No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Little Coxwell, , , Faringdon, SN7 7LW
The Eagle is a Edwardian pub built in 1901 to serve the local farming community. The Pub has a U shaped bar and is tastefully furnished, the restaurant is located to the rear of the building and has lovely reclaimed wood tables to create a rustic yet elegant feel. The pub is at the centre of this beautiful village and is great place to meet very friendly local community. Bed and breakfast is available in six beautiful en-suite rooms. The Eagle Tavern is tucked away in the village of Little Coxwell, situated less than a mile off the A420 between Shrivenham and Faringdon in the Vale of the White Horse, 15 miles from Oxford, 9 miles from Swindon, and 70miles from London. The Eagle Tavern is closed on Monday all day and Sunday evening, if you are booking accommodation please not that restaurant and bar is closed on these days. Faringdon is a historic market town set in beautiful countryside. It has many local places of interest to visit and is well situated for easy access to Oxford, Cirencester, The Cotswolds, The Thames, Abingdon, Witney. There is a varied range of accommodation and many restaurants and pubs for good food. Faringdon has panoramic views from its pretty perch on a golden limestone ridge between two beautiful river valleys, the Ock and the Thames. Its prominent position at the junction of ancient roads made it a historic centre for trade and travellers. A few moments stroll from the centre of Faringdon leads to open fields and a network of footpaths. A short ride takes you to two national trails - The Thames Path and The Ridgeway and a variety of themed walks such as Willow Walk, Cotswald water parks or Wildlife park.
Picture of The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell, Faringdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place to stay. very friendly staff and lovely clean room. food was lovely.
Would stay there again. Lovely place

Reviewed by
j curtis

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a Pub but an excellent place to stay and eat
The Eagle Tavern is a lovely place and has clearly been very tastefully modernised and furnished with all of the small but important things in place.
It is clear that the owners have and are putting a great deal of love, effort and money into the place and they deserve to be rewarded.
The Eagle provides a very high standard of care, food and comfort for a very inexpensive rate and in a quiet but conveniently situated village location.
However, the Eagle is not any more a Pub in any sense of the word, it is a restaurant with accommodation and I prefer a pub in the more traditional sense with a community.

Reviewed by
David S

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trying Hard but not Quite Delivering....
My overwhelming sensation upon leaving the Eagle was of an opportunity missed. The staff were all very pleasant, personable and friendly. The room was comfortable without sending either of us into raptures. There were several little niggles; the flex for the hairdryer supplied in the room only reached from the plug socket to the mirror on the wall if the room courtesy tray was dismantled and moved; the kettle had a poory fitting lid which emitted a scalding jet of steam as one attempted to pour the water out and the television was a small screen that could not be watched from the bed by anyone more miopic than me.
Mine Host is a chef with aspirations to win rosettes and stars and promises a fusion of Anglo/Central European food. Sadly the meal thyat we were served failed to live up to the hype. Any ambiance in the dining room was washed out by a central pendant light and five wall mounted light fittings, we had been seated for almost ten minutes before I realised that we had a lit candle on the table! The starters were fair and the mushroom souffle/omelette was very flavoursome; the rest of the meal was bland and only memorable for how it failed to deliver. My main course was stuffed chicken served with a sauteed onion slice, two carrot strips, a small serving of tasteless german pasta and a bechamel sauce, my wife was served with three fishcakes that had a fleeting taste of fish. For dessert my wife was served a deconstructed lemon meringue complete with flavoured "snow" and mint droplets. The whole meal hinted at lemon meringue flavour but failed to deliver more. My dessert was the cheeseboard, which consisted of four crackers from a packet (at a cost of £2 each) and three slivers of cheese; I swear that one of the cheddar slices was so thin as to be almost see-through.
I may be accused of being a philistine, but this was not my idea of fine dining.

Reviewed by
Nick Q

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfekt
Wir hatten einen wunderbaren Aufenthalt mit einem super freundlichen Service !

Reviewed by
Carsten E

From Wildeshausen, Germany
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay - Warm welcome and good food
I would definitely recommend the Eagle. A warm welcome on arrival and for the entire stay.
The restaurant bar served good quality food at a reasonable price.
The room was very comfortable, spacious and I had a great nights sleep.

Reviewed by
A H

From Pembrey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Night's Sleep in a very long time
I've travelled up and down the UK, and this hotel has got to be the best that I've ever stayed in.
I arrived late and was greeted with a smile and a no need to rush attitude. When I was ready I was shown to my room and where the dinning room was. This added to the personal touch which I really like in a hotel. The room was very clean and tidy. Breakfast again had the personal touch.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Clark

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolute joy !
I never expected such a wonderful little gem.
Perfect in every way & you even get cooked for by 'Marcel', (who by the way has been on 'Masterchef' the professionals) the Co-owner.
Just marvelous !

Reviewed by
Lyndon Matthews

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant accommodation
The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming,and always interested in what you had done for the day. However I never met "the boss"as the staff referred to him or her, despite knowing they were in the kitchen on my arrival they never made themselves known or checked with me that everything was ok. I was surprised that my room wasn't serviced while i was out for the day as well - it wasn't touched. The room was basic but lovely and clean and always had hot water, plenty of towels provided. The bedding was clean but a little old smelling.The food was absolutely wonderful as was the service and friendliness of the bar, restaurant and kitchen staff

Reviewed by
Zoe Wemyss-Cooke

From Hawkshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic service
The staff were polite friendly and accommodating. We are planning to stay again next year.

Reviewed by
j allen

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and Welocming
Delightful venue, with very friendly staff. Room was clean and tidy. Food was good and the choice on the menu superb.

Reviewed by
H Warner

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next