No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bury Guest House

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
8 10, Bury Road , Newton Aycliffe, DL55DL
The Bury Guest House is a family run, guest house, all the rooms have now been updated. With TV, freeview, tea and coffee making facilities, bedding and towels in every room. Microwave, Iron etc are available. Free Parking, Free WIFI - BT Infinity (fast, wireless, through BT fiber optics), Free Pickup from Newton Aycliffe Train Station.
We Mainly cater for : People visiting Family in the area or Visitors or Workers on the local Industrial Estate. We offer very good long stay rates for people staying for a month or more.
Larger discounts available for stays of 14 days & 28 days and longer, ask for a price.
New FREE Onsite Parking Bays Installed 31st March 2014
Please make sure you contact the Guest House and supply the contact mobile number of the Guest.
Please confirm arrival time 15 mins before arrival.
Picture of Bury Guest House, Newton Aycliffe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money and friendly service

Reviewed by
Lewis Jacques

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for 1 night. Came up to see my friend at her wedding reception at a local venue just up the road from the guest house. They meet you, show you round then leave you to it. No outside light when trying to get in via a key code pad. Room was standard with bedsheets, curtains, TV, microwave. Bits of crumbling plaster coming away from the bottoms of the walls in the hallway. Thought shower and carpet in bathroom were dirty. Bin not emptied, someone else's bar of soap was left in shower with hair on it. Splashes on the toilet. Generally we thought dirty and not maintained regularly. Complained to the owner and we sent pictures to prove the state of the place.

ManagementResponse

Customer caused damage to the room and when asked to pay for the damage they decided not to answer me and leave this feedback, which should not be allowed by LateRooms but I guess they don’t care if customers slag off their clients premises without reason. I think the customer wanted 5* service for a 2* price and be able to cause damage and hold the guest house to ransom as they can get away with slagging them off and down rating them. We have many regular repeat customers and believe that we offer a great service, clean, warm and well equipped rooms for the price we charge, please bear in mind we lose more than 25%, so a room costing £50 we only get £37.40 and we pay LateRooms £12.60. We have to pay the all the staff out of the £37.40, keep the place clean and updated, I could list all the outgoings but there is so many. We have asked LateRooms to come and inspect our premises on a number of occasions but to date they have not managed to do this.

Reviewed by
Gill C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but did the job when you have been working all day

Reviewed by
Colin B

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bury Guest House Aycliffe
We booked this room on Bank Holiday Weekend at 1 hours notice due to very bad weather ruining our plan to camp.
Host met us and showed us to our room and appeared to leave again. He did leave a contact number. Accommodation was basic but clean , warm and dry. Not ensuite.Coffee making and microwave in room.No bedside lamp
Property is a bit run down and the shower room was not inviting due to old discoloured tiles.
More suited to digs for workmen than a luxury holiday.
Bed was clean and comfortable.
Was all we needed but not for the fussy. Price was fair .
Dedicated parking at front.

Reviewed by
a robertson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not satisfied
Poor quality room for the money they ask.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good short stay guest house
Room was good, warm friendly welcome, easy to find, free wifi and quick and easy to check out of.

Reviewed by
A Dove

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this was a terrible room so we didnt stay
After arriving at the property which looked scrufffy from the out side, we waited awhile then a man came and let us in, after he went we looked around and felt we couldnt stay in it also we feel we should have our money refunded .

Reviewed by
e corbett

From manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night only
As we were only staying one night the Bury guest house was clean & comfortable

Reviewed by
c gallagher

From GLASGOW, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation but adequate for what I needed

Reviewed by
Terri P

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was value for money and clean enough but really need to improve bathroom and main entrance.

Reviewed by
Emily W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next