Reviews - The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell


Little Coxwell , ,, Faringdon, SN7 7LW

Price From 168.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • R WEBB

  • October 2015

Away from it all.

Second time we have stayed here and we were not disappointed.

The Eagle Tavern is in the middle of a little village and there is nothing else there, but it is perfect for a 'get away from it all' break. The property looks like a pub but it clearly caters for the dining market as it has award winning chefs and an extensive menu selection - however the two ales on offer (what I look for first) were well kept and good value. We had room 3 which was cosy and tidy with a shabby chic feel. The view was nothing to write home about, offering a vista of nearby houses and rooftops but this didn't concern us. There wasn't any storage space in the room to hang clothes etc due to the lack of wardrobe, but again as we were there for just one night, this wasn't a worry. In all, another pleasant stay at The Eagle Tavern. The staff were welcoming and friendly and I would have no hesitation to returning again and again.

  • John R

  • September 2015

A welcome nights rest on a walking weekend

We found the staff very helpful and friendly, the room was nice a quiet for a pub but could have done with a wardrobe.

The menu looked interesting and judging by the standard of the breakfast would be worth trying (we were meeting friends in another pub. D├ęcor was unfussy and respected the character of the building. The village is classic English village complete with thatch cottages

  • Anne-Marie M

  • July 2015

quick stopover

The welcome was very friendly and staff very helpful.

The room was a bit tired and dated, but that didn't matter to us. Room was very clean with clean bedding and towels. I would definately use this place again.

  • Richard B

  • June 2015

Excellent food, rooms a bit tired.

The menu is interesting, with a Eastern European twist to some of the dishes.

Apricot chicken and the lamb were both delicious. Would definitely stay again.

  • David G

  • June 2015

Ideal area for touring

Room was spacious and clean, could have done with another chair.

Friendly staff,and good evening meal. Breakfast was either full english or continental - no cereal or etc with full english. The only complaint was that the milk in the room was over 2weeks out of date.

  • Andrew B

  • June 2015

Really nice

Relaxing and welcoming

  • Paul N

  • May 2015

Better than a plastic palace

After an awful experience in Chester the night before, in probably the worst hotel I have stopped in for ages, it was so nice to relax in a cosy village pub with good rooms, good food and good beer.

The staff are excellent, and could not be more helpful....................I hope I get the chance to stay again. Beware plastic palaces - go to a traditional Inn like this.

  • G Ross

  • March 2015

The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell

We felt the bathroom was too small and the shower flooded the floor if you used it and went hot/cold.

The power points were behind a cabinet with the tea facilities on top and nowhere near the mirrors in the room. This meant having to have the cable for my hairdryer passing through the cups. The kettle had, had some water left in it and was discoloured on one side. The staff were very friendly and professional and the food is superb and well worth staying for.

  • R Johns

  • March 2015

Great place for good price

The room was exceptionally nice, as is the premises as a whole.

This is the second time we have stayed, and will return again when we next visit friends in Faringdon. Very minor gripe about sound proofing in the rooms as we could hear what was going on outside, and the plumbing was noisy in the morning when the adjoining room took a shower, but these are really very small things. The menu for dinner looked amazing, although we didn't eat anything other than breakfast, which was lovely.

  • Peggy T

  • February 2015

Eagle Tavern - A little gem

Excellent service and food, such good value for money, would definitely stay here again.