No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Little Coxwell, , , Faringdon, SN7 7LW
The Eagle is a Edwardian pub built in 1901 to serve the local farming community. The Pub has a U shaped bar and is tastefully furnished, the restaurant is located to the rear of the building and has lovely reclaimed wood tables to create a rustic yet elegant feel. The pub is at the centre of this beautiful village and is great place to meet very friendly local community. Bed and breakfast is available in six beautiful en-suite rooms. The Eagle Tavern is tucked away in the village of Little Coxwell, situated less than a mile off the A420 between Shrivenham and Faringdon in the Vale of the White Horse, 15 miles from Oxford, 9 miles from Swindon, and 70miles from London. The Eagle Tavern is closed on Monday all day and Sunday evening, if you are booking accommodation please not that restaurant and bar is closed on these days. Faringdon is a historic market town set in beautiful countryside. It has many local places of interest to visit and is well situated for easy access to Oxford, Cirencester, The Cotswolds, The Thames, Abingdon, Witney. There is a varied range of accommodation and many restaurants and pubs for good food. Faringdon has panoramic views from its pretty perch on a golden limestone ridge between two beautiful river valleys, the Ock and the Thames. Its prominent position at the junction of ancient roads made it a historic centre for trade and travellers. A few moments stroll from the centre of Faringdon leads to open fields and a network of footpaths. A short ride takes you to two national trails - The Thames Path and The Ridgeway and a variety of themed walks such as Willow Walk, Cotswald water parks or Wildlife park.
Picture of The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell, Faringdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfekt
Wir hatten einen wunderbaren Aufenthalt mit einem super freundlichen Service !

Reviewed by
Carsten E

From Wildeshausen, Germany
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolute joy !
I never expected such a wonderful little gem.
Perfect in every way & you even get cooked for by 'Marcel', (who by the way has been on 'Masterchef' the professionals) the Co-owner.
Just marvelous !

Reviewed by
Lyndon Matthews

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay - Warm welcome and good food
I would definitely recommend the Eagle. A warm welcome on arrival and for the entire stay.
The restaurant bar served good quality food at a reasonable price.
The room was very comfortable, spacious and I had a great nights sleep.

Reviewed by
A H

From Pembrey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Night's Sleep in a very long time
I've travelled up and down the UK, and this hotel has got to be the best that I've ever stayed in.
I arrived late and was greeted with a smile and a no need to rush attitude. When I was ready I was shown to my room and where the dinning room was. This added to the personal touch which I really like in a hotel. The room was very clean and tidy. Breakfast again had the personal touch.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Clark

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant accommodation
The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming,and always interested in what you had done for the day. However I never met "the boss"as the staff referred to him or her, despite knowing they were in the kitchen on my arrival they never made themselves known or checked with me that everything was ok. I was surprised that my room wasn't serviced while i was out for the day as well - it wasn't touched. The room was basic but lovely and clean and always had hot water, plenty of towels provided. The bedding was clean but a little old smelling.The food was absolutely wonderful as was the service and friendliness of the bar, restaurant and kitchen staff

Reviewed by
Zoe Wemyss-Cooke

From Hawkshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic service
The staff were polite friendly and accommodating. We are planning to stay again next year.

Reviewed by
j allen

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and Welocming
Delightful venue, with very friendly staff. Room was clean and tidy. Food was good and the choice on the menu superb.

Reviewed by
H Warner

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Nights at the Eagle
Pleasant and comfortable room,which was clean and very peaceful. Quality of the food was
exellent. Only downside was,that we had no hot water the first evvening.

Reviewed by
Arthur W

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lucky find
This is a lovely hotel and restaurant. We were looking for the first and were very happy to discover that they have an excellent reputation for food as well.

Reviewed by
Mike Holman

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well with a visit
This hotel was lovely in a very picturesque village. The staff were extremely helpful and we would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Janet M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next