Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > East Sussex > Southborough Hotels > Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Hand & Sceptre, London Road, Southborough, Tunbridge Wells, TN4 0QB
"Nestled amongst some of the prettiest villages in Kent, Innkeeper’s Lodge Southborough offers characterful yet convenient accommodation in the Royal Tunbridge Wells area.

Dating back to 1728, this beautifully restored lodge is a lovely place to unwind – whether you’re attending a conference at the Camden Centre or simply enjoying the best of what the Garden of England has to offer. Grab a seat on the pub’s terrace and you might even catch a game of cricket on the picturesque Southborough green.

Inside, you’ll find both period charm and modern luxury aplenty. There are 14 comfy rooms a cosy, stylish pub serving fresh, seasonal food and top-drawer drinks.

Southborough, a bustling little town with a 75-acre common, is a perfect base for exploring nearby attractions. There’s Groombridge Place, a moated manor house with a secret garden, and museum devoted to the works of Sherlock Holmes creator, Arthur Conan Doyle. Equally worth exploring are the 125 acres of beautiful gardens around Hever Castle, or the English wines at Lamberhurst Vineyards.
"
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, Tunbridge Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and good value for money

Reviewed by
Tony H

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Room was very clean and comfortable but a bit bijou. Shower room was also bijou, but clean and very good shower.

Reviewed by
v brickett

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was perfect stay. Room was specious, very clean. Our windows were facing main road but we had no problems at all as windows had double glazing. Breakfast was good, all restaurant area spotless, staff very friendly and attentive. Won't hesitate to book again.

Reviewed by
I Howard

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for 1 night
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Innkeepers Lodge @ Southborough for one night as we were attending a wedding at nearby High Rocks. The B&B is easy to find and parking is free and ample. Checkin was smooth and the guy was extremely friendly. We were in room 5, the rooms are small but well supplied with a nice view. Full compliment of teas and coffee making equipment in the room, flat screen tv and very clean. Bed was comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. The only issue we had was that the shower wouldn't turn off entirely leaving a reasonable amount of water running constantly. When we got back from the wedding at 2.30am it was stll going and we had to ring the night staff to come and fix it which thankfully they did. I would recommend staying here for 1 night in future aslong as the shower is fixed however the room for me was too small for a longer stay.

Reviewed by
Katie P

From Bexley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked very late, day before stay
Room we stayed in was right at the top and the front of the building so faced onto a busy road. The bed was comfy but the pillows seemed "lumpy". Bedroom and bathroom were both small but well fitted out. The hotel was easy to find and had free parking. We had a very nice family meal in the restaurant on one of the evening.

Reviewed by
David F

From Wadebridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No breakfast
Rate inc breakfast according to reception breakfast starts at 7am - went down at 7.15am still hovering the restaurant , man and woman staff there who said you can have coffe but we wont be ready for another ten mins- so just got up and left -- don't say breakfast is from 7am if you can not do it

Reviewed by
J Burtwell

From Winchfield , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather a warm night so we opened the window and found it very noisy from traffic.
Someone accidentally set off the burglar alarm at 12 midnight. This woke me up and I found it hard to relax again. The basin waste was blocked and did not drain away properly.
Otherwise fine! Good evening meal and complementary breakfast.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel and pub
Was really impressed with the modern rooms and a cracking pub with really nice food. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
James H

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Innkeepers Lodge
Excellent short stay- great value for money. Friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

40
We were very impressed with the majority of the staff. They did their best and were very attentive to our needs. The restaurant area was also very pleasant. A real delight. The food was acceptable but not top class (when realted to the price).
The room was too small for two people. I had to go twice to reception as there was first one cup only and later discovered that there was only one set of towels. It had clearly been prepared for a single person. I asked to change room but was told that all the rooms were the same.The first night was a nightmare as we realised that the duvet was really too short for the bed. It does not hang to allow for two bodies going under it. My wife and I are of normal size so I dread to imagine what would oversized people think of it. We left a note asking to change the duvet but when we came back the duvet was the same and no explanation given. We had to conclude that the Hotel does not possess a larger duvet. What a pity as our second night was just as sleepless as the first. The shower was lovely but the whole area was so small that you had to be careful at all times to avoid knocking things down, damaging something or hurting yourself. I will categorically not use this hotel any more. I would still like to receive apologies from the Hotel and confirmation that they will change the size of the duvets. If the rooms are all the same they should be sold as single rooms only.

Reviewed by
Filippo Rotunno

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next