No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Warwick Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
27 Warwick Road , Cliftonville , , Margate, CT9 2JU
The Warwick Guest House is a sympathetically restored Edwardian house in Margate, on the Kent Coast.

We offer a choice of comfortable twin and double room accommodation - with the option to pick from rooms with full En Suites (including bath) private bathrooms or shared facilities.

Our cooked breakfasts use locally sourced and Fairtrade ingredients and feature homemade bread, potato cakes, pastries, preserves and muffins.

The Warwick is under 90 minutes from London on the high-speed trains from St Pancras International and, once here, only a five-minute walk from some of the finest blue flag beaches in Kent. We're also a short distance from Dover and Folkstone and a train-change away from Ashford International (if you're travelling to the UK via EuroStar).

We do not accept children under the age of 16.

There are no parking restrictions on Warwick Road, but parking is on a first come, first served basis and can be busy, especially later in the evenings.
Picture of The Warwick Guest House, Margate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, warm and friendly
Host was extremely welcoming. Great breakfast. Super loft room! Good location, 10 mins walk from old town

Reviewed by
e philips

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A diamond in the rough
Margate is not a place i would have chosen to go. Knowing that there are not many guest houses left and having stayed in a few over recent months i expected the same tired and worn out building. What i found was a diamond the quality of the guest house would and should be given a 5* rating.
everything was spotlessly clean and fresh.
The breakfast was most probably the best in any hotel type establishment i have ever stayed in.
Finally the 2 guys that run it make sure you have everything you need and are happy with everything.
I recommend this guest house to anyone and everyone its definitely the best place to stay in Thanet

Reviewed by
Martin Folwell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Hotel Room Ever
Lovely rooms and great hosts.
Breakfast was lovely and very close to the seaside.
Couldn't have been better.

Reviewed by
Oliver L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
Fabulous place to stay. Good welcome and a good overview of things. My room was the bright and cheery with an ensuite and a homely feel. Bubble bath and shampoo provided and a good tea trayA small teapot. would have been a bonus here.
. Bed was comfy but a bit squeaky but had lovely soft pillows. I felt Quiet and felt safe. The shower was the only criticsm without any force and not high enough for me being Six foot tall. I didnt care as I wanted a bath .Breakfast was the highlight of the stay with all freshly cooked Eggs Benedict with Amazing hollaindaise. Better than Queen Mary 2 ! Homemade cake, a large cafetiere of coffee and lemongrass/orange marmalade .. . a veritable feast . served with a smile. Nothing too much trouble . The breakfast room is well laid out and feels homely where guests can sit together and chat . Thank you and keep up good work. Just bare in mind limited parking after 8 oclock !

Reviewed by
S Rooke

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place and excellent breakfast
The room was quite nice although nothing outstanding. Wallpaper peeling a bit etc. Good toiletries and nice tea/coffee/biscuits.
The owners were lovely and the breakfast was really good. Lots of homemade food and the vegetarian sausages were great :-)
Very near the sea and a 15/20 minute walk from everything we wanted to see and do which was great.

Reviewed by
Anna L

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
Excellent accommodation and Richard was always around for your every need. Very good value for money. Only downside was a cat wandering around and I'm not a fan. I always wonder if they jump up onto kitchen surfaces etc so would question the hygiene. Otherwise very pleasant stay.

ManagementResponse

This review displays and lack of understanding of how a (semi) commercial kitchen is run and the home-run nature of our business. The idea that any food would be prepared directly on a work surface is ludicrous, whether there are cats in the house or not. Rob and Richard both have certificates in food health and hygiene (a pre-requirement for working with food on a commercial basis) and the guest house is regularly checked (and passed) by health and safety officers. However, what upsets us about this review is that the concerns raised about cleanliness are based on assumptions rather than any solid facts. Yet this guest seems happy to offer them up as truths, and content to tarnish the, otherwise, excellent reputation we have for cleanliness and food quality. We would also like to point out that our cats (who have been trained not to jump on any kitchen surfaces) are a part of our household. So if anyone reading this review doesn't like cats, then they would be better off finding somewhere else to stay. We are amazed that this particular guest saw our cats at all as they usually have a sense about people who like them or don't and keep out of their way accordingly. Sadly no such luxury is available to us as hosts.

Reviewed by
P BOWEN

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warwick Guest House Margate
Comfortable conveniently located guest house near the sea and Northdown Road Margate.

ManagementResponse

Sometimes one wishes that it were possible to write reviews for other hotel and accommodation providers to give them valuable feedback on potential guests. This is one of those occasions. While it is nice to see that we were given full marks cleanliness and value for money, we were very surprised to receive a meagre two out of five for our food quality. Here at The Warwick, we pride ourselves on giving our guests locally sourced and home made breakfast ingredients. This includes homemade potato cakes, vegetarian sausages, jams, marmalade and pastries. Our eggs (free range) and our tomatoes (organically grown, and served with herbs from our garden) come from a local farm, while our bacon and sausages come from an award winning butchers' at the top of our street. We are sorry if this isn't good enough a guest paying the princely sum of £29. Particularly one whose manners didn't extend beyond shouting down from his room when he couldn't remember which one he was in, and who had to be asked to turn his TV down just after 11:30 because it could be heard round the property. One might assume that the latter point resulted in our disappointing four out of six for customer service. Many thanks, Richard

Reviewed by
R Dow

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accomodation, great hosts
Great b and b, very warm welcome, comfy room and bed, lovely big bath towel.
Great breakfast, best scrambled egg had in ages and home made marmalade, yum!
Would definitely reccomend and would stay again.

Reviewed by
K Johnson

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warwick Guest House, Margate
A beautifully renovated Edwardian terraced house within a five minute walk to the sea. Not only is the house impeccably restored and de4corated but it is also full of an array of unusual period pictures and ornaments and a joy to stay in.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Buckhurst Hill, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfotable ensuite doublebed room.Tea/coffee table 2 chairs tv
Pleasant atmosphere for a relaxing time. Food homemade and tasty.

Reviewed by
Naomi D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next