No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - YHA Oxford

4Visit England Assessed Hostel Ratings explained
2 BOTLEY ROAD , OXFORD, OX2 0AB
Make your base right in the heart of the lively and historical city of Oxford with this modern, centrally located and welcoming hostel.

Stay right in the middle of this historic, vibrant and active university City. YHA Oxford is a modern purpose-built property next to the train station. Visit all the famous Oxford colleges, the Ashmolean Museum, or take a trip to Bleinheim Palace. Enjoy great food in our licensed restaurant or relax in our sunny garden with a latte and a cake from the café bar.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION:
- We do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.

- You will need to bring ID to check-in to the hostel. Please bring a Passport / EU ID Card / Driving Licence / Student Card to show us on arrival.

- All bookings made via Laterooms for more than 16 people will be cancelled. Bookings can be made for up to 14 nights only. Please contact us directly to make group bookings or enquire about longer stays.
Picture of YHA Oxford, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From station to accomodation in a second
A cheerful place to stay ...a short walk to the city centre . Very helpful reception staff more interesting than the usual B&B

Reviewed by
Karen W

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In most respects it was great service and value for money. The breakfast was very good too. But it wasnt easy to sleep due to the proximity of the station and why did an alarm go off early in the morning and wake us all up?

Reviewed by
A Chaplin

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent one night stay, in great location to the train station and city centre in walking distance

Reviewed by
K Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money. Quiet room. Just what I expected

Reviewed by
A Macdonald

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very happy
Nicest hostel I have ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
Emily B

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room smelt damp
Myself and 3 friends stayed in one room for 1 night. when we first entered the room all we could smell is damp and when we went into the toilet area the floor was wet and stank of urine. The drain for the shower wouldn't lift up properly so even though we drew the shower curtain the whole floor got soaked and took forever to dry. We shouldn't complain i suppose because of the price it was and everything but at the same time the room was just damp and smelly. the could and need to use air fresheners.

Reviewed by
Darrell S

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very smelly hostel
Either the hostel has a damp problem or there is not enough ventilation. The rooms and hallways stink of a cross between damp and smelly socks... Its also very noisey as right next to the station. Just about tolerable if you have had a skinful.

Reviewed by
L Osmond

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent loaction
Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the YHA Oxford when we got hold of last minute theater tickets in the city center. Neither of us can complain at all - the service was polite and efficient, the hostel was clean and well located. We had a good nights sleep and think that the whole experience was value for money. Obviously not a 5* hotel but as a last minute booking we were really very happy. We will stay again!

Reviewed by
Pippa H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

YHA Oxford
Very good welcoming clean basic hotel for the cost-conscious middle-aged. High quality for young people.

Reviewed by
Benjamin M

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend in oxford
The YHA is very convenient for the station and the town. The staff were friendly and helpful, room comfortable and clean. Left luggage facility was useful. You do need earplugs to block out the trains, but they keep them in stock!

Reviewed by
Sally H

From Penhallow, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next