No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms at Temple Sowerby

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Kings Arms Hotel, Temple Sowerby Temple Sowerby, Penrith, CA10 1SB
Newly refurbished country inn, situated in Temple Sowerby, originally know as "The Queen of Westmorland Villages".
7 miles from Penrith and the M6 just off the A66. Perfect mid-way stop off.
Nine refurbished en-suite bedrooms with TV and wi fi connections.
Oak panelled dining room. Residents lounge.
Traditional village bar
An excellent base for touring or walking and can offer fishing on our own stretch of the river Eden.
Pet friendly. Pets are welcome in all areas except the restaurant.

Picture of The Kings Arms at Temple Sowerby, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
Charming Pub in a pretty village, great location as a stop over on our return from Scotland. Good food, friendly staff and good beer. Lovely clean modern rooms.

Reviewed by
susan cansell

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in all ways
We stayed overnight en route "south" and so location was important. This hotel is a step away from the M6 and a perfect place to break a journey. It was easy to find and very welcoming. The room was quiet and everything was provided. We had an excellent meal in the bar but could have chosen the lovely dining room. Breakfast was very good and the owners/staff friendly and efficient. The hotel itself is charming - historic and tastefully decorated. We will definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Lynn Rutter

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Very friendly service with excellent attention throughout. Friendly atmosphere located nicely for visiting the local area.

Reviewed by
daryl jones

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Passing Thru
Nice staff , Nice Food, Nice place .... would stay again.

Reviewed by
R Pearsall

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff. Food pretty decent. Room left a bit to be desired. Clean but no quilt cover, just a sheet under the duvet and a slightly grubby bedspread on top. TV very very small, couldn't really see the screen from the bed. As a frequent traveller I think this place is a little overpriced compared to other similar accommodation.

Reviewed by
Deborah D

From Norbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Pub Break
Spent a night at the Kings Arms - nice pub break, rooms pleasant, really nice location, ancient coaching hotel (I think), clean and tidy, breakfast OK - just the right size for us. Only downside (of sorts) was the noise from the public bar downstairs - our room was right over the top which we hadnt realised until we went to bed - my wife slept through it, but I did get disturbed in the night (my own fault for forgetting to put my ear plugs in). Would recommend checking at reception that room not above the bar as this is a very old building and noise travels. Was woken up by someone shouting "boo" as they left the pub at 1.00am! Apart from this the pub is fine for a one night sleep over - we were at the Aqua Sana at Center Parcs for a twilight session.

Reviewed by
Jonathan F

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hospitality
Set in a lovely village, superb service, great beer, food fine, all round excellent value for money

Reviewed by
David J

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed with flexibility for families with young children.
Disappointed that we were 't allowed to take something from the restaurant to eat in the room when our toddler fell asleep unexpectedly and we couldn't go down to eat as a family. The manager didn't even suggest an alternative. (Nearest place for take away food we ciuld find on the internet was 6 miles) We hoped that the hotel would be more flexible here.
Some of the throws on the beds were a it grubby in places.
Other than that the village is beautiful, has a brilliant park for little ones, breakfast was good and the check in member of staff was very friendly.

Reviewed by
Heather V

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Evening meal delicious. We had a small dog with us that was made very welcome, which is a big plus.All the staff were very friendly and the countryside is beautiful. Hopefully will be back

Reviewed by
Kevin Brown

From Pembroke Dock, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place to stay
Room was really nice and finished to a very high standard, Dinner in the restaurant was excellent as was breakfast. Atmosphere in the bar, in fact the whole place, was warm and welcoming. Would have loved to be able to stay for more than just one night.

Reviewed by
Christina S

From Douglas, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next