No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - County Arms

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
21 HIGHERTOWN , TRURO, TR1 3PY
The Inn offers 33 top quality bedrooms, providing all the amenities you would expect from a hotel, with modern en-suites, air-conditioning, luxury Vi-Spring mattresses, flat-screen televisions, useful workspace and tea and coffee making facilities. Communal areas are also available for meeting friends. We have a very popular restaurant on site which serves food all day, advance bookings for lunch and dinner are recommended. We also offer free car parking and free WiFi to all guests. No payments will be taken from your card at booking stage, payment for your room will be taken upon your arrival to the hotel during the check-in process. We offer 24hr Reception desk cover.

The County Arms is ideally located within a 10 – 15 minute walk of the town centre, train station, Royal Cornwall and Duchy hospitals, County Hall and Truro College. Conveniently situated on the A390, it is the perfect base for visiting the Roseland, St Austell and Falmouth and is only a 10 minute drive from the A30 with easy access to West and North Cornwall and Newquay Airport.
Picture of County Arms, TRURO at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accessible, welcoming and very comfortable
It's always a problem finding accommodation that really IS accessible, but this hotel was. Lovely spacious room, with a wet room style bathroom. The staff were knowledgeable and courteous. We'd stay there again!
My only comments on the slightly negative side are specialist access things, that wouldn't affect the average user. (That's what you get when you ask a disability advisor to write a review!!) I write them here just to help other possible guests who have a disability.
These things are: The door access push buttons were not working anymore - instead a bell had been fitted with a notice saying ring for assistance. Plus the lighting in the bedroom, although reasonable, is not good over the mirrors, especially if you have low vision like myself. The light over the desk/dressing table mirror was in the ceiling and too high for good light on the face - you had to stand to be able to see properly (It's an accessible room - standing isn't always good!) The mirror in the bathroom had no light over it, making it unusable for those with poor vision.
The accessible room we had backed onto the reception area, and it was possible to hear noise from the reception at night, including what I thought might be the printer bumping.

Reviewed by
Kay M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

County Arms
Thank you. It was really nice. I felt like I was at home. :)

Reviewed by
Hristo Babev

From THRAPSTON, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff, the family room we stayed in was on the small side but clean and fresh
This is our second stay in this hotel and would definitely stay again. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are modern and clean. We stayed in a family room which was on the small side but perfectly adequate for our length of stay, our teenage son slept on the sofa bed which he pronounced to be 'very comfy'. The restaurant food is good although I personally found the menu a bit lacking in choice but saying that it is a typical pub menu. The service however is brilliant and again we found the staff to be very helpful.

Reviewed by
Dawn Chambers-Smith

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable room, great meal
We had a room on the ground floor. great size of the room. decoration was modern and tidy. the most comfortable bed in the hotel ever. great night sleep and quiet. the pub served really good food and great value for money. great views outside.

Reviewed by
D Parker

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect for our needs
We only stayed for one night but would have been more than happy to stay longer. We stayed in a family room which was spacious, modern and very clean. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel, the food was good and the staff were helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Dawn C

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel
A very comfortable, clean room with great facilities, in a beautiful hotel. The breakfast was superb. My only slight gripe was that the pillows were very hard and I found it difficult to get comfortable in bed for some time.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

immaculate rooms
This was our second stay and we returned because the rooms are lovely though this time we over looked the car park room 29 which I would not have again as you can be seen in your room direct from the car park, had to ask for heating to be put on as could not get it to work and they tried to overcharge for breakfast and were a bit put out when I challenged and did not apologise but having said that would still recommend this hotel as very well kept rooms and good location for travelling around

Reviewed by
d sims

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
J Wall

From Dawlish, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Quality of room and fittings was excellent, but croissants at breakfast were not properly cooked ( contents were doughy). When we pointed this out a member of staff offered to re-cook them, but there was not time as we were in a hurry!

Reviewed by
Anthony Seeley

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice base for touring area
We spent two nights here, the hotel and rooms are clean bright and spacious, the attached bar has a lovely country feel and the terrace for dining is a great feature in good weather with good country views which belies the fact that your just a 20 min walk to town, although big hill to come back so unless you like walking lots walk down and bus or cab back, nice basic food menu, although breakfast was not included in our room cost which was unusual and we thought the extra cost of 8'00 pounds a bit pricey, all in all a great stay we had and excellant base to tour from

Reviewed by
d sims

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next