No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
High Street, Blockley, GL56 9EX
Set in the heart of The Cotswolds this warm 16th century Inn & Hotel offers the best in Cotswold hospitality! With a country inn atmosphere the hotel offers charm with open log fires and homemade Cotswold dishes and specialities. Pets are allowed in certain rooms with a £10 charge per night per pet.
Picture of The Crown Inn, Blockley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay here
A very cold reception as if our arrival was a nuisance . Staff smoking outside front door.3 staff members were sitting in the lounge area on their computers so we felt uncomfortable being there .No offer to carry my heavy case upstairs. The room and bathroom were shabby .The village of Blockley was very isolated and we had to drive 5 miles back to Broadway for dinner as the only restaurant (at the Crown Inn) was almost empty Bedheads not attached to bed so banged all night. No acknowledgement from the manager as we left ! Horrible place.

Reviewed by
S BROOKES

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Break
As we were only paying a fraction of the price for the room ( a very special deal) it was good value for money. It was a shame that there was a large stain on the carpet in the room as the room and en suite were very clean other than this. The room was very warm and there was plenty of tea/coffee etc.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. If we had been paying the full price we would not have been happy with the carpet, the rather heavy and flat duvet or the headboard which was too large for the bed. A very good location in a lovely, quaint and off the tourist route village.

Reviewed by
A Robinson

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but clean and warm.I only paid £20 so it really exceeded my expectations.I was in a modern annex to the hotel and not in the old building.I think that there were very few if any other guests staying which meant that I felt that I was 'rattling around a bit on my own'.

Reviewed by
peter a

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cotswolds at their best
Once we found the hotel the welcome was very pleasant. Our room was very clean & comfortable - and warm!
Breakfast was extremely good & again staff were very friendly & helpful.
We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sheila C

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel Great Setting
I have stayed at many different hotels over the years, and have to say from the moment of arrival until I left was a very pleasent experience. The staff I encountered were very friendly and extremely helpful, the room while not massive was clean tidy very comfortable and had everything in it I required. I would recomend it to anyone who was looking to stay in that area.

Reviewed by
N Wilson

From Skelmorlie, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Overall an excellent few days in the Cotswolds. After looking at the other reviews, not just for this hotel, I think the vast majority of the people must arrive ready to look for any minor faults. The staff were all friendly, the place was spotlessly clean. We had a meal in the restaurant which was more than we would normally pay. However, the quality of the food was way beyond what we normally get, so once again, you get what you pay for. The helpings were huge so anybody else thinking of eating there, forget the starter! You won't be able to finish your main meal otherwise. The only things we could critisie would be minor damage to the rooms caused by inconsiderate guests. For example, the carpet burnt by the iron could only have been done deliberately by somebody who should sleep in the bus shelter, not somewhere decent. The floors creak but you have to expect this in an old building - it's what happens when you spend a night in a building with character. Had a great time and looking forward to another visit.

Reviewed by
R Clegg

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel being brought back to life
This hotel was obviously a beautiful jewel in the Cotswolds at one time and had been allowed to 'fall' a little. The new owners were trying to restore the reputation and service which made this a great vfm stay.
With a little more time I am sure it will be back once again.

Reviewed by
John H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Good value at the LateRooms rate. Breakfast not served until 0830 on a Monday to Friday which is not very customer friendly. I had to leave at 0815 but managed to get breakfast elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Burgess Hill, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Crown Inn Hotel, Blockley - Fantastic VFM
The Crown Inn Hotel provided excellent value for money in the accommodation stakes, but fell short at the fence when it came to staff enthusiasm . I booked 2 rooms on the day I was to stay and picked up a real bargain. The rooms were clean, tidy and spacious (I had room 22, which had bags of space). I didn't eat there so can't comment on the restaurant, but the bar snacks I saw looked OK. The bar itself was a cold and desolate area, and the barman informed us that he had been drunk dry by the Cheltenham crowd. (turns out to have been Cheltenham racing weekend). Being a Sunday he couldn't replenish his stocks, so as a non drinker, I had to settle for bottled water, served from a plastic bottle! However, the village itself is situated in is a beautiful typically Cotswoldian village. A lovely stroll through the churchyard and down by the old mill to the Great Western pub is thorough;y recommended. The hotel itself leaves a bit to be desired. Lacking in atmosphere and a bit lacklustre and the staff seemed particularly disinterested.
In conclusion, a great value for money room to stay at out of season, beautiful countryside all round, with Chipping Campden only a few miles along the road (great breakfast at the Noel Arms) and Moreton in Marsh in the opposite direction means this hotel is a great base for exploring the Gloucestershire area. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S Richardson

From March, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprised and delighted
After reading some of the reviews I was apprehensive to say the least. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was delightful with real character. Our room was spotlessly clean with en-suite with both a bath and shower. The bed linen and towels were of good quality. Our room had a definite slope with an uneven floor however this added to the experience. What do you expect in a 17th century pub!! The value for money booking with laterooms was amazing. Blockley itself was small and quiet with only a village shop to its name and with no mobile phone connection anywhere in the village. However, for us this was a blessing! Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Gerald W

From Orpington, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next