No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Warwick Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
27 Warwick Road , Cliftonville , , Margate, CT9 2JU
The Warwick Guest House is a sympathetically restored Edwardian house in Margate, on the Kent Coast.

We offer a choice of comfortable twin and double room accommodation - with the option to pick from rooms with full En Suites (including bath) private bathrooms or shared facilities.

Our cooked breakfasts use locally sourced and Fairtrade ingredients and feature homemade bread, potato cakes, pastries, preserves and muffins.

The Warwick is under 90 minutes from London on the high-speed trains from St Pancras International and, once here, only a five-minute walk from some of the finest blue flag beaches in Kent. We're also a short distance from Dover and Folkstone and a train-change away from Ashford International (if you're travelling to the UK via EuroStar).

We do not accept children under the age of 16.

There are no parking restrictions on Warwick Road, but parking is on a first come, first served basis and can be busy, especially later in the evenings.
Picture of The Warwick Guest House, Margate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful
This guesthouse is a real find. The hosts were lovely, the house is very carefully restored and maintained, and our room at the top of the house was gorgeous and thoughtfully equipped. We ate breakfast both days and it was delicious. I couldn't have improved my stay. I highly recommend The Warwick.

Reviewed by
Geraldine H

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Guest House (and delightful owners)
This is a lovely Edwardian house that has been beautifully renovated. The rooms are very comfortable and appealing. The breakfast was first-rate and the owners were personable and accommodating. The location is perfect if you want to spend your time between Margate and the beaches to the east (along the Viking Trail) towards Broadstairs. I highly recommend the Warwick Guest House.

Reviewed by
sonia f

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place, great welcome, and amazing breakfast
Beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. Very comfortable and relaxed, and we were made to feel really welcome. Lots of nice touches like DVDs and books in the room. Richard gave us some great suggestions for places to eat and drink. Best of all was the lovely breakfast - all home made and absolutely delicious.

Reviewed by
kate b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

higghly recommende
comfortable and friendly

Reviewed by
D Wilson

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, warm and friendly
Host was extremely welcoming. Great breakfast. Super loft room! Good location, 10 mins walk from old town

Reviewed by
e philips

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A diamond in the rough
Margate is not a place i would have chosen to go. Knowing that there are not many guest houses left and having stayed in a few over recent months i expected the same tired and worn out building. What i found was a diamond the quality of the guest house would and should be given a 5* rating.
everything was spotlessly clean and fresh.
The breakfast was most probably the best in any hotel type establishment i have ever stayed in.
Finally the 2 guys that run it make sure you have everything you need and are happy with everything.
I recommend this guest house to anyone and everyone its definitely the best place to stay in Thanet

Reviewed by
Martin Folwell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Hotel Room Ever
Lovely rooms and great hosts.
Breakfast was lovely and very close to the seaside.
Couldn't have been better.

Reviewed by
Oliver L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
Fabulous place to stay. Good welcome and a good overview of things. My room was the bright and cheery with an ensuite and a homely feel. Bubble bath and shampoo provided and a good tea trayA small teapot. would have been a bonus here.
. Bed was comfy but a bit squeaky but had lovely soft pillows. I felt Quiet and felt safe. The shower was the only criticsm without any force and not high enough for me being Six foot tall. I didnt care as I wanted a bath .Breakfast was the highlight of the stay with all freshly cooked Eggs Benedict with Amazing hollaindaise. Better than Queen Mary 2 ! Homemade cake, a large cafetiere of coffee and lemongrass/orange marmalade .. . a veritable feast . served with a smile. Nothing too much trouble . The breakfast room is well laid out and feels homely where guests can sit together and chat . Thank you and keep up good work. Just bare in mind limited parking after 8 oclock !

Reviewed by
S Rooke

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place and excellent breakfast
The room was quite nice although nothing outstanding. Wallpaper peeling a bit etc. Good toiletries and nice tea/coffee/biscuits.
The owners were lovely and the breakfast was really good. Lots of homemade food and the vegetarian sausages were great :-)
Very near the sea and a 15/20 minute walk from everything we wanted to see and do which was great.

Reviewed by
Anna L

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
Excellent accommodation and Richard was always around for your every need. Very good value for money. Only downside was a cat wandering around and I'm not a fan. I always wonder if they jump up onto kitchen surfaces etc so would question the hygiene. Otherwise very pleasant stay.

ManagementResponse

This review displays and lack of understanding of how a (semi) commercial kitchen is run and the home-run nature of our business. The idea that any food would be prepared directly on a work surface is ludicrous, whether there are cats in the house or not. Rob and Richard both have certificates in food health and hygiene (a pre-requirement for working with food on a commercial basis) and the guest house is regularly checked (and passed) by health and safety officers. However, what upsets us about this review is that the concerns raised about cleanliness are based on assumptions rather than any solid facts. Yet this guest seems happy to offer them up as truths, and content to tarnish the, otherwise, excellent reputation we have for cleanliness and food quality. We would also like to point out that our cats (who have been trained not to jump on any kitchen surfaces) are a part of our household. So if anyone reading this review doesn't like cats, then they would be better off finding somewhere else to stay. We are amazed that this particular guest saw our cats at all as they usually have a sense about people who like them or don't and keep out of their way accordingly. Sadly no such luxury is available to us as hosts.

Reviewed by
P BOWEN

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next