Reviews - Champneys Forest Mere

4

Old Portsmouth Road, Liphook, GU30 7JQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (14)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Rebecca H

  • March 2015

Lovely location & friendly staff

Arrived late at night to a very welcoming receptionist.

Stayed after a wedding & was somewhat surprised that there was no bar?!?. I was reminded that this was a health spa and that wine could be purchased from the restaurant so all was well. The room was very spacious and clean. The beds were very comfy and the shower was amazingly powerful. I enjoyed the healthy breakfast even if there were only Turkey bacon rashers on offer (which you have to pay more for)

The grounds are beautiful, it was very relaxing and I would happily stay again.

  • C Crook

  • May 2014

Wonderful stay

So great I stayed an extra night, thanks to all the staff, they always make me feel very welcome :-)

  • C Bangor-Jones

  • May 2014

Rude staff!

I found the staff very curt and snooty - when you asked them a question it was if you had the problem At breakfast the waiter was very curt, rude and defensive I went to buy a scarf at the shop and couldn't see the price.

When I ask the sales assistant, she did not move from the counter and said 'the price will be on there'. I had to rummage around the scarves to find a price

My sister on check out complained about the cleanliness of the sheets as there was foundation makeup on them on arrival and the lady purely said 'oh, right' - no apologies or questions

For a 4/5* hotel this is not what I would expect

Admittedly, we got a reduced rate through LateRooms.com which was fantastic but it was almost as those on 'cheap packages' were not worthy. We will never stay there again because of the way we were treated

  • Karly P

  • May 2014

Had a relaxing break at Forest Mere, great food and treatments were included with our booking.

The staff were extremely helpful and informative. Would definitely recommend this Spa.

  • Stephen D

  • April 2014

Disappointed

After booking room status changed from double to twin, tried to phone hotel and phone number wrong, phoned reservation and note put on our booking, on arrival room was a twin, asked for it to be sorted but 5 1/2 hrs later i had to ask again, the 2 beds were put together which was not very comfortable, went for breakfast and were turned away as they were to busy, sent to spa cafe and had to pay a supplement for a cooked breakfast, not what you would expect and spoiled our special weekend away.

  • Rowena Williams

  • February 2014

Restaurant

this calibre of hotel there should not be sittings

  • Rowena Williams

  • February 2014

Bar

NEED A BAR

  • andy T

  • November 2013

Fantastic hotel and wonderful surrounding countryside.

The spa area is clean and well maintained. Customer service is excellent. Menu is very orientated towards healthy options only. Do not expect full English. Rooms are of a very good standard, I have only one fault regarding the bed. We had a standard room which results in two beds joined together and one very large duvet. Had there been a kingsize bed I would give this hotel 10/10. Very relaxing.

  • Marcus Wikars

  • October 2013

Beautiful grounds and Spa, food is a let down (for some)

The hotel is ok, but what sets it apart is the beautiful location and the services around the hotel.

Anyone staying here should borrow their bikes and take a ride through the bridleways behind the hotel, one note is that they do not offer you any maps or suggestions on routes so prepare yourselves to "explore" a bit. This is not a big flaw as it is easy to get lost in the landscape and you do not really mind spending an extra half an hour getting back to the hotel.

The food is bland and tasteless, but I assume that is due to the health farm "vibe" that the hotel portrays and if you are there for a Spa break then it fits the whole package.

  • Marcus Wikars

  • October 2013

great location, food slightly lacking

The hotel is ok, but what sets it apart is the beautiful location and the services around the hotel.

Anyone staying here should borrow their bikes and take a ride through the bridleways behind the hotel, one note is that they do not offer you any maps or suggestions on routes so prepare yourselves to "explore" a bit. This is not a big flaw as it is easy to get lost in the landscape and you do not really mind spending an extra half an hour getting back to the hotel.

The food is bland and tasteless, but I assume that is due to the health farm "vibe" that the hotel portrays and if you are there for a Spa break then it fits the whole package.