No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Lions Guest House

Not Classified  Guest House Ratings explained
704 -706 New Chester Road, Rock Ferry, Birkenhead, CH42 1QD
The Black Lions Guest House, well known for being a very comfortable yet an inexpensive guest house. We are open all year round and cater for a wide variety of visitors, both business & pleasure, We have 12 bedrooms with a range of facilities including tea/coffee making facilities & a good full English breakfast is included "in the price”. All rooms have TV, & free Wi-fi . On the ground floor we have TV lounge and a fully stocked cosy bar for all our guest to enjoy, that over looks an attractive patio/garden area. Free Car park available too

Ideally located close to Cammell Lairds and Bromborough we are within easy reach of Birkenhead, Liverpool, Chester and Clatterbridge Hospital. The Black Lions Guest House offers a superb base for both business and leisure.

Please note that we accept for payment cash or company cheque. If you want to pay by card, we will process the payment between check-in hours at the sister hotel with a charge of minimum £2 or 2% if it's a higher value.
Picture of Black Lions Guest House, Birkenhead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly b&b
This suited me perfectly. Just one night stay before heading off across Wales. Whilst the rooms may not be the largest in the world they were clean and coffee was provided.
To sum this place up the proprietor was very friendly. I even heard him say to one guest that they would do some of his washing.
I would certainly use this guesthouse again.

Reviewed by
S Hughes

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room
The room was lovely and we loved the bed couldn't ask for better thank you xxx

Reviewed by
louise smith

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place
I've been there with my husband for one night, was perfect! Very friendly and helpful owners, nice room, perfect place for this price!

Reviewed by
Sylwia C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly all I would hope for in the price range & great value.

Reviewed by
Phil Gregory

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golf Weekend
Had a lovely weekend with my son, Nick was very hospitable and welcoming. Gave sound advice on local bars/restaurants plus useful directions. House nice and oldy worldy rooms a bit dated and could do with a facelift yet fit the bill for what we wanted/required at the right price.

Reviewed by
David Board

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
We stayed at Black Lions for two nights to attend a family birthday party. Martin was a very attentive host and friendly, too. The breakfast was really nice and well cooked. We were back early the first evening and perhaps would have liked to sit in the bar for a while, unfortunately it wasn't open, however, we were tired so perhaps it was just as well.
All in all, it was a very pleasant weekend in pleasant surroundings with a very pleasant host.

Reviewed by
Margaret D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

welcoming and helpful
Warm welcome on arrival.
helpful with queries couldn't do more for you.
breakfast was excellent staff very friendly and chatty.
just a drive,taxi or buses ride through tunnel into Liverpool

Reviewed by
Katherine l

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Experience
The guest House was very easy to find as it was right on the main road. My room was for a single and was very clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable and I had a great sleep. The breakfast was excellent and freshly made.I couldn't say how the double or family rooms were as my room was quite small but fine for a single person.

Reviewed by
Charles B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More suitable for commercial travellers than for leisure visitors.
We were disappointed in this accommodation. Yes it was not expensive but was provided as cheaply as possible. You could feel every spring in the mattress . The room was spacious and quite clean. The shower was cool but there was plenty of hot water in the wash basin. The breakfast was very basic, no choice of cereals. We never did learn the name of the proprietor or his father who welcomed us. Otherwise it was convenient for what we wished to.

Reviewed by
E Richardson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely Happy
Staff was very friendly and pleasant. Rooms were clean on arrival.

Reviewed by
Rachel Wheatley

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next