No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
13 Market Place , Faringdon , SN7 7HP
Small 14th Century family run, friendly hotel in the idyllic town of Faringdon, lots of quirky features, old beams and uneven floors add to its character. Large restaurant with an extensive menu and family friendly room as well as our 8 en suite rooms make us a great destination for all occasions and we are dog friendly too!

The Church of All Saints, presiding over the town from the North end of the Market Place, is the oldest surviving building in the town as well as the most imposing from the outside and the most interesting within. It should resurrect a thousand years of history about the town. The Red Lion, profitably built in the Corn Market, is claimed to go back to 1432, while there are medieval parts in the Crown Coaching Inn and the Bell Hotel, north and south of the Market Place. Other venerable buildings are the Old Town Hall, built soon after the Civil War, and The Society of Friends Meeting House, built in 1696.
Picture of The Bell Hotel, Faringdon  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice atmosphere

Reviewed by
Michal C

From Czech Republic
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, friendly hotel
We stayed for one night and were very pleased with our room and the friendly service we received.
Breakfast was great too.

Reviewed by
G Newbury

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good - Could be outstanding
I believe the management is very new to this hotel; is aware of the decor of the bedrooms, and cannot yet be responsible for their condition. This is largely cosmetic and, although it needs sorting (carpet replacement/bathroom refurb/paint) as a priority, any more ambitious projects could follow at a more leisurely pace. The small hotel is old and quirky with the uneven floors and almost random beams. It has, therefore, a fantastic character and tremendous potential. The basics are spot on; the attention and friendliness of the staff, and the really superb quality of the food provides excellent value. The Bell is ideally situated on the picturesque town square, and could build an enviable reputation.

Reviewed by
Brian D

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with accommodation. Staff very welcoming and friendly. 0nly adverse comment is that we found the shower difficult to use to get water temperature to our liking, but that could possibly just be us. Very comfortable bed. Very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
K Bennett

From Shifnal, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

definitely dog friendly
Took out two golden retrievers away with us for a weekend. So impressed with the relaxed and friendly welcome we all received here. The building has great character with sloping floors and creaking floor boards. The breakfast was particularly excellent with really tasty sausage and bacon. We would happily go back.

Reviewed by
Caroline W

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Recently stayed Fri 30th & Sat 31st May and was met by a warm friendly atmosphere in the hotel, bar staff were friendly and helpful, The room was spotless and as it was an old hotel the uneven floors made it even more charming, The food was lovely and the breakfast had the best sausages I have ever tasted, We are just wondering when to book again here

Reviewed by
j swaine

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and really pleasant staff.
My room was small and quirky but it's an old country pub so that's to be expected. As I was on business I would have liked a desk to do some work in the evenings but I think this pub is more for leisure and tourism than business. The food was excellent and the full English breakfast about the best I've had over the past few years. Great selection of beer and the pub seemed popular which is always a good sign. Best thing about the Bell was the friendliness and willingness of the staff to help you, can't ask for more than that in this price range.

Reviewed by
David C

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly wonderful inn.
Fantastic! The opposite of a big chain hotel. Lots of friendly regulars and super staff. I'll be going back.

Reviewed by
Alexis Day

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Bell Hotel.
Very friendly staff. Comfortable bed in a good size room. A typical old fashioned country inn with charm.

Reviewed by
J Weaver

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of Character
This family run hotel is full of welcome and the food is top notch. An olde worlde public house with log burning fire, with a good selection of beers. We shall most definitely return.

Reviewed by
T Olson

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next