You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Bury Guest House

2

8 10, Bury Road, Newton Aycliffe, DL55DL

Price From 64.05 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (8)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andy J

  • May 2016

Basic but clean and cheap

The landlady texted me prior to arrival but I didn't see the text until I actually rocked up outside.

At first view, it looked as if Bury Guest House had been abandoned and was empty. Nothing like the photograph on the internet. Not an attractive first impression. However, Lesley soon appeared from another location nearby and let me in.

The room was basic but spotlessly clean. Again, it looked nothing like the online photo. The view onto a derelict garden wasn't very pleasant, but I didn't stay there for the scenery. My stay was comfortable and quiet. That's all that matters to me. The room had all the facilities I needed, and some I didn't need, but breakfast was not included. Friendly landlady who made it clear that I was to phone her if I had any problems.

  • M Ridley

  • November 2015

Bury Guest House

Value for money.friendly staff.great room .warm clean and excellent facilities

  • Alan E

  • July 2015

A long way to go

I appreciate that you have recently purchased this business and that you are working on raising standards, but truly, you have a long way to go to bring this building, and the facilities you offer up to a standard where visitors will feel comfortable and secure.

Shared facilities, no reception on site, elderly plumbing, and a room not really large enough for three, all worked against you. On the other hand, the beds were clean and more or less comfortable; and we were very pleased to be off the road; so, all together, thank you for making your facilities available to us.

  • J Wright

  • June 2015

Oh Dear!

Outside looked NOTHING like the picture.

Very run down altogether. Lady who met us and let us in was very nice but the room was very worn (well past time it was renewed) althought TV was fine and wifi very fast. Shared toilet and separate shared shower very old and dark and on the floor below. If I had been on my own I would have left.

  • M Owens

  • March 2015

Bury Guest House

Excellent facilities.

Great value for money.

  • james reid

  • January 2015

no fuss

My family and I stayed at this hotel while attending a gig in the nearby Darlington, We were met by a member of staff when we arrived and given a code to let us in and out and a key to our room.This was the last we saw any staff and it appeared we might have been the only people in the hotel,The room was clean and the beds comfortable, No breakfast was available but this reflected on a very good deal for a family room.

  • Lewis Jacques

  • November 2014

Excellent value for money and friendly service

  • Gill C

  • November 2014

Stayed here for 1 night.

Came up to see my friend at her wedding reception at a local venue just up the road from the guest house. They meet you, show you round then leave you to it. No outside light when trying to get in via a key code pad. Room was standard with bedsheets, curtains, TV, microwave. Bits of crumbling plaster coming away from the bottoms of the walls in the hallway. Thought shower and carpet in bathroom were dirty. Bin not emptied, someone else's bar of soap was left in shower with hair on it. Splashes on the toilet. Generally we thought dirty and not maintained regularly. Complained to the owner and we sent pictures to prove the state of the place.

Response from hotel

Customer caused damage to the room and when asked to pay for the damage they decided not to answer me and leave this feedback, which should not be allowed by LateRooms but I guess they don’t care if customers slag off their clients premises without reason. I think the customer wanted 5* service for a 2* price and be able to cause damage and hold the guest house to ransom as they can get away with slagging them off and down rating them.

We have many regular repeat customers and believe that we offer a great service, clean, warm and well equipped rooms for the price we charge, please bear in mind we lose more than 25%, so a room costing £50 we only get £37.40 and we pay LateRooms £12.60. We have to pay the all the staff out of the £37.40, keep the place clean and updated, I could list all the outgoings but there is so many. We have asked LateRooms to come and inspect our premises on a number of occasions but to date they have not managed to do this.