No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Champneys Tring

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wigginton , Tring, hp23 6hy
Set in 170 acres of beautiful Hertfordshire parkland, our Rothschild mansion house is close to central London and Luton and Heathrow airports, making us the ideal venue to combine business with pleasure.

Although not the most obvious venue for a meeting or event, Champneys Tring in Hertfordshire is certainly a very special one. Where else can you host a morning conference followed by a delicious lunch before an afternoon of indulgent treatments and complete relaxation? Add an overnight stay with pre-dinner drinks and a private dinner in our stunning Stanley Lief room and you have the makings of a truly memorable event.

The private meeting facilities at New Court, are set within the grounds and offer a choice of business amenities, private parking facilities, plus a courtyard ideal for tea, coffee or lunch. The mansion house, spa, pool and fitness facilities can be reached within moments, making it easy to combine business with pleasure. Alternatively, overlooking the stunning gardens there is the elegant Stanley Lief room located in the main house, ideal for private business meetings, informal pre-dinner drinks and fine dining. With 20MB WiFi covering all areas of the resort and bedrooms, you can keep connected whilst enjoying the seclusion.

Please be advised that no persons under the age of 16 can be accommodated at Champneys. Wine is available to purchase with an evening meal, although we advise keeping alcohol consumption to a minimum due to the nature of spa treatments and facilities available. For Champneys frequently asked questions please view here http://www.champneys.com/faqs/.

Champneys Tring can take care of all your corporate requirements, with tailor-made packages to include anything from spa treatments and team building activities, to informal drinks and private dining, which will create a rewarding and unforgettable event.
Picture of Champneys Tring, Tring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice
Lovely setting, well out of the way. If you want some quiet time and are put off that there is no bar. It's great.

Reviewed by
Chris R

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
This is a spar hotel which promotes health and fitness. For the money I paid it was pretty spectacular. The facilities are luxurious and there will be far more to the hotel than I looked for. The restaurant area was to the same standard but the menu is limited to low fat, healthy eating. This will be great for some but I found it odd and not very appealing. To be honest £25 for a three course meal is good but not if you leave the table unsatisfied. It's a continental breakfast, which wasn't immediately apparent, but the options where extensive and very good quality. I don't think the staff understood the difference between a full paying spar guest and an over night business customer but the manger was very good and I feel that has been change now.

Reviewed by
david k

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely change from the normal business accomodation
Had a lovely fleeting stop at the hotel pre a business meeting. Room was lovely, great price, lovely facilities, stunning surroundings and tasty breakfast. Would definitely stay there again and am looking already to return for a spa break! My one single grudge is that we arrived in the evening and it was dark, we drove past the entrance 3 times without noticing it as there are no lights or visible sign, it was only thanks to a passing cars headlights lighting up the road that we finally saw the sign.

Reviewed by
Emily W

From Narberth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms and spa need to be up dated.....

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night BB stay
I booked last minute and found this BB rate great value for the property
The welcome was great and the room was excellent standard, clean and airy
I walked round the property to get my bearings and not one of the 8 staff I met acknowledged me or offered to help
Dinner was in a large dining room which lacked some atmosphere or music.
Food and wine offering was great. Quality of food was good but I felt I was being "processed " through with eight different people serving me during the meal, but not one asked if I was ok or happy with everything
Breakfast was a good selection, but you need to pay extra for anything cooked

Reviewed by
K Farr

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Past its best
The room I started with had fungus on the ceiling. I told them. Next day it was still there. They moved me. That room OK but quality of rooms do not warrant their pricing. Badly need air-con. I arrived late in Sunday and just wanted a sandwich from room service, Not possible. Three courses or nothing. So, in short, rooms not up to standard and room service inflexible

Reviewed by
M TAYLOR

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Took 15 mins to check in. Great leisure facilities but everything else poor. No food avail after 8.30!

Reviewed by
D Royal

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice relaxing break
Hotel was gorgeous. Enjoyed walking around the gardens and seeing the different rooms. Hotel room was adequate. Had a leaky faucet and cracks in the bath tub. Did not cause an issue. Food in the hotel was scarce (you could only find meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner). We had a late lunch so we did not go to dinner. We could not find a snack in the evening. The staff were nice and friendly. Very relaxing and the spa treatments were good (was not the best massage I've ever had, but it was nice).

Reviewed by
L Lakhani

From Canada
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as magical as hoped.
Generally, cleanliness and courtesy are not an issue. However, from dinner service at light speed to the usual story of complimentary room wifi not really reaching your room, the chinks in luxury start to appear. If you wish for a luxury retreat, with all the frills, whilst in the area for something other than the spa, choose carefully. If your needs are that of a hen, stag or family group reunion then your expectations may be met.

Reviewed by
D Gurusinghe

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Champneys
Very relaxing hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
S Bray

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next