No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Square, , , Stow on the Wold, GL54 1AF
The Kings Arms is a charming 500 year old former coaching inn; a Cotswold stone building situated on the corner of Stow-on-the-Wolds historic Market Square and is an ideal starting point for exploring the various attractions that this beautiful area has to offer. This one time coaching inn earned its place in history by providing lodgings for Charles I in 1645. Today everyone receives a warm welcome fit for royalty whether you are popping in for a quick drink, enjoying a meal in the restaurant or stopping over for a few nights whilst you explore places to visit in the Cotswolds. Ancient and historic Stow-on-the-Wold is the highest town in the Cotswolds, standing 800 feet above sea level. Stow has attracted people settling in the Cotswolds since the Iron Age. Early Cotswold settlers were drawn initially to the adjoining village of Maugersbury, but overtime the commercial success of Stow has seen the town establish itself as the pre-eminent town in the Cotswolds. Stow is located at the junction of six roads making it an important and natural meeting place. One of the renowned Cotswold routes meeting in Stow is the famous Roman road – The Fosse Way. The centre of Stow has a remarkably large and impressive market square. Markets have regularly taken place in Stow since 1107 when King Henry II granted a charter. Stow has always catered for visitors and travellers. At one time it was said that just about every building on the square was either an Inn or sold refreshment
Picture of The Kings Arms, Stow on the Wold at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old pub in centre of town
More pub vibe than hotel. Good atmosphere in restaurant and reasonable menu again pub style. Good breakfast selection. Stayed in cottage room with upstairs bedroom and downstairs shower room and seating area. All quite comfortable but real problem with lack of soundproofing between rooms - we heard every word of next door guests conversation and doubtless they heard ours. Thought previous reviews may have exaggerated but found out they were accurate.

Reviewed by
jane P

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel quirky in keeping with age, ie uneven floors but we loved our room at the top of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Lesley H

From Newhaven, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break sept 2014
stayed in cottage 2 , noisey neighbours but appart from that very enjoyable stay. staff very friendly and helpfull. location great . food and service excellent. would not hesitate to stay again . highly recommended.

Reviewed by
charles g

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Arms Stow
Very nice hotel,right in the main square,great for seeing Stow.

Reviewed by
Alan D

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real character place.
Plenty of character and quirky room and no complaints at all. (only snag some may find is we were on the front where due to the age of the sash windows they couldn't be opened, but the traffic could still be heard despite it being a relatively quiet place)

Reviewed by
Peter D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff. Great food!!
We recently had a lovely stay at this hotel. The hotel is right in the centre of the town, however, it got quite noisy at night. The staff were really friendly though and the food was absolutely delicious.!! A+.
Unfortunately the bed was on the small side and rather hard and uncomfortable (so didn't get much sleep) and the 'shabby chic' style was more shabby than chic!
Having said that, we loved the 500 year old 'quirky' feel to the place and when looking out of the window onto the cobbled streets you could almost imagine you've travelled back in time.

Reviewed by
N Lamb

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, shame about the noise
The room was very clean and obviously very old, floor was crooked etc. The bathroom was nice and again, very clean. The outside walls were very thick - shame the same can't be said about the internal ones. We could hear everything, including things we didn't want to hear from the couple next door (!), a suitcase being zipped up, conversation, coughing etc etc etc. Pity , it spoiled what could have been a lovely break.

Reviewed by
Norma F

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky but tired
could do with lick of paint ,looks tired not like photos.not very welcoming proprietors,only there for 3 nights ,comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
s evans

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base when visiting the Cotswolds...
Nice room....outside ' cottage...very comfortable and clean. If I had to pick a fault the restaurant for breakfast....room far to hot....and the lady serving appeared to be having a bad day! Bar staff lovely so highly recommend this......please smile next time..!!!

Reviewed by
JOHN STEWART

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
A lovely stay in the Desert Orchid room with views over the Market Square, a steep staircase to the room which added to the atmosphere of this 500 year old coaching inn, the breakfast in the morning was one of the best we have had delivered to our table piping hot, we would stay in this room again, but would say if you are a light sleeper you may hear noise from the road below, and the church clock does strike.

Reviewed by
Margaret H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next