Villa Esplanade Apartments & Hotel Rooms

3

South Cliff Esplanade, SCARBOROUGH, YO11 2AQ

Price From 59.21 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (129)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • austen jones

  • April 2015

excellent room, building a bit tired but great value and location and served the purpose well

  • C Beddow

  • April 2015

scarborough stay

Reception was good, very helpful.

Stair & corridor looking aged, but our room had been updated, was clean & comfortable.

  • S Worton

  • April 2015

Cheap n Cheerful

  • Pauline M

  • April 2015

Shabby not chic

Dated and grubby

  • Pete S

  • April 2015

Things got a lot better...

Arrived and no-one at reception but waited for 5 mins and owner's daughters appeared with key.

They were very helpful. Got to room and found a number of problems including TV that wouldn't budge from ITV, no curtain on toilet window allowing full view to people walking past and glass table top that was very loose and dangerous. However, on reporting these, they were dealt with immediately and without fuss. All in all, we enjoyed our stay but could have done without the problems to start off with.

  • Helen S

  • April 2015

Draughty but perfectly located

The Villa Esplanade was perfectly located for Olivers Mount, it was around a ten minute walk to the spectators foot entrance.

The accommodation was spacious, but the draught from the poorly fitting sash windows made it a cold evening, although the spare quilt in the wardrobe meant we were warm enough once we were in bed. The bathroom had been fitted out with quite modern tiles and was pleasant and spacious. The bedroom had a large wardrobe, bedside tables, dressing table and chair and plenty of room to move around. (The mexican under the hotel is not connected to the hotel apparently and was fully booked so if you want to eat there make sure you book well in advance.)

At the end of the day we paid a budget price for our accommdation which was in exactly the right location for us, the room was large if draughty, but met our needs and yes, I'd probably book there again for another visit to Olivers Mount, although I'd make sure to take some warmer clothing next time. Staff were friendly and helpful, but the free wifi only seemed to work in reception. The rooms are on electric meters but ours was well charged when we arrived so it didn't cost us anything and we only used around £1 overnight and that was charging a phone, using a hair dryer and straighteners and switching the electric heater on for an hour to take the chill off the room.

  • F CAREN

  • April 2015

Easter 2015 overnight stay

Booked this at short notice at a very reasonable price and we were very pleasantly surprised, although basic, the double room we booked was very clean and well maintained - the gentleman on reception was very helpful and welcoming and the accommodation location is excellent, certainly served the purpose and if we are in Scarborough again would certainly book again, just one downer - we were on the top floor and the water pressure is quite poor, so although the shower in or room was well fitted and clean using it was a challange due to the trickle of water but all things considered we are well satisfied - thank you

  • darren walsh

  • April 2015

Different.

  • Beatrice M

  • March 2015

A short stay in Scarborough visiting family

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Villa Esplanade.

We were looking for something close to family, clean and reasonably-priced. We were not disappointed.

The owner, David, was welcoming and dealt with our one concern (an uncomfortable mattress) promptly and willingly.

The size of the room was adequate, the bathroom / shower clean and there was sufficient hot-water. Tea / coffee making facilities were basic but sufficient; having a fridge was a useful addition as the accommodation was booked on a room-only basis. Decoratively, the hotel is clean and tidy but would benefit from further investment in new carpets. As a value-for-money option in terms of our travel needs, the Villa Esplanade fitted the bill.

  • darren morris

  • March 2015

Great value and would stay again.

Had a quiet and pleasant evening in the room.Comfortable,clean and soon warmed up even though it was a pretty cold March night.In a great location surrounded by some great victorian buildings .I came on train and ten minutes walk and your there.