No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Town House Crown Carvery, 18-22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich, NR7 0EF
Whether you’re planning to explore historic Norwich or soak up the scenery of the Norfolk Broads, you’d be hard pushed to find a hotel as perfectly placed as this.

Nestled in a lovely spot on the banks of the River Yare, opposite Whittingham Country Park, the lodge houses 14 warm and welcoming rooms as well as a Crown Carvery. So you can enjoy the tranquility of the area with your choice of roast, freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds.

Norwich has some of the best medieval architecture in Britain with a Norman motte and bailey castle and a fine cathedral dating back to 1096. It’s also home to the Norfolk Broads, the largest protected wetlands in the country. They’re a mecca for sailors, motor-boaters, canoeists and fishing enthusiasts – although walkers, bird watchers and cyclists will find plenty to do without having to get wet. Norwich Aviation Museum is just up the road, too.
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
hotel was very comfortable and pleasant staff. carvery very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
samantha k

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really pleasant staff, lovely hotel would recommend to anyone

Reviewed by
adrian e

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No sign saying check in etc when arriving from the car par park.
Was met with a abrupt you cant check in until 3 o'clock !!
So we had a carvery which was gorgeous and so was the view of the river .
We checked into our room at 15.01 -)) and was shown to our room. Room was very nice and yes we had the river view as promised if you looked through the trees ...
Also when I booked I was told inc breakfast ... yes but its not a full English breakfast that's extra !!
The chap behind the bar with the glasses and mustache needs to have lessons in how to smile and not to look down at blokes who are bigger than him , it was a good job I was in a good mood. Felt I was in his living room and not in a public house. The member of staff who checked us out was fantastic !!! we only wish it was she who checked us in, if the two people who where there when we arrived had half the good attitude this woman had they would be a asset to the Lodge and apply there trade well.

Reviewed by
M White

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Norwich
A lovely location by the river and with good weather (we had that) the garden is a super place for a drink and watch river life go by.
Food is cheap and huge quantities but you sacrifice quality and low cholesterol no doubt! Beer is also good value and they keep a good pint of Adnams Southwold Bitter

Reviewed by
Glyn D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Very nice hotel with carvary . The best part of it for me was the water side beer garden.

Reviewed by
M Cane

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and polite staff, fantastic view from our riverside room and very good riverside garden. Limited choice for breakfast but overall good value for money.

Reviewed by
K DAS

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Norwich by the river.
Small, clean & comfortable room. Comfortable bed. Some rooms overlook riverside gardens. Yes would stay again but would probably go out to eat as carvery at £4 not particularly exciting and would prefer better quality meal at a higher price. Inclusive breakfast perfectly acceptable.

Reviewed by
Peter F

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
went fishing with a mate needed a early start ideal

Reviewed by
DAVID CLARK

From WESTCLIFF ON SEA , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great value for money - Food and Staff top draw

Reviewed by
MATT G

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base, very friendly staff
Stayed at the Town House for 2 nights to attend a family function. The location was ideal for my needs, although can't vouch for its proximity to Norwich City Centre, or any tourist attractions.
My room was spacious, and clean, and as it was at the end of the corridor was very quiet. I had the continental breakfast that was included in the room rate, which was very basic (toast and cereal, some fresh fruit and some yogurt pots), but perfect for my requirements, and there was the option to pay a small supplement for a cooked breakfast, which looked like excellent value for money.
The staff at the Town House were lovely, and very friendly. I only have a couple of small suggestions for improvement. The first is, as a single female traveller, I would have preferred that there was a safety chain on the door, or the option to double-lock the door from the inside. Without either, there's always the slightly nagging concern that someone could let themselves into your room in the middle of the night. The second is (although the hotel gets MASSIVE points for having a full-sized hairdryer in the room), the available plug sockets and the one mirror were at opposite ends of the room - so absolutely no hope of drying your hair with the use of a mirror!
Other than these relatively small quibbles - I would be very happy to use the Town House again if I was in need of an overnight base in Norwich.

Reviewed by
Sally H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next