Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough

3

The Hand & Sceptre, London Road, Southborough, Tunbridge Wells, TN4 0QB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Chris W

  • July 2015

Poor Breakfast and indifferent staff.

We stayed at the Innkeepers Lodge, Southborough.

(The Hand & Sceptre). Whilst the bar & restaurant were very nice, the room was adequate, but quite tired, but not a problem. However breakfast was very poor. Only continental included in the price even though it said breakfast included, it did not specify continental. (You can of course pay extra for a full breakfast!). The "continental" breakfast provided was sparse, they had run out of orange juice & marmalade. I had to ask for ordinary teabags. The containers for yoghurt and jams,etc, were mainly empty. The staff were indifferent about the situation and there was no management available to speak to. We left feeling rather ripped off.

  • Pauline B

  • April 2015

An excellent experience

  • L Gray

  • January 2015

Good but ....

I always stay here while on business in kent, nice rooms, staff friendly and easy parking but over the last few stays I have noticed that the rooms are feeling and looking dirty.

Very dusty, the basics are always done but dust is gathering around the edge of the room, on top of curtains and even on the walls.

All the rooms need a good spring clean, steam clean all surfaces, pull everything out and clean. Plus things like the controls need cleaning. It's a shame as I really like the hotel.

  • Dermot Ward

  • December 2014

Overall pretty good

Friendly polite staff, room was clean, warm and comfortable, possibly a little pricy without a full English included 😀.

  • A Thomas

  • November 2014

catatonia

The public areas were shabby and dirty, the window in the room had a broken hinge, no bedside table and there was a very unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom.

Breakfast was cheap and basic and once you had paid on arrival, that was the last interaction you had with any staff. The place needs a refresh!

  • AR J

  • November 2014

A mixture of comments

First the good points.

Friendly, efficient check in. Decent continental breakfast. Clean bed linen. Good central heating. Good bathroom. Bad points. Tired bedroom. Only 1 chair to sit on, for 2 people. Dirty carpet. Poor value for price paid.

  • Peter A

  • November 2014

Booked this accommodation from previous experience with travellers lodge but this one wasn't as good

Arrived late around 9.15 but couldn't get any food which meant I had to find somewhere to eat.

Room was ok but lacked maintenance and good housekeeping. Tatty toilet seat that was loose and marked. Hairs in the shower. Clean bed but the entrance looked a bit tired. Room on front of hotel with secondary glazing to combat very noisy main road so couldn't have the window open and slept poorly because of it. Continental breakfast was ok. Wouldn't chose this hotel again.

  • ALLAN TODD

  • November 2014

Very enjoyable stay good value for money will stay again at this hotel

  • a doherty

  • October 2014

nicely located for my purposes, warm and efficient welcome, room of a good standard and comfortable.

Breakfast and dinner were both very nice.

  • Sarah F

  • October 2014

Very good option for staying in Tunbridge Wells

We stayed for one night and initially tried to book something closer to the town centre but everything was much more expensive or fully booked.

This turned out to be a great option. Our room was large and nicely furnished. Good bathroom with nice toiletries. It was a little noisy when we opened the window but certainly nothing to disturb our night and we got back after the pub was closed so that didn't disturb us either. Breakfast was nice with a decent choice for a continental. Would definitely book again if I am in the area.