spotlessly clean, Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. No complaints at all.

Reviewed by
David S

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Had a wonderful stay, couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel to stay in!
Super clean, friendly staff.
Stayed as I was attending the passing out parade and the raf camp. Perfect distance, literally a 2 min easy drive!
Would stay here again any time, great value for money with huge rooms and lovely staff

Reviewed by
Danielle W

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
Brilliant value for money would stay again.

Reviewed by
M Scott

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Great trip. Thanks.

Reviewed by
Colin B

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
The hotel was great. The bar area had a lovely atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. The food was very good indeed and there was a good menu to choose from. Service was a little slow one night we were there, well very slow. The room was well decorated and clean. One downside was the fan in the bathroom that was quite loud at night if you needed to use the bathroom. (minor point but a little iritating)
One criticism of the service would be that we did not feel particularly special as "guests" of the hotel. For instance the restaurant was very full but on check in no one mentioned this so as a result when did ask (later) the restuarant was full and we had to eat at the bar. To be fair some of the staff were excellent but some were only average. Also, when we ordered a snack for our room we had to go to the bar to order it then go back to the bar to collect it, even though the restaurant & kitchen were just yards from our room. It would have been a nice touch if they had brought it round. We were also suprised that the room was not made during the day. Most reputable hotels give a light clean, make the beds, empty the bins, etc... but nothing happened here.
Overall the place was lovely and in a nice setting with great food but the service, although good, could easily have been a little better.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next