Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Oxfordshire > Charlecote Hotels > Innkeeper’s Lodge Stratford-upon-Avon, Wellesbourne
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper’s Lodge Stratford-upon-Avon, Wellesbourne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Kings Head Vintage Inn, Warwick Road, Wellesbourne, CV35 9LX
You’ll find this historic lodge in the charming village of Wellesbourne, surrounded by miles of green Warwickshire fields. It’s handy if you’re looking for accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon or near Warwick, and is a good starting point for exploring the Cotswolds.

The lodge is at a classic country inn that’s been a crucial part of Wellesbourne life since the 1600s. It always offers a hearty menu of seasonally inspired pub-food, complemented by a well-chosen range of wines and cask ales.

If you’re relaxing in the village, why not grab a bargain at the famous Wellesbourne Market, one of the largest outdoor markets in the UK? Or head into Stratford, the historic hometown of Shakespeare, to watch a play at the recently revamped Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Warwick Castle, one of the most popular attractions in the country, is also nearby and makes for a great family day out.
Picture of Innkeeper’s Lodge Stratford-upon-Avon, Wellesbourne, Wellesbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely service for evening meal + v good value menu. Room small (think others bigger) but fine for an overnight stay

Reviewed by
J Collins

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

PUB with rooms
Satisfactory; sanitary ware slightly dated.

Reviewed by
william clarke

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review hotel service
Service and help good, but the room was a little basic. Shower mats and other extra items, were not included , they had to be requested. The main bugbear was being requested to pay on every occusion in advance for the room, purchase of drinks, and after our meal, why the hotel didn't swipe a credit card is a mystiry. Food in the restaurant ok but the chicken dish was well overcooked. Waitress was told, but no comment from the kitchen.

Reviewed by
Michael Cross

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

average/poor
basic room,and small. Very noisy,late evening, and periods of noise throughout the night. only got three hours sleep, then had to go to an important meeting, not good !!No cooked breakfast,and during breakfast the cleaner strolled through the room with cleaning materials and a mop and bucket, not good. I had a word with staff, who just said he would make Naomi aware of it and that was that. We will never stay there again, or recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
e broadhurst

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Wonderful place to stay it would be nice to be able to check in at 3pm instead of 4:30pm.

Reviewed by
P Deague

From Australia, Other
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with a cooked breakfast
We stayed for one night, the room was ok for that one nights sleep but any longer it would be quite small, when we went for breakfast we were disappointed that there was no provision for a cooked breakfast. The breakfast was self serve cereal and toast basically and we felt this was not upto the standard of the accommodation. Very let down!!

Reviewed by
david c

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A comfortable and enjoyable break. We were made very welcome. The accommodation was very good.

Reviewed by
Patricia B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return to Wellesbourne.
We wished to return to the village where we had lived when young marrieds and booked a night at The King's Head, Wellesbourne. This is a country pub with rooms. We were made very welcome, our room was comfortable and very clean with all we needed for a night's stay. The bed was comfortable and there was a very good and spacious shower in the en-suite. Our room, at our request overlooked the church (where our babies were christened) and had a very leafy aspect. The included buffet breakfast included cereals, yogurt, fruit, toast (white and brown) muffins and croissants with adequate butter and jam, marmite etc. There was a selection of teas (breakfast and fruit flavours) and coffee. This was all self selection with toaster, hot water etc provided. The breakfast room was quiet and provided a peaceful start to the day. We found it very good value and enjoyed our stay. We would be pleased to stay there again and give it our recommendation. In addition we had a very reasonable evening meal and lunch there.

Reviewed by
Christine B

From Ilminster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff very hard to find needs better signage

Reviewed by
j c

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean but basic the customer service was great and the restaurant food was fantastic have to admit the breakfast was really poor tho

Reviewed by
A Lawton

From Penkhull, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next