No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sun Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street, , , Hook Norton, OX15 5NH
While you can be assured of cosy log fires, oak beams and flagstone floors, we’d like to think that the outstanding local ales, fine British food and excellent wines will keep you coming back.But there’s more to The Sun Inn than great food and a bed for the night. Make sure you bring your walking shoes, so you can spend time exploring the surrounding countryside, with its picturesque Cotswold and Ironstone villages and historic stately homes. And not to forget our very own historic gem - Hook Norton Brewery, a short walk through the village. After a long walk followed by a fabulous lunch, or a family dinner to mark that special occasion, settle down for the night in one our six cosy en-suite rooms. All enjoy lovely views of St Peter’s, Hook Norton’s fourteenth century church, at the heart of the village. Whatever your interest the Ashford and Tenterden area has something for you, and it's all no more than an hour from London and the M25. The introduction of the high speed train service now gets you to London St. Pancras in 37 minutes, or why not combine your visit to the area with a trip to Europe? Eurostar services from Ashford International station will whisk you off to Paris, Brussels or Lille.
Picture of The Sun Inn, Hook Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs repairs
On both beds, you could feel the springs through. The curtains were hanging off their rail. Walls were badly in need of a coat of paint. The en-suite had mold on the ceiling in one corner. There was no bedside light. You do expect some noise from a pub, but we could hear very loud voices from down stairs in the bar and outside until about 3 am, and so my wife and I hardly had any sleep at all, which considering we had a long journey the next day was not good. Where we had our breakfast was full of surplus furniture. Not worth the £80 we paid.

Reviewed by
P Cahill

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable Pub Accommodation
Booked this very last minute such that the room was not ready when I arrived but the staff were very helpful and immediately got the room ready. Food was good as well as the service. Room was a bit tired.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and staff very good
Only thing that was slightly disappointing was the lack of breakfast availability on the 2nd morning so it was a quick bowl of shreddies and back to my room for a cup of tea before leaving.
Otherwise, everything was very good.

Reviewed by
Helen G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant food and lovely room
Arrived at 9pm and no problem to cook me something-when it arrived it tasted even better when it also looked so good too. Had supreme of chicken in a creamy sauce with mushrooms,garlic mash and pay choice. room was nice spotless with lovely bathroom. But could have done with some
Shampoo in bathroom.

Reviewed by
Janet Wilson

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Lovely pub with accommodation , no hot water to start with but as soon as we mentioned this it was sorted straight away, friendly staff and we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Mandy B

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking
The most deplorable standard of food the only good thing was the plate it arrived on. Breakfast was marginally better unfortunately the presentation of breakfast and lack of service did not help the situation. The lack of heating in the bedroom was awful and the shower failed completely giving out only freezing water. The hotelier did reduce the bill by £10 but overall he should have halved it.

Reviewed by
I PEARSON

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant pub sited really close to a brewery that does bookable tours and tastings !
Easy to find with plenty of parking right outside. Really friendly staff, The pub wasn't too busy or noisy and the evening food was really good quality and presented very well. Full English breakfast available with cereal options - far better than we expected. We stayed at the Sun Inn as we'd pre-booked a tour at the Hook Norton brewery which was 2 minutes down the road. (Absolutely fantastic place). We went in February, it was a bit damp and cold outside and the heating struggled to get going. The room was basic and comfortable and the bathroom was excellent - a real eye opener. In warmer weather it will be superb.

Reviewed by
Elisabeth Armstrong

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival the pub doors were closed and there appeared to be nobody in. Telephone number was left on the pub door unfortunately the pub is in a valley and mobiles do not work. Had to wait for the pub to reopen at six before we could get in.

Reviewed by
Mick B

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, great room, fabulous bathroom - all excellent
We stayed overnight following the Cornbury music festival - conveniently situated for the Great Tew estate, Was warmly greeted on arrival by friendly staff and allowed to have access to the room earlier than website indicated as I was going out for the day. The room was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was fabulous. Lots of fluffy white towels available. Breakfast the next day was at our convenience. No complaints, would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally relaxing
We had two lovely nights at the Sun. The room was fairly basic but the bed was very comfortable. We had two excellent breakfasts and also a superb evening meal from an extensive menu. There were four of us and each enjoyed their choice. Mine was Gloucester Old Spot pork. Also excellent beer!

Reviewed by
Douglas S

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next