No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Lions Guest House

Not Classified  Guest House Ratings explained
704 -706 New Chester Road, Rock Ferry, Birkenhead, CH42 1QD
The Black Lions Guest House, well known for being a very comfortable yet an inexpensive guest house. We are open all year round and cater for a wide variety of visitors, both business & pleasure, We have 12 bedrooms with a range of facilities including tea/coffee making facilities & a good full English breakfast is included "in the price”. All rooms have TV, & free Wi-fi . On the ground floor we have TV lounge and a fully stocked cosy bar for all our guest to enjoy, that over looks an attractive patio/garden area. Free Car park available too

Ideally located close to Cammell Lairds and Bromborough we are within easy reach of Birkenhead, Liverpool, Chester and Clatterbridge Hospital. The Black Lions Guest House offers a superb base for both business and leisure.

Please note that we accept for payment cash or company cheque. If you want to pay by card, we will process the payment between check-in hours at the sister hotel with a charge of minimum £2 or 2% if it's a higher value.
Picture of Black Lions Guest House, Birkenhead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Very friendly host who was interested in his guests without being intrusive. My room although a bit on the smallish size was clean and comfortable with freeview tv. Breakfast was well cooked and food was very nice. I would recommend this guest house to anybody but espectially for the single traveller whether it be for business or pleasure.

Reviewed by
bernard smith

From Portsmouth, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and comfortable
Made to feel very welcome on arrival, rooms weren't great but it was cheap so I didn't expect any better. Beds were really comfortable. Room was moderately clean, could've been better. I was too hungover to make it to breakfast but it smelt good haha! 10 minute taxi ride to the waterfront. I would reccomend this place!

Reviewed by
R K

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting family, was perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and breakfast was what we expected. We had a room with en suite, with a bath. No shower but we did have the attachment on the taps for a quick makeshift one. Perfect for a night or two.

Reviewed by
S Trindade

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, home from home. Beautiful building in a quiet area

Reviewed by
Ann Kenneally

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Liverpool was full!
friendly welcome host even called to check all ok...there were multiple traffic jams. surprised to find room not ensuite maybe I missed this when booking. the shower was a rubber hose attached to bath taps. full showers on another floor. furniture was more in line with a hostel...ie not matching. all felt bit grubby . doors all seemed to have needed repair on locks. toilet was in the shared bathroom on my floor. decor stuck in 70s timewarp

Reviewed by
fiona b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly b&b
This suited me perfectly. Just one night stay before heading off across Wales. Whilst the rooms may not be the largest in the world they were clean and coffee was provided.
To sum this place up the proprietor was very friendly. I even heard him say to one guest that they would do some of his washing.
I would certainly use this guesthouse again.

Reviewed by
S Hughes

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room
The room was lovely and we loved the bed couldn't ask for better thank you xxx

Reviewed by
louise smith

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place
I've been there with my husband for one night, was perfect! Very friendly and helpful owners, nice room, perfect place for this price!

Reviewed by
Sylwia C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly all I would hope for in the price range & great value.

Reviewed by
Phil Gregory

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golf Weekend
Had a lovely weekend with my son, Nick was very hospitable and welcoming. Gave sound advice on local bars/restaurants plus useful directions. House nice and oldy worldy rooms a bit dated and could do with a facelift yet fit the bill for what we wanted/required at the right price.

Reviewed by
David Board

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next