No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Square, , , Stow on the Wold, GL54 1AF
The Kings Arms is a charming 500 year old former coaching inn; a Cotswold stone building situated on the corner of Stow-on-the-Wolds historic Market Square and is an ideal starting point for exploring the various attractions that this beautiful area has to offer. This one time coaching inn earned its place in history by providing lodgings for Charles I in 1645. Today everyone receives a warm welcome fit for royalty whether you are popping in for a quick drink, enjoying a meal in the restaurant or stopping over for a few nights whilst you explore places to visit in the Cotswolds. Ancient and historic Stow-on-the-Wold is the highest town in the Cotswolds, standing 800 feet above sea level. Stow has attracted people settling in the Cotswolds since the Iron Age. Early Cotswold settlers were drawn initially to the adjoining village of Maugersbury, but overtime the commercial success of Stow has seen the town establish itself as the pre-eminent town in the Cotswolds. Stow is located at the junction of six roads making it an important and natural meeting place. One of the renowned Cotswold routes meeting in Stow is the famous Roman road – The Fosse Way. The centre of Stow has a remarkably large and impressive market square. Markets have regularly taken place in Stow since 1107 when King Henry II granted a charter. Stow has always catered for visitors and travellers. At one time it was said that just about every building on the square was either an Inn or sold refreshment
Picture of The Kings Arms, Stow on the Wold at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base when visiting the Cotswolds...
Nice room....outside ' cottage...very comfortable and clean. If I had to pick a fault the restaurant for breakfast....room far to hot....and the lady serving appeared to be having a bad day! Bar staff lovely so highly recommend this......please smile next time..!!!

Reviewed by
JOHN STEWART

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
A lovely stay in the Desert Orchid room with views over the Market Square, a steep staircase to the room which added to the atmosphere of this 500 year old coaching inn, the breakfast in the morning was one of the best we have had delivered to our table piping hot, we would stay in this room again, but would say if you are a light sleeper you may hear noise from the road below, and the church clock does strike.

Reviewed by
Margaret H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a fantastic evening at the kings Arms. Staff were helpful extremely friendly and polite. I would definitely go again

Reviewed by
S Taylor

From Broadway, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We didn't have breakfast as we had to leave for work before 7.30 am

Reviewed by
Hayley Arliss

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings arms
Stayed here before, always enjoyed. Staff are helpful, rooms are lovely with period features.

Reviewed by
Kerry I

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Richard&sue
Could not fault this hotel or town

Reviewed by
Richard s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Arms
had a one nght stay and the service and food were all excellent

Reviewed by
B padley

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Booked last minute overnight stay at the Kings Arms and were booked into one of the cottages which was very nice, but would have preferred a room within the hotel. Although comfortable and adequate for our needs for one night, if staying longer would definitely have needed somewhere to hang our clothes! A wardrobe would have been nice, but not a lot to complain about really all things considered. Friendly staff and a beautiful location from which to explore. We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Dowling

From Dudley, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Staff friendly and helpful. Great location in center of town and for exploring the area. Car parking handy and safe. Room comfortable with all the facilities you'd need. Enjoyed our two night stay there and would be happy to go back.

Reviewed by
Joe A

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Kings Arms, Stow- on- the - Wold. Good location, Great food and very friendly staff.
The Kings Arms is located in a wonderful part of the Cotswolds. The service you will receive there from the staff is second to none, they were all very friendly. The food was fabulous too.
The en-suite room was clean & tidy, the floorboards were rather creaky but this is due to the age & character of the building. The patrons of the neighbouring inn were quite rowdy however disturbing the peacefullness & our sleep. I would not let that put anyone off though it may have been a one off and we would definetely stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Didcott

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next