Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow Hotels > Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Caledonian Chambers 87, Union Street , Glasgow, G1 3TA
Currently number 3 on Tripadvisor for Glasgow Hotels, Grasshoppers Glasgow - a new luxury hotel in central Glasgow with 30 individual bedrooms offering style comfort and service at affordable prices. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has its own SKY BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. Evening suppers now available from Monday-Thursday inclusive.

Room Amenities: Handmade king-size divan beds, wallpaper and furniture; Egyptian cotton linen; Duck feather and down duvets and pillows; Grohe power showers; Pedrali lighting and chairs; Caledonian oak floors.

Additional: Free Wi-Fi; own Sky Box with Sky Sports and Sky Movies in every bedroom; 32" Samsung HD Televisions and quality hairdryers
Food and Drinks: Breakfast included in room rate; free tea and coffee in The Kitchen and every bedroom; occassional Grasshopper treats; evening meals/suppers available Monday - Thursday Inclusive

Public Transport: at Glasgow Central Station; close to Queen Street Station, Buchanan Bus Station, Glasgow Flyer to Glasgow Airport

Location: City centre adjacent to main shopping streets and centres, arts and cultural attractions, bars and restaurants, entertainment venues and much more!
Picture of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
This was a very pleasant stay. The staff were attentive, friendly and the extras (like a little glass of wine or cakes) when arriving after a hard day at the office is real differentiator. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast served in a very informal atmosphere and it was noticeable that a number of the residents were on first name terms with the staff - so a lot of repeat business going on. It has an almost unrivalled city centre location, although the entrance to the hotel is a little quirky and anonymous. Definitely stay again when in Glasgow.

Reviewed by
Ken Carnie

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top class hidden gem
Really pleased with the hotel. A bit different from what I am used to. Didn't feel like a sterile hotel and more like home. Cakes were good on arrival. Bed very comfortable. The only issue I had was the choice of breakfast. It was good but the choices were limited on the hot side, but what was there was great. Will defiantly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Stuart J

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in lovely central hotel
We booked this hotel for its central location and were very pleased that we did. Room was comfortable and clean with good showerroom and lovely double bed. Breakfast in the modern kitchen was delicious with lots of coffee on hand which guests can partake of anytime. The cupcakes and melting moments dotted around the corridors were an added treat which were very much appreciated.

Reviewed by
m Owens

From Peebles, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Great location, all staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
c mcdonald

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glaswegian gem!
Grasshoppers Hotel - what a fantastic place to stay. Loved everything - from the (free!) delicious cupcakes & macaroons, to the immensely comfortable bed in our lovely room - but the star of the show has to be the scrambled eggs we had for breakfast - amazing!. Thank you to all the friendly staff, and thank you for the little touches (the cakes, Smarties in our room, and the little insider guides to Glasgow) - they are the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel, can't wait to come back soon.

Reviewed by
Jo H

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find- I will definitely stay again.
Don't be put off by the entrance- looks like an old office block. The hotel is great: friendly staff; excellent in-room facilities; comfortable bed;, and great coffee.

Reviewed by
Jeremy H

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Little hotel
Stayed one night at the Grasshoppers Hotel while in the city to celebrate my sons 21st birthday. We had a lovely time the staff at Grasshoppers were very helpful and genuine .
When I asked for champagne glasses I was brought an ice bucket too. The fresh milk and cupcakes were appreciated too.
The hairdryer was of a good quality not the usual useless ones normally in hotel rooms.
The shower was nice and I liked that it was not in a bath.
I do have one complaint and that was the noise , unfortunately as our room was street side and the windows are of the old sash type the busy traffic and people noise from the street was heard all night it was a disappointment as everything else had been so perfect.
I would love to stay at the hotel again because the staff were so nice but this time I would like a room on the other side and hopefully it would be quieter .
I can understand that the hotel is right in the centre and that some noise would be expected but it was very difficult to sleep.
The breakfast was very good it was all made fresh and the bread was tasty .
Will be watching out for a cheaper deal to return sometime.My mum loved her stay and liked all the different wallpapers in the rooms .

Reviewed by
Gillian B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mediocre dressed up as luxury
I may be old fashioned but, having booked a "superior" double, I expect better than a room that has no wardrobe space and provides only two hooks on the wall, each with three hangers, on which to hang clothes. This is particularly unhelpful when one returns after wet weather, so that soaking outer garments have to be hung next to dry inner ones. Also, very little drawer space for other clothing. We stayed two nights and had to basically live out of our suitcases. The small shower room was like an enclosed shell within the bedroom, and every sound within it could be heard clearly. The shower itself was good, but on our first morning when my partner took her shower about 20 minutes after me there was no hot water left! When I complained the receptionist said she could arrange for another bedroom to be opened so that my partner could use its shower, but this was hardly a practical solution as she was already soaking wet and cold. I also fail to understand how there could be hot water available in another room but not ours - surely there are not separate hot water tanks for each bathroom? On its website the hotel makes much of the quality of its breakfasts, but although decent enough there was a distinct lack of choice of cooked items, and I have had better in small B & Bs. Of more concern was the fact the kitchen is far too cramped. Tables for two are too small, there is little space between tables and where the food is kept, and it was almost impossible to move about without bumping into other guests or serving staff. I felt sorry for the staff, who were struggling to cope with serving, clearing dishes and putting clean crockery and cutlery back in places where guests were trying to access food and drink. The hotel location is great, the staff are helpful and friendly (though no more than I would expect at any decent establishment), but to style itself as somehow being at the luxury end of the market is grossly misleading. We were really looking forward to staying at Grasshoppers, based on the website information and very positive reviews, but felt very let down over the facilities provided. When paying £235 for two nights I expect better, and have indeed had far superior experiences in other, cheaper Glasgow hotels. Perhaps Grasshoppers is too modern for we 60 somethings since other guests obviously rate it highly, but we will not be back.

Reviewed by
Andrew E

From Dunoon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just in Glasgow for a city break. Really enjoys stay. The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Nice touch with real coffee and home made cup cakes. Room was great and breakfast was great. I really recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
Lorna Porteous

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated above Central Station and no noise of trains or the centre of Glasgow. Something a little different and the staff are wonderful. Excellent breakfast. A hotel offer better than the corporates we all find ourselves in.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next