No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - YHA Stratford-upon-Avon

4Visit England Assessed Hostel Ratings explained
HEMMINGFORD HOUSE, WELLESBOURNE ROAD , Stratford Upon Avon, CV37 7RG
The wonderful period features of Hemingford House, Stratford have just been greatly enhanced by the completion of a £1.2 million renovation project. Set in 3 acres of grounds and only 2 miles from Shakespeare’s birthplace the beautiful Grade II listed YHA Stratford building has been transformed with the addition of a new café bar, decked terrace with views over the ground and complete renovation of the property’s 32 bedrooms (16 en suite). The addition of beautiful oak flooring and bold fabrics now make the interior almost as impressive as the exterior.

We are now offering free Wi-Fi to everyone!

***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.***

***IMPORTANT - All bookings made via Laterooms for more than 16 people will be cancelled. Bookings can be made for up to 14 nights only. Any booking made for over 14 nights will be cancelled.***
Picture of YHA Stratford-upon-Avon, Stratford Upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
My wife and I stayed at the YHA Stratford on a sunday night. We arrived around mid day and were told by a helpfull young lady who appologised and said that as they had a big checkout our room would not be ready until around 4PM. Not a problem, we spent a leisurely afternoon in Stratford returning at around 4.15 and we booked in quickly. First shock was when we got to our room the twin room/bed turned out to have bunk beds. After a quick laugh we tossed a coin to see who would take the top (wife won!). Apart from that, the room and en suite wet room, beds,bedding and room were clean and warm. We had a Sunday lunch meal with desert for evening meal at around 7.30 which was one of the best 'eat out' Sunday lunches we have had for quite a time! Breakfast was also good. Taken in all, a very friendy front of house staff, food very good and reasonably priced, accomodation basic but clean. We have stayed in a few more expensive places costing more! Overall, very recommended and will try to stay again.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great friendly staff, clean room, we enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
C Melia

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
It was an amazing stay for me. I wanted a room which is nice and clean. The staffs are friendly and very helpful to my demands. I felt safe during my stay.

Reviewed by
MD Quamrul Islam

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow!
Hemmingford House lies in lovely, country-village surroundings yet is just minutes from Stratford"s centre. Sympathetically refurbished, it retains its Georgian elegance but meets the 21st century traveller"s needs with a first class bar and restaurant area, great beds and the most amazing power showers! We"ll certainly be back to enjoy the area's olde worlde charm and HH's great value, facilities!

Reviewed by
Julie E

From Washington, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most pleasant experience
I booked late but found an excellent service, nice room and friendly staff.
Early morning breakfast was first-rate.

Reviewed by
Rob Forrester

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Staff were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and will return.

Reviewed by
Georg S

From Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay - Great Weekend
At first I was a bit nervous about staying at the YHA but I would 100% stay again without any hesitation. The facilities were great, the room was clean a little bit small but the beds were extremely comfy and it was fantastic value for money. Looking forward to my next visit.

Reviewed by
Samantha C

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

YHA home from home
Lovely clean and pleasent Hostel. Brilliant staff warm and friendly welcome and service world class.

Reviewed by
S Melia-Smith

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic experience!
Really well-run and modern youth hostel. A credit to all involved - will return again soon!

Reviewed by
James G

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff snd location.

Reviewed by
A Black

From Preston, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next